We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silicone sealant is the future!”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Silicone sealant is the future!”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend away at this hotel, celebrating our wedding anniversary, leaving our 3 children with my parents. We'd paid £157.50 for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast for both nights through hotels.com and thought we'd got a great deal. I wanted the pool and time to chill, hubby wanted a nearby golf course. Sorted.

Pro's
The hotel is set back off a main road and very quiet - look out for the rabbits at night time! The restaurant food is wonderful and would highly recommend eating there. Breakfast consisted of just about everything you could wish for ranging from croissants to full English breakfast all served piping hot and brought to your table. Saturday morning the restaurant was quiet but Sunday morning was carnage! There had been a wedding reception the night before and everyone seemed to come down for breakfast at the same time. The staff worked very hard at getting everyone seated and served as quickly as possible. With us paying for DB&B for both nights we thought we'd be given a set menu at dinner but were pleasantly surprised! We were given an allowance of £25 EACH per night (food only - no drinks) and for that could get a really nice 3 course meal. We had duck salad starters, followed by rump steak then toffee and banana crumble to give you an example. Food was absolutely delicious. Rooms were equipped with iron/board, trouser press, tea/coffee, heater and hairdryer. The hotel had a bar and facilities for conferences.

Cons
Where do I start? Check in was very quick and painless, and were soon given the key to our room - room 4. As soon as we opened the door, we noticed the room was dark, dingy, tiny, very dated, had threadbare carpet, and the bathroom was disgusting with tiles missing off the wall and silicone around the bath and shower which was black with mould. I immediately turned on my heels and went back to reception. We asked for a different room but was told the hotel was fully booked. After a couple of minutes we were informed we could change our room to room 21. (Sorry to the person/s who got our room!) After feeling like a rabbit, going up and down stairs and along several corridors we eventually found our room which seemed to be at the very back. The flooring in the corridors in some areas is uneven and there is a part outside room 14 which dips greatly, someone unsteady on their feet could stumble here. Initially, the new room looked slightly better, a little bit bigger (not much) but much brighter. Knowing the hotel was fully booked and the fact we were tired after our journey, we reluctantly knew we'd have to make do. We unpacked and went to the pool. The pool was pretty cold, small but adequate and straight away noticed a line of scum on the tiles around the pool, and also green moss on the INSIDE of the windows which looked like they hadn't been cleaned for months. The pool showers were dirty and had black mould around the silicone. The gym was in 2 parts and very small but adequate. Sauna was great.

Upon returning to our room we then noticed how cold it was. Although it had a couple of radiators, they were switched off with no way of switching them on, but we found a floor heater in the wardrobe and the room soon warmed up. There were extra blankets (the itchy type) in the drawers which we used in the night, as the quilt on the bed was thin. The wooden window frames had seen better days and the windows didn't shut properly, causing a draught. Whilst taking off my shoes I noticed a toenail looking at me on the floor. Nice. The water pressure is great in the room and the bath took barely 5 mins to fill, but once in the bath we then noticed how black and mouldy the silicone sealer was around the bath, shower, and bath panel. It should have been removed and resealed, but someone in their wisdom had just gone over it and was absolutely caked on in places. Someone was obviously on commission. We also noticed the shower head was plastic, soap dish ceramic, grab rails chrome, and bathroom door handle brass. Bit of a mishmash! The shower at some point had been replaced and different tiles put back on, that were a "near enough" match but were bigger and a different colour! The cast iron bath had a golf ball sized chunk of enamel missing, and guess what it was covered up with? Silicone sealant! The edge of the patch was very sharp and we had to place the bath mat over it. The bath taps were covered in black gunk and also desperately needed de-scaling!, Absolutely disgusting. We pointed this out to the cleaner the following morning, but after spending half an hour just on the bathroom, she came out exhausted and said the silicone needed completely replacing, but mentioned she'd done her best cleaning it and it DID look slightly better. Lighting in the room is poor, the dressing table light was useless and we had to try and de-mist the bathroom mirror which was much better. Lesson. Put on your make-up BEFORE you have a bath/shower!! We had a job finding the ironing board which was at the side of the wardrobe in the (dark) corner and had to take a picture off the wall to get it out! Later that night when we went back to our room, we immediately noticed a dull humming noise from outside which turned out to be some kind of large extractor chimney which was on 24/7. Not particularly noticeable during the day, but very noticeable when its out side your room at night when you're trying to get to sleep! The bed was rock hard, sloped to one side, and were woken up at 7.30am by a delivery. There was a fire escape door in our room and the "landing" outside was full of fag ends. All rooms are non-smoking.

We'd read all the reviews before booking and most said the hotel was great, one reviewer "complained" their room was that big that it needed a much bigger TV to be able to see it!!. I think this depends on which part of the hotel you were placed, and we were just unlucky. One couple we got talking to said their room had a little garden attached to it! The rooms, especially the bathrooms need TOTAL refurbishment.

This was supposed to have been a nice romantic break for the two of us as we haven't had a weekend away in 5 years, but have to say we were really really disappointed. The hotel inspector would have a field day. Pictures tell 1000 words and I'm gutted I didnt take my camera.

We are aware the hotel management read these reviews, and would be re-asurred if steps were made to ensure no-one else ends up as disappointed as we were. If they would like to contact us, we wouldn't hesitate at accepting a refund or an free invite back once rooms were refurbished! You have our details.........

Would we go again? Not unless there was a total refurb of the rooms, especially the grotty bathrooms. However, ending on a positive note, if we were in the area, we wouldn't hesitate at eating at the restaurant. Compliments to the chef!

N.B Sorry for waffling on, but due to the nature of my job, I'm VERY observant!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review your experiences at the Stone House Hotel. May I firstly thank you for the positive comments received.
However I was very concerned to read of your additional comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you where our standards of service and cleanliness have fallen below yours and indeed our own expectations.
The Stone House Hotel is a former country house that has been enlarged to accommodate additional rooms and leisure and conference facilities. The main part of the house has been left somewhat to retain much of it's original style. Oxford Hotels and Inns inherited a portfolio of properties that do require considerable investment. There is an ongoing programme of investment across the portfolio which, in the current economic climate, is continuing. I cannot at this stage advise as to when the Stone House Hotel will undergo some refurbishment.
What I can say is that we, within the property, will endeavour to ensure that within our own means and capabilities the property is constantly looked after.
We appreciate that not all can be done at once.
Thank you once again for taking the time to bring your experiences to my attention, as it is through such feedback as you have made that we can constantly monitor, maintain and improve our standards of guest care. I sincerely hope that my genuine apologies will be accepted and that we may be allowed the opportunity to welcome you back to the Stone House Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    160
    131
    48
    41
See reviews for
101
179
15
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We have just had a lovely 3 night stay at The Stone House Hotel. I always like to read the reviews on trip advisor before making up my mind.-and although there were a few negative reviews, on the whole it seemed quite promising. One of the main complaints was the service, or lack of it, how wrong they were! We always got an apology for being kept waiting-the longest time was about 2 minutes!
The room was very nice, yes maybe the furniture was a little 'tired' but the beds were very comfy and everywhere was clean. There was a trouser press, ironing board and iron and extra pillows,there were also little touches like note pad and pen, headed notepaper and envelopes, tissues etc.,apart from the usual tea and coffee maker.
The hotel has a lovely bar area, a gym and large pool, that we sampled.
As the hotel used to be the Manor House of the area, it has alot of lovely old fireplaces and wood panelling.
The large restaurant is light and airy and the food is excellent. The portions were huge and for breakfast there is a choice of a full English or a Continental which is all laid out for you to choose from.
Room service is 24/7 and as a bonus there is a large car park.
If you want good, reasonably priced accommodation as a base for visiting the Potteries then The Stone House is the place to stay. We will definitely be going again.
I would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehappytravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We booked a two day pass at Alton Towers, with two rooms for one night here on 10th August, and were very pleasantly surprised. Billed as a 3* we have stayed in many worse 4* hotels. Without exception, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were spacious and had all we required for the night. There was a comfortable bar area, lounge, and attractive rose garden (which we didn't have time to explore but looked very nice through the windows!) We made use of the pool in the morning which was very pleasant, although we did rather interfere with a couple of regular 'local' ladies doing their lengths!! As well as gym equipment there was a sauna and fluffy large towels for the use of. Breakfast was served promptly and consisted of hot toast - a rarity indeed - yahoo!
Although perhaps in need of a little TLC in places this didn't detract from good service and value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed over at The Stone House for two nights, after attending a concert in the Stafford area. The hotel was easy to find, on the main road between Stafford and Stoke on Trent. Our room, a standard double, faced the road but the hotel is set back and therefore was not noisy - and the bed was of superb quality, just right for my dodgy back! We had an evening meal on the first night - not a huge menu or wine list, but the food was excellent and so was the wine. Good choice for breakfast - full English cooked to order, cereals, juice, fruit, cheese, ham, eggs, fish, toast - yummy. Staff were helpful and friendly. All in all, an excellent visit, couldn't fault it. Couldn't stay more than two nights, otherwise would need a hoist to get me out!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The hotel was brilliant. Corperate identity personal service.
The staff were brilliant, they could not help enough. The food was superb and the hotel quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasoneddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed here as we were meeting some friends in Stone. Good value at £65 B and B for a double via booking.com. Room a good size but in need of a spruce up. However it was clean. Very hot, no fans available.
Breakfast food was nice but service absolutely terrible - waiting staff consisted of 3 teenage boys, none of who had any idea what they were doing. No word of an apology for long wait.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeny_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Only stayed 1 night. Hotel in need of some TLC with a coat of paint required particularly on the outside and some attention to the potentially nice garden areas. Room was good size and well equipped with large comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Full breakfast had plenty of choice with the hot food appearing to be freshly cooked to order. Well located on the outskirts of Stone on the A34 but surprisingly quiet. Didn't use the leisure facilities but they looked OK. A pleasant stay and good value

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayjill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
4.6 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing