We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening”
Review of Granvilles

Granvilles
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in Stone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic band playing on the evening we went. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. £11 for my main. Only criticism is that it's not the warmest or comfiest place. The door kept being opened for people going to the garden and it cooled the place considerably every time. The chairs were not very comfortable either. But that's just my small 2 issues. Would return (i'll just sit in a different place next time)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StaffordLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your visit to Granvilles-we are very proud of the package we offer-from the music to the food and including comfort-so were disappointed to hear you did not find the chairs comfortable;we do replace the pads on the chairs regularly.
Sorry it was so cold-wondering if someone had switched off the radiator by the doors accidentally-will see if we can rectify the problem.
Hope to see you again soon
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Granvilles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

A very good established pace to eat lunch in stone. Have eaten there many times and will go again. Only hesitation is some of their meals are good but like anywhere some are average. worth adding if you are visiting in the evening they have loads of splendid acts on in the week as well as the weekend.

Thank Ministryofspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review but I am sorry you were disappointed with some of the meals you have had -please could you tell us, next time so we can try to rectify the problem?
Hope to see you again soon
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It has been a few years since we have been to Granvilles, but we have such good memories of the place that when the opportunity to revisit came up we had to take it. I fully expected my high expectations to be dashed, change of management, standards dropped etc. How wrong I was! Still a brilliant atmosphere, great food and friendly staff, even the same charming and welcoming owner, even though like the rest of us he is looking a little older.....sorry Chip!

Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thanks for coming back after such a long time-what kept you away?!
Can you believe we started Granvilles 29 years ago this April!
[I will ignore the last comment!]
Look forward to seeing you again -sooner this time?
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We really like the food. possibly could do with a few addtitions? however atmosphere really cosy and a lovely place to dine. better than the crown and anchor.

Thank Lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review!
We are trying out a new menu format which we hoped offered a good selection of dishes, but we will take you comments on board.
Thanks again
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've been going to Granvilles for over 20 years now ( as it's been the only place to go until recently!)and it has really held it's own through all that time. A particularly vibrant place to go for good live music and meeting friends. Nice little courtyard garden in the back for summer lunch and warm evenings(ha ha)We did think the menu was looking a little tired last time though...but perhaps we've gone too often!

Thank Leanbean_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review.We did change our menu in February and will be changing it again in April in anticipation of all those lovely Summer times eating al fresco ! !
Look forward to welcoming you back soon,Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granvilles also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Been to Granvilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing