We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, good budget stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Modern, good budget stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed in many HIE Hotels. This one is reasonably modern so main bedroom was very clean and sleek. Bed very comfortable, nice quiet room and comfrtable for myself, wife and 10 year old on the put-me-up. For a budget hotel, very good indeed, especially booked in advance on the web to get a good rate (half that advertised at reception!)
As others have commented, staff very friendly and interested indeed.
2 flaws in our very short stopover:
1. breakfast room tiny compared to number of guests - people were standing up to eat! and HIE's 'new' thing of providing scrambled egg just doesn;t work for me as they are the most fake looking and tasting eggs ever!!
2. a very modern bathroom with glitzy down lights and chrome/glass shower showed the usual British tradition of mould in the corners, but better than most - seems British hotel chains don't value this?

Room Tip: Think HIE rooms are all pretty much standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay.

We appreciate every comment, good or bad and we are working to resolve any issues and improve on them. We are always very pleased to hear from our Guest when they find the rooms comfortable and the reception staff friendly.

Our breakfast option is greater than previously, and I am sorry if you find it unsatisfactory. We still offer the “good old” continental items such as: croissant, bed roll, pastry yoghurt cheese, fresh fruit, and toast.

Further to your comment on the mould. I would like to confirm our Housekeeping and Maintenance team are working continuously to keep the rooms up to Holiday Inn Express standards, and I do apologies we had not noticed and dealt with this issue prior to your arrival.

We do take a pride in what we do at our Hotel. I hope on your next visit you will see an improvement.

Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back you to our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    298
    79
    25
    24
See reviews for
303
106
26
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We planned a trip to Drayton manor to go to Thomas land, we looked at hotels around the area and this was extremely close and great value for money. The hotel is very easy to get to and right next to the snowdome, there are restaurants, supermarkets and lots of shops nearby. The hotel is very clean, we stayed on the third floor, with double bed and sofa bed which was more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom is brilliant with a very nice shower. Breakfast was included and a nice buffet breakfast was available. Overall I would recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinksteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a comment, it is much appreciated.

We are glad you liked out location, yes Drayton Manor Park is 4 miles from the hotel and also we have a lot to offer in the area.

We pleased you found the room the breakfast and bathroom to your liking.

Thank you for your feedback once again and hopefully see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for three nights - I found .....

- Staff were pleasant and friendly
- Room was modern and clean (standard Holiday Inn Express furiture)
- Good size LG television (HD)

My only complaint is that breakfast was very busy - little room to sit down. After my first experience at the 9.00 am breakfast scrum, I then had breakfast at 7.00 am to avoid the rush which suited me as I had to be out early the following days.

Room Tip: - Breakfast can be a bit of a crush if the holet is full - Popular spot for wedding guests to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamVingoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SzilviaKissTAM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We are glad to hear you found the room, staff and the TV to your liking.

During summer periods we are extremely busy with families and we have large numbers of guests staying within the hotel. We use a ticket system to try and control the number of guest coming down to breakfast at the same time but this does not always work.
Thank you for changing the time you came down to breakfast and we are glad to hear 07.00am suited you.

We also use our Conference rooms when they are not hired out. It appears during your visit our Conference rooms were actually occupied and could not be opened up.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed 25/08/2012 Room 311
We visited Tamworth holiday inn express as we had stay their last time were in Tamworth and had a great stay , however this time the bed was so soft or broken we both rolled in to the middle of the bed the worst night sleep in years and as for the breakfast well , all I can say I have never seen bread so thin ! DON’T BOTHER! , back to Premier Inn Lady Bank down the road !.

Room Tip: Premier Inn at lady bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tamworth, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Tim G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing us again. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the bed and during breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and will certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Please do not hesitate to ask any of our staff anything that would make your next stay comfortable.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlengormleyNI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed with my wife and two young kids as hotel was close to Drayton Manor Park and Thomasland. Hotel appears to be quite new. Rooms and premises were spotlessly clean and our room had a lovely large shower. A good continental breakfast was included. My only slight complaint would be the quality of the matresses which were a bit thin but our overall experience was good and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very friendly on check in and throughout stay seemed to be genuinely interested in making our stay perfect.
The free breakfast was great with none of the fight that has been described by others. Yes the sofa bed is as comfortable as a sofa bed is, but perfect for children.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, County Durham UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is strange to write a review for a hotel I've not stayed at but I almost did and I can't thank the staff enough for great service. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the location. The hotel is on a small landscaped lake with ample parking facilities. It is adjacent to the Snow Dome which has a leisure pool as well as ski slope. Across the road was a bowling alley and a playground with skate park. The site was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel reception was spacious, light and airy; very welcoming like the staff. Unfortunately due to a 'foolish husband error' we weren't due until a week later and the hotel was full. The staff could have at that point just dismissed us but 3 of them spent the next half hour assisting us find alternative accommodation and didn't stop until we had found some. This I feel was above and beyond the call of duty. The purpose of our visit was an overnight stay ahead of a day out at Drayton Manor Park. The hotel is ideally situated for getting there. I can not at all comment on the rooms or food since I didn't get chance to try either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threeboysmum24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tamworth
1.6 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
225 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
5.8 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tamworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Address: River Drive | River Drive, Tamworth B79 7ND, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tamworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tamworth
#7 Family Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tamworth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth is ideally situated for both business and leisure. With great transport links to the M6 and M42 - its very central and easy to get to. The Hotel has free high speed internet in all the bedrooms and reception areas. Parking is free for all hotel guests, tickets to be validated at Reception. Package deals with Snowdome, Drayton Manor and Twycross zoo are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth Hotel Tamworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing