We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santa Trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamworth Castle

Tamworth Castle
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time and experience life in a Medieval Castle. Explore Tudor and Stuart chambers, grand Victorian reception rooms and the magnificent late Medieval Great Hall. Tamworth Castle promises a brilliant day out for all the family. There is plenty to see and even more to do with hands on displays and costumes. The Castle Keep is set in extensive pleasure grounds in the centre of Tamworth's historic market town. Over the centuries the Medieval motte and bailey Castle has welcomed royal visitors, key figures in history and nobility. For more information please visit our website.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Santa Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited at the beginning of December 2013 with our 2 children aged 4 and 6. We booked over the phone and collected out tickets on the day. This was a wonderful visit, all the staff were very friendly and made it a very enjoyable experience for all the family, the experience was very well planned and organised, the children (and adults) were involved in the trail to find Santa and the children loved every minute, we got to meet the staff (Maids, stable hand, butler, lady of the house and cooks) the children enjoyed looking for the lost items (carrots, mince pies). The trail ended with meeting Santa, the children met Santa as a group with the other children who were on the trail but don't let this put you off they were with him for at least 15 minutes and he spent time chatting to them all and even singing with them he then invited each child up to receive their present. It was truly lovely and well thought through. We had also visited Santa at another attraction in the area prior to this day and although we had enjoyed this experience too it had been considerably more expensive and our children said they enjoyed it less. I believe the Santa Trail at Tamworth castle is excellent value for money and well worth doing, we will be booking again next year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    175
    27
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Santa Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked to do the Santa trail with my children who are 8 and 5 and they loved it. It was a great way to see the castle at their pace and find out things in a way that they don't find boring.
Our guide was excellent and the children enjoyed meeting all the castle staff such as cooks, maids, butlers, stable hand, footman, lady of the house, governess. I felt it was great value for money and will book for next year!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheekylittlemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tamworth castle Santa Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well done Tamworth Castle for providing an excellent afternoon with all the Christmas magic you could want and at a price that was def value for money. We came as two families so had 5 kids ranging from the ages of 5 to 10, and four adults... Everyone of us had a lovely time, we were taken around the castle meeting the butler, cook, maids etc while at the same time looking for Santa. The kids were encouraged to participate and in each room had a different activity. The final room had the big man himself along with mother Christmas and wow what a lovely Santa he was :-) Would highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Let's find Santa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked the Santa trail for yesterday and we weren't disappointed, "Martha" our guide took us all round the castle and we met the butler, the cook, the stablehand and the governess. I think us adults had as much, if not more fun than the kids and it was spellbinding for them. An all together fabulous afternoon, with a lovely visit to Santa at the end. And well well worth the money. £3 for kids and £5 for adults. Brilliant!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kbabe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited with a german friend and was taken aback at just how good the castle is. It is small but packed wih rooms and interactive displays from a wide range of history including medieval, Georgian and victorian. The visit was on par ( & better) with other castles that we visited in the UK

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RevRayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamworth Castle also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Tamworth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing