We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

spent 5 night here and i honeslty cant fault it clean, modern, by the lake and very close to all the attractions including shopping centers highly reccomend.if you want a nice comfartable stay with nice views this is the place .

Room Tip: request for a room facing the lake .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kishan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with The Holiday Inn Express Tamworth and found all the attractions and shops close by.
It was good to hear you found the Hotel clean, modern and very comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    263
    64
    19
    21
See reviews for
266
87
24
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here over half term with our 2 young children.
We received a warm welcome from the staff and throughout our stay the staff were excellent. They had good local knowledge and were happy to help.
The room we had was a reasonable size with a very modern, clean bathroom with large shower (no bath). The beds however were disappointing and not the most comfortable. They really let the room down.
The hotel was very clean even in public areas such as the toilets.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic as the hotel was full and we needed to wait for some items such as sausages and croissants but the staff did their best to try to keep up.
The location of the hotel was excellent for visiting the snowdome, Tamworth Castle and Drayton Manor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopylu360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We as a team take pride in what we do and we are keen to make our guests stay comfortable. We recommend local attractions on top of the mentioned, such as Twycross Zoo, The National Arboretum, Sea life Centre in Birmingham and many others.

I am sorry if you found the beds too soft and sofa beds worn. As the hotel is 3 years old, we have started a programme to replace these pieces of furniture.

Our breakfast can be hectic due to number of guest staying in the hotel and the team is really working hard to run the breakfast service smoothly.

I am pleased your overall experience was a good one and thank you again for your feedback to us.

We hope to welcome you back in the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during half term. Rooms were brilliantly clean with a great bathroom (large shower but no bath). I would agree with other reviews that it is the beds and sofa beds which let the hotel down and look really worn compared to the rest of the room. Breakfast was fine as it was included in the room price-croissants, cereals, sausage, egg, beans, fruit, yoghurt. Two mornings were chaotic but two were reasonably calm!! Staff are an absolute credit to the hotel, they were extremely hard working and very helpful. Excellent parking. A great location for Drayton Manor, the Snowdome (next door) and Go Ape. There is also a ten pin bowling alley, park and a skate park close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here recently on a trip to Drayton Manor Theme Park.. Good value hotel and under a 10 minute drive to the theme park so location was handy. Breakfast was reasonable and pretty much as any other HI express hotel, unfortunately so was the sofa bed.. Not the most comfortable but its what you get at the express. I certainly think that within the budget market the the Holiday inn Express falls the Premier Inn family rooms are far better suited with superior bedding..

The hotel as a whole was nice and the rooms clean and tidy. Also whilst the hotel was pretty full the breakfast area wasn't overcrowded and the hotel itself was reasonable quiet.

Being a Priority Club member you also get free parking which is a bonus..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nabz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

As a valued Priority Club member we thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear you find the location and breakfast convenient.

I am disappointed to hear you find the Premier Inn family rooms better. I am aware they have slightly bigger beds and I understand the comfort factor is much higher sleeping in one of these. I hope the priority points, which you cannot collect in Premier Inns, compensate you for this matter.

I am glad to hear you find the rooms clean and tidy; our housekeeping team work hard to keep the high standards you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This Hotel was very clean the staffs are friendly and helpful the rooms are of a good size. The only downfall was breakfast in the morning it was not the best but it is a free breakfast as there are no restaurants on site so you can’t really complain.
Would I stay again yes and I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do take pride in our team and location and I am glad that this reflects on the review you have made, it is important for us to receive all feedback, whether good or bad and indeed we truly appreciate yours.

Due to our location and number of people in the hotel breakfast can be chaotic. We can only offer continental breakfast with 3 hot options (scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans).

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Clean and well presented room with a very soft bed. Spacious bathroom, a commodious shower with piping hot water and clean soft towels. Breakfast (hot and cold buffet) was generous and filling. Parking was cheap. Very good value for the money paid. Good for a stopover. Easy to get to. Close to the ‘snow dome’

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel facilities satisfying and the price is good value for money.

I hope we can welcome you once again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for recent visit to Drayton Manor. The hotel is as you would expect for a Holiday Inn Express, quick and efficient reception staff, room and public areas were clean so no issues. As other reviewers have stated the sofa beds have a very thin mattress so not the best nights sleep but you are also not paying top end prices so you get what you pay for. Great location for visit to Drayton Manor, cant really get much closer, unless you pay for Drayton Manor hotel itself but its much more expensive than the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4PalmTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do take pride in our team and location and I am glad that this reflects on the review you have made, it is important for us to receive all feedback.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
1.6 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth M42
Travelodge Tamworth M42
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Address: River Drive | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#7 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking is free for all hotel guests, tickets to be validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing