We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious homemade food”
Review of The Blue Rooms - CLOSED

The Blue Rooms
Price range: $21 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Found the blue rooms on trip advisor, have eaten out in Stone for years but weirdly never knew this place existed

A pleasant place with a very warm welcome from Gill the co-proprietor, whilst there were several tasty alternatives we were there for the famous home made pies, we were not disappointed I had the corned beef pie Which was lovely however, my wife had the vegetarian option spinach, feta and mushroom pie which was absolutely stunning, so nice I had a piece to take away, all served with homemade chips, peas and a big jug of gravy

Reasonably priced, especially the Tuesday 2 for 1 pie offer, if you are not a pie lover don't be put off coming here they have plenty of other tasty options all of which are homemade, if you are a pie lover then you will be in "pie heaven"

Definitely worth a visit, we will certainly be going back

Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmW648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    47
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fish and chip friday!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having visited the blue rooms before and sampled the pies we were keen to return when we found they were also offering fish and chips. This has only been offered for a few weeks, but hopefully blue rooms will continue with this as they were delicious. The fish was in a light crispy batter and the chips were still the best we've found in any restaurant. Good value too - meals and drinks for two came to less than £25. Will be back for pie (or fish) soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharloBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with friends”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Impromptu decision to call in for a meal with friends. So glad we did as the food was excellent. We all chose different types of pie with various types of mash. Good size portions, delicious fillings and light pastry. Garden or mushy peas and a jug of delicious gravy. Truly excellent comfort food served by friendly and relaxed staff. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J3ff_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Who ate all the pies?”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ate all the pies and very delicious they were too. Starters were very good as well but would probably avoid them in the future! To step inside The restaurant is like stepping into a tardis, much more room than appears from outside. There is a nice courtyard outside but as it was raining we had to stay inside. The atmosphere was good and the staff very helpful and friendly. One point, there is no parking at restaurant, we were meeting friends from Birmingham and had given them the postcode for sat nav purposes which proved to be a bit confusing for them but all you do is keep right on the one way and as you go round the corner there is a large car park on the left. Well worth another visit when we also plan to have a walk around town. Being as our friends from Stafford didn't know " Where go, what do" the choice of venue was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food but pricey”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The food here is very nice. Simple food but cooked well. The pies are great My choice was Steak and Stilton with cheese mash. Was like food that my nan used to make me.

I found out that they did take away pies so thought i would order 2 to take home for the family. £40 was the price for 2 pies on 2 dinner plates. Yes they was nice but not at that price.

Worth trying but not a regular choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Rooms also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing