We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad management.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bad management.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Only been twice. Food always good. Management very very rude. Very unprofessioanl. For this reason Im no sure I will book again. Customer service for this manegeress went way out of the window.... She really did not care about how she came across or how she spoke to her customers. She spoilt the afternoon for us!!!!! There was young woman behind the bar who shone with her good approach and manners... Shame the management dont take note from this young lady.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawneylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    61
    44
    54
    72
See reviews for
56
82
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed here 21st october 2012 with my husbans and 3 children. Booked a special rate through KGB deals which included entrance to the monkey forest. We had a family room and it was very clean and enormous. The bathroom was also very clean and large. We couldnt fault anything, the kids absolutely loved it and normally i might i have felt a bit claustrophobic sharing with all 5 of us on 1 room but it was so big we each had our own space. Breakfast in the morning was cereal, pastries, full english etc which again cannot be faulted.
We checked out on Monday morning and when i got home i realised i had left my make-up bag. When i phoned them to ask if they had it they checked and advised they had and sent it special delivery to arrive the next day for which i was extremely grateful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I went here for my cousins wedding in September. The food was lovely and the service was good... Saw other peoples food (in the pub section of the venue) it looked very nice, fresh and tasty.... The large function room upstairs was massive, and was great for big family function. The ceremony room where they got married and we had the weeding breakfast was nice too, full of English character, had a lovely feeling to the place. Would recommend it for this. My family stayed at the hotel, not sure how they found the rooms but as a day/ evening visitor, was a nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just been to the Stone Food & Drink Festival, had a great time staying at The Crown Hotel. We stepped out the door on to the farmers market very busy and lots of food tasters. Went back to hotel for lunch great service and excellent food. Spent the afternoon at the Food & Drink Festival then back to hotel for 3 course evening meal again excellent food and service and very reasonably priced. I got a room on the top floor very clean and spacious with a big bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style and there was lots to chose from and lots of it. Would recommend this lovely hotel with lots of character for a weekend break theres loads to do Farmers Market 1st Sat of every month, Monkey Forest, Trentham Gardens and Alton Towers all close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent business trip. Make sure you ask for a room in the main house part. Free Wifi was a real bonus. For the price i felt this was worth a write up. Clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, attentive staff and great breakfast.
The night porter was extremely helpful and polite and they have a pretty well stocked bar.
It's not a fancy place but it is good value. I would certainly stay here again. Very central to all the delights of Stone too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel about 3 weeks ago. For the price i paid i think it was great value for money. The room was very clean, nice shower and the breakfast had a good choice. In the afternoon my sister and i sat in the lounge with laptops. Wifi is free! The coffees were nice.

You get what you pay for. All these people are complaining here. If you wanted 4 or 5 star service then you should be willing to empty your pockets out...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Initial impression very poor, reminiscent of Fawlty Towers.....checked in at 2.30, given key, then got to rooms to find that they weren't ready. Back to reception then given complimentary tea while we waited for rooms to be ready. Then found one room (no. 10) had damp wall with bubbling paper, looked awful and smelled of damp. They changed the room and that was fine. After that things were ok. The hotel is tired and shabby and in need of serious refurbishment. It could be amazing if money was spent to update and refresh the decor - they have clearly had a lot of problems from leaks.

Room Tip: Avoid room 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 38 High Street, Stone ST15 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stone
The Crown Hotel Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing