We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday celebration stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on Saturday 4th August 2012. We had booked a room to coincide with his birthbay and a revisit to The National Memorial Arboretum to pay our respects. When we arrived we were greeted by a delightful lady called Naomi. After explaining about their 'good nights sleep' policy and asking us if we wanted to book a table at the restaurant next door etc she asked about the nature of our visit. My husband explained it was his birthday thus we were having a weekend away to celebrate and we were paying a return visit to the National Memorial to pay our respects to some friends who we had lost in recent conflics and we had originally visited the site not long after it had first opened and we wanted to see how it had developed. Naomi wished my husband a very happy birthday and delt with our request for her to book us a taxi to take to a local restaurant efficiently. Later as we left she wished a pleasent evening. When we returned later after our meal and a few drinks we found an envelope had been pushed under the door. It was a birthday card written by Naomi on behalf of all the reception staff hoping we'd had a lovely evening and wishing us a dry day at the Arboretum and a very safe journey home. Naomi is a credit to the hotel and if the rest of the staff are half as friendly and efficient as she then the manager of this hotel has a superstar team working for him. Nothing was too much bother and the hotel was spick and span. It was a pleasure to stay there and we would certainly stay again and recommend it to any of our friends should they be heading in this direction and need a place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a popular restaurant attached to the hotel and the rooms near this end may be subject to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have just recently return from a midweek break to the Premier Inn Tamworth South, to go to Drayton Manor and Cadbury World. All of the staff at the premier inn are very friendly and take an active interest in your day and your holiday experience. We also dined in the restaurant which has a wide range of food to suit everyone. The staff in the restaurant are also very good and they would recommend any dishes that may be new to the menu and also make sure that you have everything you need for an enjoyable meal. I took the laptop with me and paid the extra £3 for 24hours use which was enough for my daughter to watch films etc. It is ideal situated for Drayton manor with it being an approx 10 minute drive, just be careful when you do venture out as the sat nav found Watling Street, but we didn't realise how long the street ran for and got lost the first night we went out only to realise that we were at the wrong end of the street. We went to see the Snowdome which again is about 5 minutes away by car. It has a indoor ski slope, snowball throwing area and and ice rink along with a few eating places. On the whole we had a good time Drayton Manor was good but Thomasland is def aimed at under 5's , my daughter is 6 nearly 7 and she wasn't impressed and Cadbury World well it's all about chocolate need I say more.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel backing onto the main road but both sides of the hotel were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xlittlestarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

To celebrate a family occasion 9 of us stayed at the Premier Inn South Tamworth for 2 nights in order that we could go to Drayton Manor Park.

From the first moment we arrived we had nothing but 5 star treatment from the staff. We were all roomed near each other at the end of a corridor and felt as if we had rented our own house.

Rooms are clean, modern and have very comfortable beds. The area is quiet and feels safe.

Our intention was to have dinner the first night at Table Table and then find a restaurant in town. The meal was excellent and we therfore eat there the second night

Breakfast was very reasonably and more than adequate.

This travel lodge is comparable to any of the best hotels I have stayed in and my biggest compliment is to the staff who always seemed genuine with nothing too much trouble. Well done to the Manager and staff

Room Tip: They all look the same. Upstairs may be quieter but we had no problems downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here with my husband, 2 young boys and baby. The rooms like all Premier Inn's I have stayed in were clean and comfortable. However, due to the high price I expected a bit more. But bearing in mind the price is good compared to other hotels its difficult to complain. Free parking right outside hotel. Restaurant next door was nice. Not far from Twycross Zoo and Drayton Manor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginandtonicNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thanks for your feedback.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. Our pricing policy works in the same way as many airlines where prices are driven by market conditions at the time. Although prices may increase at times of demand, they may also reduce on nights which are less busy. We do have a Team who closely monitor all hotels to ensure they are competitively priced as we always try and give you the best value for money.

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

What a lovely Inn Tamworth South is the girl at reception when we arrived was friendly and gave us the information we needed, as did the girl when we left. The room was very clean warm and we loved the fact that it is a Green hotel, recycling the rain water and used bath and shower water to flush the toilets. The shower uses less water but still has wonderful power. All the meals were lovely and we had a great breakfast. We have been to a lot of Premier Inns but this one is the only eco friendly one we have ever stayed at. Had a great nights sleep before heading home to Glasgow. Marks out of 10 are 100 Well done. would recommend to anyone going to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is the best Premier Inn we have stayed at, It`s only 10 minutes away from Drayton Manor which is why we picked it. Very clean room, fantastic welcome from the reception staff. Plenty of on site free parking and great value meal deal on offer at the resturant. The food was better than we expected it only cost 22 each for a 3 course meal at night with a pint and breakfast next day. Would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandMTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel was very good but the breakfast in the morning was cold nothing left no knifes and forks and there was only three families in the restaurant at the time .the food spoilt the stay at the very nice premier inn (shame)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
2.4 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,726 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
1.8 mi away
Drayton Court Hotel
Drayton Court Hotel
#1 of 11 in Tamworth
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth M42
Travelodge Tamworth M42
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel

Address: Watling Street | Wilnecote, Tamworth B77 5PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range: $60 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Tamworth South. The UK's fist greenest hotel bringing together the best environmental initiatives to help us towards a greener future. With our 20 ensuite bedrooms, flat screen free view TVs, adjoining restaurant (The Centurion Table Table), Air-cooling and 24hr reception.We are one of a very select few that is a Green Hotel. Here is why we are Green.1)We heat and cool the hotel using the earth's natural energy using a special underground pump. Four heat probes, 130 metres below our hotel, take advantage of the earths natural energy to dump heat in the summer and cold in the winter.2) Re-using water. All toilet flushes use grey (recycled) water - water re-used from showers and baths plus 50% of rainwater from the roof. This provides 100% off all toilet water and will save 20% of the entire water usage.3) Sustainable wool from British sheep is used in the walls creating exceptionally efficient thermal and acoustic insulation. Heat loss of the hotel is reduced by 60%4) Solar power. Solar panels have been used on the hotel's south facing roof. They can produce hot water to the system with almost no energy used. The system is expected to generate 11.740kWhr per year - enough for 1000 baths a year!5) All lighting is low energy thanks to LED's that produce high light levels while only using 5 Watts per bulb, this coupled with motion detectors means the lights are not left on. An 80% saving against standard lighting methods.6) All materials used are locally and sustainable sources. Timber is used rather than concrete where possible and when concrete is used it is a low cement that has been locally sourced. Our use of carbon has been reduced by using natural resources, sustainable materials, such as external timber cladding, and recycled materials, such as plasterboard and rendering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Tamworth South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing