We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night Out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granvilles

Granvilles
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Stone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Brilliant for music at a reasonable price good food if you want a meal and a excellent inexpensive early birds menu Cannot fault it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank eyespie2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi there-really appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Granvilles again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    88
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Work Christmas Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ate and danced the night away here on work Christmas do! Food was very good overall - tasty and great portion sizes. Everybody particularly enjoyed the steaks. Desserts were not quite as good as starters and mains. Staff were efficient and friendly; service was good despite how manic it was (Friday before Christmas).
Only slight criticism was by the time we were eating our desserts (10pm) the bar was swamped and people were crowding round our table, which made it feel like we were eating in a night club!
The band were really good and there was a great atmosphere - an enjoyable night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebRichM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for your favourable review. You are right , it was a very popular night and we are very pleased you all enjoyed yourselves.
Sorry you weren't over impressed by the puddings.It has been pointed out to the kitchen.
Do hope to see you back in Granvilles again soon
all the best Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“just ok, sorry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

good menu choice , little for gluton free customers , average presentaion of food , very quick service......... to quick , food very just ok. good atmosphere. not suitable for family night out with young teenagers, or older parents. bar staff very happy to please

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladymary67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Sorry to hear you felt we were 'just ok 'when you visited Granvilles-we strive to be the best.
I am not sure why the service seemed too quick. We do try to get the right balance and it is difficult to comment without knowing the date and specifics of your visit.
We try to cater for all customers with certain dietary needs and often have customers calling to discuss their requirements with our Chefs.( you would be welcome to do so if ,hopefully,you try us again).
We are very suprised that you don't think Granvilles is suitable for older or younger guests.
We have countless family parties and celebrations in the Restaurant-only a few weeks ago we had a 90th Birthday! and we are frequently praised for being such a family freindly venue!
There are some quieter areas in the Restaurant that can be reserved.
Do hope you you will try us again,
all the best Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent night out with great local bands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is great for live music and drinks. We actually found the band that we chose for our wedding at this place, and have been back to check out other local bands too.

They do serve food and I have heard good things but I have never eaten there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Many thanks for your comments.Very much appreciated and we do hope you book a table and try our menu next time.
all the best Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lunch time heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

A party of five of us booked a table for lunch. What a fantastic venue. The welcome and service were second to none. We had a drink sitting in comfortable arm chairs enjoying the ambience of the place. There were a few other dinrs there aswell which added to the atmosphere without intruding. We were shown to a table in an alcove, perfect for people watching as they busied themselves outside. The lunch time menue was good, the alacarte extensive. We had a range of meals from delicious homemade soup, ham eggs and chips to Arbroath Smokie Fishcakes. All were excellent and well presented. We had a round of drinks (3 soft drinks and 2 alcoholic) and the total came to £45.00, which in my book is outstanding value when you take into consideration the venue, atmosphere, quality of food and the outstanding service. Give this place a go, it is an excellent experience and value for money. Can't wait to try their early bird evening deals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hortonkirbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANVILLES, Owner at Granvilles, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed report on your lunchtime visit to Granvilles.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and it does mean so much to all the staff to recieve such a glowing review.
We do look forward to seeing you again to try our new Early Bird Menu !
all the best Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granvilles also viewed

 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Been to Granvilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing