We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Crowns

The Three Crowns
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Stone
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Three Crowns in Stone is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a lovely cosy country pub with three dining rooms It's very popular with locals but the service
and the food leaves much to be desired..I took some friends from London and they weren't impressed. The soup was cold and the mains weren't much better, soggy batter on the fish and undercooked pastry on pies. We stayed on for a while to have a few drinks and no one bothered to clear the table which was very small.Nice for a drink but avoid the food

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mosey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    81
    43
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Inconsistant experiences!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is my local and I have to say it's a hit and miss critique!
We have had great meals here and rather poor ones, yet each time we go back we decide to give it another go!
Poor experiences have ranged from sending a steak back 3 times in one evening to waiting over an hour from order to starter then nearly another hour to main course.
However when they get it right they certainly get it right!
Under the current Management things seem to have picked up and I was thoroughly grateful to Emma, when she was able to accommodate a large party under short notice just before Christmas.
Laden with a varied party, 1 over 80 yr old who likes food plain and simple, 1 vegan, 1 picky veggie and a Father who dines in "Michelin Starred" restaurants for fun, I was certainly taking a risk.
On a busy Sunday lunchtime we ate as a table of 9 and although one of the mains got mixed up, the overall quality of food and level of service was great! As my other half commented "If your Dad has enjoyed it we know it's been a success!"
Let's hope this upward trend remains!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pootle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A BRILLIANT MEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I visited the three crowns over the weekend and it was absolutly fabulous!! From the very second we walked in to the moment we left we were treated like royalty!! I believe the young gentleman was called Tom and he couldnt do enough for us and nothing was a problem whatsoever!! The venue was exeptionally laid out and the staff seemed very helpfull and cheery! The food was a joy as was the atmosphere in the whole establishment! Tom really made this expierence alot more special for us and soley because of him we will be regularly visiting on a monthly basis and this young man alone has secured the 3crowns a 60th birthday party where myself and approx 30 friends/family will be booked in to again have a wonderful expierence with Tom and his team!
Best pub in Stone and surround areas by far.... Strongly recommend to anyone and everyone!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCFC0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“heather aston”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

we live on Aston lodge so the 3 crowns is ideal to walk to. i am afraid this is not a correct picture of the 3 crowns pub in Stone. we ordered a meal off the specials board. i am afraid the meal was so bad we could not eat it. it was supposed to be an aubragine cannaloni with garlic bread.The waitress replaced the meals with rump steaks which we requested .t his is the second time we have had trouble with the meals being of a poor quality.as a couple of years ago it had a much higher quality management & chef. the staff were very pollite but it did not makeup for the repeated poor food performance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
270 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We called the day before to book a table for 7 including 3 children, 2 of which needed high chairs. When we arrived the table was ready and waiting for us as required.
Service was good, no long waits for food, they even took the kids orders first so they could be got underway.
Food was good, we will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Crowns also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Biddulph, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to The Three Crowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing