We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, nice and very friendly! Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, nice and very friendly! Great!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

In order to celebrate the birthday of our son, we stayed at the Premier Inn South for 3 nights (we went to Drayton Manor Park). The staff is super, Miss Kellie in particular helped us to find everything we needed (we are from Milan, Italy). The room was clean, silent and beds very comfortable. The Restaurant is very close and offers a good range of food, well cooked. All the staff was caring and thoughtful with us! The breakfast is very super! Very recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovannaStones1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    72
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
132
40
3
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

handy location for motorways, not a lot else. appears to be on edge of industrial estate. plenty of free parking.check in very quick and easy. staff very friendly and gave us three rooms together. as we were early had lunch at pub next door, didnt fancy trailing the roads to find tamworth services. rooms very clean, nice big bed. room got very warm and was glad of the air-con which we left on for length of stay
no noise off the motorway which is not too far away
would stay at a premier inn again, the word is though book early as possible as prices do go up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stimmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was greeted by a very welcoming lady who quickly and efficiently explained everything I needed to know, checked me in and gave me my key. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Didn't hear any noise from the M42 which was just outside. The only let down was the WiFi access. You get 30 mins free and then it's only £3 for 24hours which is fantastic value, but the speeds were slow and the connection kept dropping so I opted to not pay for the 24 hours and used my mobile tethering device instead. Other than that, great value for money at £72 B&B. The breakfast was also cooked to order and was high quality food with ample portions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CXR7LRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have family in the area and as you can see from my other reviews have stayed in quite a few Premier Inn's in this area.

This was one of the best we have stayed in. A smaller PI with about 21 rooms allowing brilliant customer service. The receptionist Naomi was friendly, professional & helpful. Our room was clean and the road noise at night was hardly noticeable. Even the room cleaning staff asked if our stay was a good one when we checked out of the room....everyone was so pleasant.

I paid more for this Premier Inn but that was because I left it to the last minute instead of booking ahead of time like I normally do.

The next door Centurion Table served a fantastic breakfast - one of the best we have been served at a Premier Inn (I have reviewed the evening meal we had separately).
A good choice of fruit, yoghurts, breads, cereal etc. The cooked breakfast was seved hot and whereas some PI's serve tinned mushrooms, these were freshly cooked just as they should be.

Service was brilliant & friendly, and Kelly the manager who looked after us the night before was there again at breakfast. She is a credit to her employers as she is always busy & on the ball, but has time to be friendly too....

We will be back when visiting our family in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have spent a night here several times and found it to be comfortable and always very clean. The rooms are at the top end of PI standard and it is quite unique in our experience by using geothermal heating. The reception staff are very friendley & helpful. The pub attached has good meals, not outstanding but certainly nice enough pub grub. I can not comment on the breakfast as we always leave very early. The cars are parked right next to the accommodation and can be seen from even number rooms. It is close enough to J10 M42 but not right next the motorway, aprox a mile away, so there is not too much road noise. Also ther is double glazing that cuts out most other noise.

Room Tip: No lift to second floor so make sure you ask for a ground floor room if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetford norfolk uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on Saturday 4th August 2012. We had booked a room to coincide with his birthbay and a revisit to The National Memorial Arboretum to pay our respects. When we arrived we were greeted by a delightful lady called Naomi. After explaining about their 'good nights sleep' policy and asking us if we wanted to book a table at the restaurant next door etc she asked about the nature of our visit. My husband explained it was his birthday thus we were having a weekend away to celebrate and we were paying a return visit to the National Memorial to pay our respects to some friends who we had lost in recent conflics and we had originally visited the site not long after it had first opened and we wanted to see how it had developed. Naomi wished my husband a very happy birthday and delt with our request for her to book us a taxi to take to a local restaurant efficiently. Later as we left she wished a pleasent evening. When we returned later after our meal and a few drinks we found an envelope had been pushed under the door. It was a birthday card written by Naomi on behalf of all the reception staff hoping we'd had a lovely evening and wishing us a dry day at the Arboretum and a very safe journey home. Naomi is a credit to the hotel and if the rest of the staff are half as friendly and efficient as she then the manager of this hotel has a superstar team working for him. Nothing was too much bother and the hotel was spick and span. It was a pleasure to stay there and we would certainly stay again and recommend it to any of our friends should they be heading in this direction and need a place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a popular restaurant attached to the hotel and the rooms near this end may be subject to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just recently return from a midweek break to the Premier Inn Tamworth South, to go to Drayton Manor and Cadbury World. All of the staff at the premier inn are very friendly and take an active interest in your day and your holiday experience. We also dined in the restaurant which has a wide range of food to suit everyone. The staff in the restaurant are also very good and they would recommend any dishes that may be new to the menu and also make sure that you have everything you need for an enjoyable meal. I took the laptop with me and paid the extra £3 for 24hours use which was enough for my daughter to watch films etc. It is ideal situated for Drayton manor with it being an approx 10 minute drive, just be careful when you do venture out as the sat nav found Watling Street, but we didn't realise how long the street ran for and got lost the first night we went out only to realise that we were at the wrong end of the street. We went to see the Snowdome which again is about 5 minutes away by car. It has a indoor ski slope, snowball throwing area and and ice rink along with a few eating places. On the whole we had a good time Drayton Manor was good but Thomasland is def aimed at under 5's , my daughter is 6 nearly 7 and she wasn't impressed and Cadbury World well it's all about chocolate need I say more.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel backing onto the main road but both sides of the hotel were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlittlestarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tamworth Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gungate
The Gungate
#9 of 11 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing