We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let standards slip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moddershall Oaks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moddershall Oaks
Ranked #1 of 5 Stone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't let standards slip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A lovely little spa in Stone. Only 12 or so rooms-designed brilliantly in a Moroccan theme. Front desk service excellent and most of restaurant staff. Use of outdoor hot tub for overnight guests-original and fun. Sat in warm, bubbling waters yesterday afternoon while raining slightly! Elemis shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in bedrooms and main shower areas-gorgeous. Wi-fi in rooms now too-great. Lime salt scrub was treatment-really nice but 25 mins flew by! Not long enough. Therapist very friendly and candle lit walk to treatment room wonderful. 9am time too early!!

The spa is ten years old now and some of it needs some attention. Chairs in relaxation room a little jaded.........magazine selection could be improved-"good housekeeping" not everybody's cup of tea!! They now do a hot breakfast, which is a huge improvement, but wasn't taken with veggie option of grilled halloumi......especially since it smelt like it had been cooked beside the bacon.......

Swimming pool area needs to be cleaned regularly-each hour? Not one person doing this all the time we were there.....at one point I went up to reception to request it was done. Shouldn't have to ask! Lots of grime and hair gathers naturally in course of day.....in changing areas too......essential to keep on top of this.

Small swimming pool-small spa area-please don't take in more guests than u can accommodate-not enough loungers for all in this area.

Restaurant-top class food. Delicious. Menu for evening same as lunch menu next day......need lighter choices and a variety please. Great smoothie menu, but had ran out of ingredients to make any when we were there. Ordered a cake on menu-told they no longer offer it.......so update menu!! Come on........we ordered choc fudge cake and got melt in the middle choc pud......not the same thing! Lovely, but not what we ordered. One waitress very rude!! When asked if soup came with bread, she barked at us that she could only carry so much at one time!! I guess we can all have a bad day?? Italian guy wonderful - so different! She could learn a lot by watching how he interacts with customers.

Overall, very enjoyable BUT things do seem to be slipping a little..........please retain high standards throughout as I love your little place!

Room Tip: Room 1 does not have a bath (disabled room). Room 3, 4, 5 very near hot tub. Couples order room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    65
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
126
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently visited Moddershall Oaks Spa for a relaxing pamper day with a friend.

On arrival there was a very friendly welcome and check in with a brief show-around, we were able to leave our bags in the changing rooms, and we then went to the restaurant for a welcome drink and to choose our lunch. We were presented with fluffy robes and towels, I have been to other Spa's and these were by far the nicest robes.

The pool area is nice, the pool is good temperature, and the hydrotherapy pool is great. As other reviewers have suggested, the area is not a huge area, however, there was never a shortage of loungers and the area was not over crowded. We especially enjoyed the heated recliners!

My Friend and I both had two treatments, and the therapists were a delight, did a great job making you feel at ease and explained what they were doing. We both commented how friendly they were, without being over friendly. It was also a nice touch that we could swap our robes and towels throughout the day.

Lunch in the restaurant was the absolute highlight - the food was delicious and living locally I will certainly be back just to use the restaurant. The service was very professional & our waiter (May have been Ivan?) was very good, as well as all the members of staff we came across in the restaurant.

Our Checkout was very quick, we asked to split the bill which was no problem and both ladies in the reception area were very attentive and pleasant.

The reason I have given 4 and not 5 is more to do with attention to detail, rather than any real negatives. This may seem an odd comment but the spa lacks a freshness- we felt that it almost needs an outsider to look at things with 'new eyes'! One criticism would be that some areas seemed a little tired, for example the pool area and the sauna. A few of the fixtures and fittings need a little attention, I appreciate that these are very petty niggles and don't really effect your overall enjoyment of the spa, but it is something you notice. When I went to the salon to have a treatment you have to walk through the gym area, and I noticed the resident guests had to also - this seemed a little odd and again probably a little petty of me. As mentioned previously the treatments were great and no real problem, but the salon was uncomfortably silent, as it was only myself and the beautician in the salon at the time- it would have been nice to have some background music playing. I really feel that this could be a 5 and have included this feedback so as to be very honest and balanced, I hope this comes across as constructive and not as a moan. We did have a fantastic time and don't want to put anyone off from booking here. The real asset at Moddersall are the Staff- everyone we had dealings with were lovely and attentive.

Highlights were:- Fantastic lunch in the restaurant, beautiful grounds, very friendly staff, free use of the Elemis products in the changing room.

Room Tip: Unable to comment as I only used the spa facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have been on two different spa days. Lovely setting and interior is lovely. Pictures of the brochure, certainly the original one, show padded sun loungers around the pool, but they are in fact bare plastic. Not enough of them, so you have to take it in turns if you want to sit round the pool. Lunch the first time was very basic. People were given very thin sliced sandwich ham, in extremely small quanities,and when seeing what was on offer were opting for the vegetarian lunch. As there was a limited no of these, staff had to question whether people were in fact vegetarian! There were free coffee machines, and paid coffee machines about. The free ones not drawn attention to. Treatments good, although as in all spas you expect to pay much more than at the local beauty salon. A potentially good experience spoilt by penny-pinching attitudes from management, on what was not a cheap experience. I pay a premium, and do not expect nit picking over coffee-prices or nasty sandwich ham at lunchtime!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnParsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked a special offer for my girlfriends birthday, it included evening meal, overnight stay, breakfast, full use of the gym facilities and a treatment.
The rooms and hotel were spotless staff were friendly and do was the food. The beauty treatment we has was a massage and was brilliant, highly recommend going here for a short break whatever the occasion

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.W.Leicestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

First visit and a treat for two. Lovely staff and the lunch was excellent. Very impressed. Great location and if your lucky and arrive on a sunny day I dont think it will be beaten for location. Good range of facilities and very relaxing environment. Spa staff were very accommodating and helpful. Good value for a day visit.Lovely to have free use of the Elemis products in the Spa.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RandR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I went on the evening spa package, which included a welcome drink, full use of the spa facilities, a 25 minute treatment and a two-course dinner. Generally, the day was lovely and very relaxing. Highlights were the location, facial, relaxation room, free Elemis products provided in the shower, and a really wonderful dinner (I was delighted that the restaurant had a great veggie menu). I did feel that certain areas required attention - the first bathrobe I was given was still wet from the washing machine and the replacement had broken beltloops and a hole in the pocket. I also noticed that some of the furniture was a little tired, and the pool area, though lovely, was quite small. However, overall this place is very good value and I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably-priced spa break.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingStar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A friend was using the function room for a birthday party, and as it so happened it was our wedding anniversary so I booked a room for the weekend which included a lunch and a breakfast the following day. The setting and surrounding were very nice, in a quiet piece of countryside. The facilities themselves were nice enough and the staff were very pleasant. However the pool area was distinctly lacking in enough loungers, so instead of being relaxed there was an air of the holiday pool with people reserving seats with towels while they disappeared elsewhere. This is not something that could really be fixed however as there was simply not enough floor space around the pool for anymore loungers.. (Again I refer you to the holiday pool feeling). The floor in our so called deluxe suite had warped floor boards which when you are shuffling round in the slippers provided gave a number of stubbed toes. And the hot tub outside was shared between all residents and could only hold 5 people, which meant spotting your chance to jump in...not adding to any feelings of relaxation. Finally the iron in the room was covered in burnt on residue, and only found this out when trying to "touch up" the collar of my dress shirt for the evenings party only to leave a large black smear. Overall its a pleasant enough stay but way over priced for the niggling problems which detracted from a so called relaxing spa weekend.

Room Tip: We had room number one.. with warped floor boards...avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nebukinezzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
4.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
7.3 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
17.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
12.8 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moddershall Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moddershall Oaks

Property: Moddershall Oaks
Address: Moddershall, Stone ST15 8TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Stone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Moddershall Oaks 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moddershall Oaks (spa breaks).Each of our 10 luxury suites have under-floor heating, soft seating, en-suite bathrooms with Elemis products, LCD TV & full SKY HD, DVD player, iPod docking station, a private deck area & exclusive access to the outdoor hot tub. As a guest of Moddershall Oaks you are entitled to take advantage of all our facilities from when you check in at 3pm on the arrival day. Our facilities include... Spa area including swimming pool, sauna, steam room, hydrotherapy pool, heated tiled loungers,experience shower and reflexology footbaths. Lockers and changing rooms with complimentary use of Elemis products,robes & towels provided throughout your visit.For the more active, a gymnasium including Technogym Wellness System. Luxurious relaxation lounge with books and magazines... Or why not borrow our portable DVD player to watch a film? More than 70 acres of woodland and parkland to explore... Borrow wellies and an umbrella if it's raining. Woodside tennis court with complimentary use of tennis equipment. Complimentary use of bicycles and cycling equipment if you want to explore the local area. Beauty treatment suite for pampering & party exclusive use. Award-winning lakeside bar & restaurant. Moddershall Oaks are currently celebrating the launch of their fantastic new Spa facilities which opened in June 2014. The new facilities include a lovely reception and deli area for casual dining, snacks and cocktails. They have a beautiful new relaxation lounge with comfy seating areas, a cosy open fire place and floor to ceiling windows, overlooking the new outdoor space. The outdoor area includes a bespoke outdoor vitality pool, equipped with water jets and a hydro back bench and an outdoor Kelo pinewood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Moddershall Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moddershall Oaks Hotel Stone
Moddershall Oaks Stone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing