We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing castle”
Review of Tamworth Castle

Tamworth Castle
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time and experience life in a Medieval Castle. Explore Tudor and Stuart chambers, grand Victorian reception rooms and the magnificent late Medieval Great Hall. Tamworth Castle promises a brilliant day out for all the family. There is plenty to see and even more to do with hands on displays and costumes. The Castle Keep is set in extensive pleasure grounds in the centre of Tamworth's historic market town. Over the centuries the Medieval motte and bailey Castle has welcomed royal visitors, key figures in history and nobility. For more information please visit our website.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing castle”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited with a german friend and was taken aback at just how good the castle is. It is small but packed wih rooms and interactive displays from a wide range of history including medieval, Georgian and victorian. The visit was on par ( & better) with other castles that we visited in the UK

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RevRayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    184
    27
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midlands ,England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful bit if history”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live nearby so often pass the castle standing so majestically at the side of the river Tame or is it Anker haha always mix these two rivers as the merge just to the right of the castle in the castle grounds , sure it is the Tame ! Anyway well worth a visit lots of interesting artefacts from days gone by and also lots of information on Tamworth too , home of Sir Robert Peel founder of the police force. As a child I remember visiting the castle when it contained hardly anything but still used to love walking around its old rooms and creaking oak staircases. The view from the battlements is lovely but not as lovely as it was when in the 1950s when it was ofcourse more rural the modernisation of the town centre in the 1960s ruined a lot of this beautiful market Town , but there are still some gems to be found and the town centre so close to the castle is definitely worth a visit. The castle grounds are lovely ,well maintained by the council with a refreshments cafe , toilets and lovely play park for children of all ages . We live taking our grandaughter to feed the many ducks , Canada geese and swans on the river also close to the castle . We take pride in showing her the lovely bandstand where in the early 1900s my grandfather was bandsman . In the summer some concerts are still performed from there I believe . So for a nice day out , something for all the family visit Tamworth Castle , the Grounds and Tamworth Town centre . Some parking disabled included by the entrance gates to the castle and also many spaces in the Ankerside shopping Centre whose double glass doors open out onto the Castle Grounds almost inline with the bandstand and the castle itself.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tamworth Castle”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I took a visitor from Germany who was fascinated with the history. I bought an offer from one of the search engines. Over the years I have attended different functions they have held there and all have been really good- e.g.- Castle by Candlelight - Who done it- Craft Sessions with children in school holidays

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MellWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, small but interesting”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a frequent school trip when I was growing up and I believe they have updated the exhibits in the more recent years, nice day out, castle is set in nice grounds as well

Helpful?
Thank myersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Cool castle”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Walked up to the castle for the view and the view of the castle itself. Didnt have time to do the tour, maybe next time as looks very old and impressive.Worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamworth Castle also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Tamworth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing