We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent two nights with my wife and two children. All the staff we met were very pleasant. The room was in excellent order. The standard of decoration and maintenance was first class (everything worked as it should) far better than other hotels we've stayed in for more than twice the price. All aspects of the bedroom, bathroom and the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean. The "Good nights sleep guaranteed" is just that. The main bed was very comfortable with extra pillows available. The childrens' beds were first class. The sound insulation was excellent, both internally and the windows.

We took breakfast in the adjoining Restaurant. Great value, the children ate for free! The same level of service was found here too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    67
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
122
39
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in order to attend my dad's 50th birthday. Clean and spacious room with a comfortable bed and extra pillows. Needed more tea and coffee making facilities. Restaurant average quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed overnight while visiting family. Room spacious, clean and as far as we were concerned ticked all our boxes. It appeared to have been updated in the last few months.
Our room was on the first floor and a nice young man kindly carried our suitcase up for us.
We used the restaurant next door for dinner & breakfast. The service and food was good.
We will certainly return when needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patacake49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We saw the reviews on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try for our trip to Drayton Manor Park. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is next door and we found the service and standard to be very good. Premier Inn breakfast is good value and kids eat free. All round good value for money and I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BishBash70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff lovely at this tiny Premier Inn. All staff spoke in the mornings which is good and appeared interested in where we were going! So great customer service.
Rooms really clean but compared to some other PIs we have stayed in were a little tired mostly in the bathrooms where grout on tiles could do with re whiting or re doing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SWOOZ186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a Premier Inn operating on a human scale with the personal touch; friendly helpful staff for whom helping out with enquiries /requests seems to be second nature. The location was perfect for us, being close to key roads both on arrival and for our onward journey. On a foul evening the Table Table restaurant was warm and welcoming,our request for a table away from the rather uninspiring Fire Exit was handled calmly and without question, and the menu was varied with a surprising number of healthy options. Breakfast at 8am on a Saturday morning was copious and generous, with cooked options being cooked to order and served by a very personable waitress. Our first floor room was quiet and comfortable, and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefultraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and 2 children in a family room. It is quite a small hotel, only about 20 rooms I think so this makes the service much more personal.

Location is not the best, industrial estate surroundings but you don't really notice this and it is relatively peaceful and in a good central location. Certainly good value for a family.

There is a restaurant next door called table table which is where you go for breakfast and other optional meals. We were asked to make reservations at the restaurant prior to our visit on a number of occasions by both e-mail and even a personal phone call advising us that the restaurant does get very busy. I am not sure this was quite true as it always looked empty so perhaps they are just trying to drum up business!

Anyway, we phoned ahead to request a room on 2nd floor (this is top floor) and facing away from the road as this is much quieter - this was acknowledged and honoured. Room had double bed, single bed and put up bed all ready made up. everything was clean and adequate.

Breakfast was ok - children eat free with adults so reasonable price. My only negative would be that if you went during the last hour, all the buffet area with cereals, croissants etc was a bit of a mess and not much left.

Overall, great base to visit Twycross Zoo, Drayton Manor, SnowDome etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on second floor away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectionists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing