We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here on the eve of our son's graduation. Our request for a treat for our son was dealt with by the staff who put a cake in the room for him. Thank you. The hotel was convenient for Trentham Gardens with ample parking spaces. The check in was smooth and the room ideal for our needs. We were encouraged to eat in the restaurant and were very satisfied with our meals. Breakfast was good if a little slow in being served. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was in a quiet spot - room 46
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstazangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write of your comments on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased your son's Graduation went well, and that this was complimented by a relaxed over night stay here. We wish you all well for the future. Kind regards. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    162
    133
    51
    41
See reviews for
102
181
15
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just had a superb wedding for my son and his new wife at The Stone House. Cannot fault the attention to detail and pleasant friendly staff. Had plenty of good food, both at the wedding breakfast and the evening reception. Our family (even though most live within a few miles of the hotel) and friends took over a large proportion of the bedrooms and stayed. In the morning we all ate a good well presented hearty breakfasts. All our rooms were well presented, very clean and both the room and linen smelled fresh with very comfortable mattresses, we all slept well. Its a very pleasant and homely hotel with a feeling of being in the country. It has a magical garden area where we sat and enjoyed our pimms and the children expelled some of there pent up energy after the ceremony. It gave the photographer time to take some amazing photos. I would definitely. recommend The Stone House for a Family Wedding. We used our own vintage cars and were safe in the knowledge that the cars were covered by security cctv overnight. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the new anex. It was pretty quiet there , but I would imagine in the main building with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatlady100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are so pleased the whole day went extremely well, and that all guests enjoyed there time here. What a lovely day it was. thank you and Kind regards. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Checked in this hotel to get a rest for the night before a big exam. It was terrible, old outdated and filthy. There was a wedding party in the hotel that night which I was not made aware of before I checked in. I'm no party spoiler but the noise was terrible. On calling the receptionist and informing her she was rude and abrupt she informed me the wedding party was all over the hotel and the noise would be all night. So I checked out. The most amazing thing about it was I only got £15.00 refunded!!! It took the manager three weeks to reply to my complaint and completely avoided the idea of a refund. This is a hell hole stay well away

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I do apologise that you feel the way you do, However this matter was already been discussed at the time and again several weeks ago. I am sorry you feel disgruntled, and I hope that by so writing you feel that you have vented your anger because you did not receive a full refund. Sometimes in life we do not always get what we want. However, we should gracefully accept and move on to the next stage in our lives. I do sincerely wish you well for the future. Kind regards. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife organised a surprise birthday for my 60th. She was helped by Kimberley who was outstanding. We were allowed to use the restaurant area and gardens as we had a number of family and grandchildren. The staff could not have been better, they were fantastic. The food was excellent with an enormous and tasty buffet. We also had a tab at the bar which worked extremely well. All in all we could not fault the venue, it was brilliant. A big thank you to all the staff there, especially Kimberley!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hortonkirbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent event here at the Stone House Hotel. We are extremely pleased that all went well for the 60th Birthday event, and that this was enjoyed by all. I shall pass on your comments to Kimberely - she is one of our stars!. Thank you and kind regards. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

4 of us stayed in two double rooms. The hotel is Lovely we used the pool which was nice and warm. The rooms are nice the bed iS really comfy. Breakfast was delicious and good portion size. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessanddan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just come back from staying in this hotel overnight. Clean, comfortable, staff extremely helpful nothing was to much for them. Bed was so comfortable we nearly overslept which is something I never do lol.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggot074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to write of your recent stay at the Stone House Hotel. Your comments are much appreciated, thank you. Kind regards. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

spent two nights at this hotel this weekend and what an amazing time we all had, the rooms are 1st class the staff are amazing an did everything they could to make the day perfect, the breakfasts and all food catered for us on the day were very very good tasted lovley. dont think anyone could say different. AMAZING :) xx

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassybird04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, General Manager at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind comments - these are much appreciated. We endeavour to ensure that all our events, whether functions, weddings, Christmas parties run smoothly, with good food, and that guests can fully appreciate the atmosphere of these events. Take care. MikeH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
218 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
4.6 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Property: Stone House Hotel
Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing