We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressed”

Champagne Indian Fusion
Ranked #11 of 155 Restaurants in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived at this restaurant at 10.00pm New Years Eve. Although drinks arrived quite promptly we waited ages for our starters to arrive. They were acceptable. Ditto main course. However, it became apparent that the staff at this place had new year celebrations of their own to attend. They could not wait to get us out of there. No offer of coffee and absolutely no attention. I felt very disappointed at being led out into the street at around 11.55pm. If they did not want to serve us they should have said at the start and we could have gone elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    50
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“After Show Meal”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited Champagne for the frst time with friends and family for an after show meal following a visit to Tamworth Assembly rooms to see the Bootleg Shadows.
The restaurant is spacious and well lit, clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and prompt. Meals were served all together, no waiting and the food was good and very competitively priced. Drinks were also priced in line with local pubs so, No Rip Off there.
If I had to critisize anything,it would be that the meals were served already spread out on the plate and not in seperate serving dishes. This meant that the food got cold quickly, could not be added on top of rice and we could not sample each others dishes for comparisons.
However, all in all, a very good choice and highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertTamworthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Try This Place .....”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a really good meal here.

Quiet Tuesday night but meal made up for that. Friendly & helpfull staff. Starters and main meal were very tasty and good sizes. Nan breads were pretty small though.

Will try again though when in area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlbertNags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good but scanked at the end - so be careful”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently had dinner in this restaurant with some friends of mine (Saturday 3rd Nov 2012). The atmosphere, ambience and food / drink were all good. However the day after when I looked at the bill, (yes I ask for a copy of the itemised receipt for this very reason), I noticed they had added an extra round of drinks that we never had. By this time of course the moment has passed and there is nothing you can really do about it as it would be a matter of their word against mine.

I think because they could see we were making it merry and getting slightly tipsy they took advantage and sneakily added an extra round of drinks in hope we wouldn’t notice amidst the joviality of the situation. It worked as I only discovered it 24 hours later. It was my own fault and I should have thought to have checked it at the time.

Therefore if you decide to go here, yes I would recommend it as the food and atmosphere was brilliant, however do beware, check the bill at the end for any extra items you know you didn’t have. I would have given it 5 stars had it not been for this.


Thanks

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milesfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and spotless”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We came here for a pre-cinema meal. The service was very good and food very tasty. I had a vegetable samosa followed by Veg Balti (which was huge). Other diner had Nargees Kebab and a curry.
There is a wait for the food as it's freshly prepared and you're offered poppadoms at the start. First time I've been here and I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne Indian Fusion also viewed

 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Champagne Indian Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing