We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Poste of Stone

The Poste of Stone
Ranked #29 of 57 Restaurants in Stone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
558 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Reasonable food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had a breakfast this venue on Saturday morning at 9.15am, costing £3.09. It was served in 10 minutes, and was reasonable, except that the tomato was missing. An apology was offered when I pointed this out at the end of the meal. Service too was reasonable; it was my first visit to the Poste, and I will certainly consider it again when I am next in Stone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    40
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food here is undoubtedly good value, but basic and so is the service.
A group of us went at lunch time.
The only table large enough was right by the back door, which was used alot, blasting cold air straight at us.
When ordering it was clear we were all together but the orders were put through very seperately so some people had finished their food while others were still waiting. When asked where the other meals were the waitress shrugged her shoulders and said they were busy and there was nothing she could do?
My panini was pretty unexciting, but at that price good enough I guess.
Might go back as a couple or a very small group. Tempted to try the curry deal one day as it is such good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecatsmother_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“one of best weatherpoons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

food is usually edible.one of the best weatherspoons i've eaten in.i usually come for breafast with my husband and four year old.how ever steak club good too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast/Brunch you can not beat it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Seems my friends and I have started a bad habit.
11am Saturday or Sunday, we appear to find ourselves in the Poste.
There is nothing better than a whole crowd of you and your friends tucking into a great breakfast for under a £5. They even cater for the vegetarian amongst our group. You just can't make it for that price!
The only dilemma is to have to chose between black pudding or mushrooms, just have both and pay a few pennies more.
We only went in for breakfast and ended up staying for the football. 6 hours later and many drinks later we had to order another meal!
Can't beat it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“It's a Wetherspoons what more can you say?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Like most Wetherspoons pubs it's just cheap n cheerful. Staff are not the most pleasant and all seem to have the weight of the world on their shoulders. Really dislike their attitude towards family dining as the minute it gets close to 9pm irrespective of what stage you are at with your meal they want your children gone! Food is bland and cheap, but you get what you pay for!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickPikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poste of Stone also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Poste of Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing