We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moddershall Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moddershall Oaks
Ranked #1 of 5 Stone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My partner surprised me with this for our anniversary august 2013, and shocked at how beautiful it was is an understatement. We stayed over night in one of the suites and it was fantastic, we could have stayed the longer - There was a lot of quality throughout and it was very comfortable. We spent the next day in the Spa Facilities as well as the day before and it was a great relaxation. There was a relaxation lounge which was just chilled out and I had a back massage, where I easily fell asleep! Would recommend this to any couples mainly to get a short break as it can be expensive! The food in the restaurant is also top class - I've never been so happy with 'posh nosh', as I'm quite fussy myself. We had breakfast in the morning in our robes and it just seemed normal - although we were the only ones in the spa to do so, but oh well! Might as well make the most of it! The whole experience was fantastic. Just wish we could have explored the grounds more and stayed longer, but it was raining when we went down, so the spa and suite were best for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny H, Director at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review of your anniversary surprise, it was really lovely to read your comments, and I have passed them on to all the staff involved in your break. It is great to hear what you thought about all of the elements of your stay. You had the right idea - there is only one way to have breakfast and that is in a comfy robe! Hopefully we will see you again in the future, and the rain stays away so you can explore a bit more. Thank you again for the time you took to give us your feedback. Very best wishes, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    65
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
126
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I booked the new year's eve overnight spa stay package and also attended the evening banquet and.....we were not disappointed in the slightest!! From the moment I booked in October, I couldn't fault the service. Everyone we dealt with was helpful, friendly and welcoming. Due the limited no. of rooms and guest numbers, it really does help to create such a tranquil, relaxing and escaping experience. The 55 minute full body massage treatments were also fantastic. The banquet itself was also lovely..great food, music and atmosphere. I would thoroughly recommend this spa and can't wait to visit again (especially to see the additional facilities that are being added to this already great place!). Well done and thank you for a lovely spa break!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChillandRelaxSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny H, Director at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review of your NYE spa break that you enjoyed with your sister. It sounds like you had a relaxing time, and it is great to hear what you thought of the new year event too. It would be fantastic to see you again, the spa facilities should be completed within the next couple of months, and there will be lots of great changes - it would be fab to hear what you think. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback, hopefully we will see you again in the future. Kindest regards, Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Both myself and my wife stayed here as a get away from it all retreat for 1 night, and this was just not long enough!

Lovely rooms that are 5* and food that is delicious with attentive and very happy to help staff, what more can I say other than I want to move this hotel closer to my home in Glasgow so we can visit more often!

The restaurant staff were excellent in particular Ivan who was very helpful, the food which is locally sourced and cooked fresh for your choice was delicious and the restaurant thoroughly deserves the attained title of the best restaurant in Staffordshire.

The whole hotel location and minimal number of rooms (just 10) adds to the retreat aspect and is in a rural location far away from the noise of roads and towns...what more could you want, great service, great treatments, great facilities and wonderful food.

I will return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modd-Manager, Manager at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about yours and your wife’s spa break. It is so nice to receive such fantastic feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, particularly your restaurant experience. I will make sure your feedback is passed on to all of the staff involved in your break, including Ivan.

We hope to see you again in the future & as Glasgow is so far away you might just have to stay a little longer.

We really do appreciate your kind comments, please don’t hesitate to get in touch if you need anything at all. My contact number is 01782 399000 extension 239 & my email address is Lucy@moddershalloaks.com.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Lucy Farrington (Sales Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I Stayed at Moddershall Oaks this weekend with my Husband as a birthday treat!
It defiantly was a treat and can guarantee that we will be visiting again soon.
We checked in at 3 and we were shown to our room by very friendly member of staff, the relaxation started almost immediately. The rooms are truly 5* they're clean and full of luxury treats, with everything you should need for a relaxing break.
The spa facilities are great, the spa pool and jets are so lovely!
I had a exotic body scrub, which was expertly done and made my skin feel wonderful, thanks Rebecca. My husband had a deep tissue massage and said he felt like he had floated out of the treatment room.
We finished our spa day in the outdoor hot tub located outside our room, great way to finish a relaxing day with a glass of bubbly under the stars!
The restaurant is truly fabulous, the best spa restaurant Ive ever been to by far. Service was wonderful and the food was truly scrummy!
We had wonderful spa break, from great service (with a smile), fab food and great facilities.
We will be visiting again....hopefully very soon.
Thanks to all at Moddershall for a fabulously relaxing break!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modd-Manager, Manager at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Samantha,

Thank you so much for such a kind review. I am very happy to hear that you had a lovely stay & found the bedroom, treatment & restaurant enjoyable. Please also thank your husband, it is great to hear that he left the treatment room feeling so relaxed.

All of our staff will be thrilled to hear your feedback, I will make sure I pass on your comments to all involved. Hopefully we will see you again soon for another glass of bubbly under the stars, sounds fabulous.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review, if you need anything at all please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. My contact number is 01782 399000 extension 239 & my email address is Lucy@moddershalloaks.com.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Lucy Farrington (Sales Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed on a luxury spa break between Christmas and new year and had a lovely time. The massages were excellent, the hotel was clean and very well decorated and furnished and very relaxing. I don't eat dairy products but the restaurant staff made sure I always had plenty to eat and pretty much made my meals from scratch. couldn't fault the hotel or the ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modd-Manager, Manager at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review. I am extremely pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, particularly your treatments and your restaurant experience.

We really appreciate you spending the time to write the review & we will make sure that your feedback is passed on to the staff.

We hope to see you again the near future,

Best wishes,
Lucy

Lucy Farrington (Sales Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was surprised by my OH with a weekend away at Moddershall Oaks in November 2012. We arrived at about 3pm on the friday and stayed until late on Sunday - a blissful long weekend of pampering and relaxing!

We stayed in the Master suite with the four poster and had the jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. It was so comfortable and relaxing. The hot tub was outside our room so we were able to hop in easily, it was lovely sipping Champagne in the cool Autumnal weather whilst relaxing in the tub!

The spa itself was amazing, the heated loungers were lovely to relax and snooze on, the spa pool with jets was great - my skin felt lovely afterwards. The experience shower was fun, not relaxing but quite a giggle as it changed from one setting to another and the smells were quite strange - more Febreze than Amazon rain shower! We spent time in the chillout room too which was very relaxing and a nice change from the spa if you wanted to relax without water!

We had 4 treatments between us, I had an Elemis facial and massage, my OH had a chocolate facial and a deep tissue massage - we both agreed they were very good and our skin felt great afterwards. They use Elemis products and you get full use of them in the spa too.

The package my OH bought included breakfast, lunch and dinner for the 2 nights - the food was amazing. We had the 5 (or 7?) course dinner menu on both nights and each course was wonderful - there was nothing we could fault. The service was perfect too - you felt well looked after and the staff were very friendly.

The four poster bed was so comfortable, lovely to snuggle down in after a long day of pampering - it's definitely worth trying to get this room!

The setting was in the middle of the countryside in Staffordshire and very picturesque, wonderful views over rolling countryside from our suite and the restaurant. Due to the location I didn't have a mobile phone signal so couldn't check emails or be distracted by anything - I felt very relaxed!

When we arrived home to pick up the kids from my friend - she commented on how relaxed I looked - I must have looked super stressed before then!

We're planning on visiting again soon, it's a shame it's not closer to home as I'd become a member. A perfect spa weekend, thank you Moddershall Oaks for making it a memorable one!

Room Tip: Master Suite - perfect, outdoor hot tub is right outside the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modd-Manager, Manager at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind & detailed review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of the above elements of your stay & returned home relaxed.

How fantastic to hear that you took full advantage of all that we have to offer - sipping champagne in the hot tub sounds like bliss.

We hope that all of our customers return from Moddershall Oaks feeling this way & I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all of our staff.

Feel free to contact me directly if you would like to enquire about another spa package, we would love to see you again in the future. My contact number is 01782 399000 extension 239 & my email address is lucy@moddershalloaks.com.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kindest regards,
Lucy

Lucy Farrington (Sales Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Six of us (three couples) enjoyed a fantastic New Years Eve at Moddershall Oaks.

Champagne, a superb five course meal and good wine at a reasonable price made it an evening to remember. Mix this with great live music and they had the recipe for success.

The new year was celebrated with a very good firework display.

We'll be back new year 2014!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcfc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modd-Manager, Manager at Moddershall Oaks, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am thrilled to hear that you all enjoyed our New Year’s Eve event and are thinking of returning again this year.

I will be sure to pass on your thanks to all of the staff involved in the event, they will be over the moon to read your comments.

We very much hope to see you again soon. Many thanks again for taking the time leave your feedback.

All the best for 2014,
Lucy

Lucy Farrington (Sales Office Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
4.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
7.3 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
17.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
12.8 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moddershall Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moddershall Oaks

Property: Moddershall Oaks
Address: Moddershall, Stone ST15 8TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moddershall Oaks 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moddershall Oaks (spa breaks).Each of our 10 luxury suites have under-floor heating, soft seating, en-suite bathrooms with Elemis products, LCD TV & full SKY HD, DVD player, iPod docking station, a private deck area & exclusive access to the outdoor hot tub. As a guest of Moddershall Oaks you are entitled to take advantage of all our facilities from when you check in at 3pm on the arrival day. Our facilities include... Spa area including swimming pool, sauna, steam room, hydrotherapy pool, heated tiled loungers,experience shower and reflexology footbaths. Lockers and changing rooms with complimentary use of Elemis products,robes & towels provided throughout your visit.For the more active, a gymnasium including Technogym Wellness System. Luxurious relaxation lounge with books and magazines... Or why not borrow our portable DVD player to watch a film? More than 70 acres of woodland and parkland to explore... Borrow wellies and an umbrella if it's raining. Woodside tennis court with complimentary use of tennis equipment. Complimentary use of bicycles and cycling equipment if you want to explore the local area. Beauty treatment suite for pampering & party exclusive use. Award-winning lakeside bar & restaurant. Moddershall Oaks are currently celebrating the launch of their fantastic new Spa facilities which opened in June 2014. The new facilities include a lovely reception and deli area for casual dining, snacks and cocktails. They have a beautiful new relaxation lounge with comfy seating areas, a cosy open fire place and floor to ceiling windows, overlooking the new outdoor space. The outdoor area includes a bespoke outdoor vitality pool, equipped with water jets and a hydro back bench and an outdoor Kelo pinewood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Moddershall Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moddershall Oaks Hotel Stone
Moddershall Oaks Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing