We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wayfarer

The Wayfarer
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Stone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wayfarer is a brand new country pub and restaurant serving the freshest home cooked food in stylish surroundings. Our designers have created an amazing environment for you to relax in and enjoy Chef's homemade food prepared to the highest standards just like it's sister pub The Swan with Two Necks.
Stone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Although this is close to home and has now been going in its present form for some time, it's the first time we've actually visited.
We had a superb meal, a very varied menu, which sets your mouth watering just by reading it! I Opted for a start of chicken liver parfait, served with a salad and toasted focaccia, very tasty indeed, my wife was very complimentary about her starter of deep fried goat's cheese too. My main was belly pork, a huge piece, with lots of juicy meat and crackling, served on a bed of spinach with carrots and new potatoes. Absolutely loved it and I felt very full indeed afterwards. My wife had lamb shank, very tasty and fell apart at the sight of her knife!
We all had the same dessert, cookie dough with white chocolate, caramel and raspberries. I'm not one for sweet stuff at all, but have to admit that this was absolutely divine!
The staff were very friendly and cheerful. At the time we visited (6.45 on a Sunday) the restaurant was very busy and it was clear that the staff were struggling a little to cope with the number of customers. Although we'd booked, it was 25 minutes before we were shown to our table. We had to wait in the bar area, where the seating is almost exclusively on high stools; as I have mobility problems, this type of seating was completely unsuitable. We also had long waits at the table; over half an hour between our starters being cleared and the main course arriving. A shame, when the staff were so good, and the food excellent. From speaking to friends who have also visited, it seems that this is not typical, so perhaps staffing was an issue on this one occasion.
We'll be back, but really don't want to be kept waiting so long next time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    344
    147
    62
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely and imaginative food in a friendly environment. Great service and friendly staff. A large and varied menu with an excellent wine list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Snail's Pace”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The venue has become very shabby,the food is average pub fare and overpriced, but what really lets it down is the service. There are snails that could lap the staff in this place.
We have tried this venue periodically to see if it has improved, sadly it hasn't. As an inhabitant of Stone I really want our local bars and restaurants to be worth visiting, for us, The Wayfarer falls far short of the mark.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golani49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Once again this restaurant stand out, not just for its very pleasant bar and dinning areas, but staff all of which help you settle in. The food we ordered was very well presented, smelt well and tasted very good. We both felt the main course could have been a little warmer, that did not detract from its taste. We also ordered two glasses of wine which both arrived at the right temperature. In our great wisdom we ordered two desserts and shared the taste. Once again the desserts just added depth the quality of the restaurant and its food. We will be going back very soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoyira, Cyprus
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went for Sunday lunch, the restaurant was very busy, but we were shown to our table straight away and the waitress took our drinks orders whilst we pondered over the menu.The staff are all very helpful attentive and friendly which really adds to the overall experience. The food is excellent, served piping hot and the portions are generous. To start we had two plates of sushi and fish starters which were excellent and just the right amount for our party. I chose lamb shank which was really tasty, two had roast beef, one had crispy tempura beef salad, and one chicken ham and leek pie. Good food at a decent price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyzbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wayfarer also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to The Wayfarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing