We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food”
Review of The Olives Restaurant - CLOSED

The Olives Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Top notch food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose this restaurant because the reviews are so very good and it didn't disappoint! The food was excellent- clearly "home made" - a nice change from the usual restaurant food these days. Their chef can clearly cook, not just warm up.
There was a pianist playing while we ate and this was a very nice touch. Another nice touch were the fluffy hand towels and hand lotion in the ladies. Just a small thing but very appreciated.
The set menu represents very good value considering the quality of the food.
Would reccomend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thecatsmother_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    48
    34
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What more could you ask for?”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a cracking place to go for food. All staff are welcoming and helpful, the food was delicious and the general atmosphere of the place was spot on. Prices are also very reasonable given the overall quality. Highly recommend the scallops.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adornostaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out, great place to take soneone special”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, great atmosphere and the food was 'mamma mia' to die for unmmmm. The night we went there was a female singer which added to it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cols6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great night out.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food, service and atmosphere all in the same place. Couldn't ask for more. We had a great family night out. Made to feel very welcome, we all really enjoyed our meal. Thanks for a great night, will tell all our friends. Looking forward to coming back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 52ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant in stone!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and my partner have been going to olives since November 2012 and everytime has been really enjoyable. the staff are really friendly and the owner always remembers your face. The food is out of this world! iv tried something different everytime and its alway been lovely. The cost is a little higher then other places but its understandable when you taste the food! i would much prefer to pay money for quality food than 5 pounds for something thrown in the microwave! The Atmosphere is so Romantic! Olives have a girl singing in the background and shes very good! you really wont be let down by this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olives Restaurant also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing