We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was better than the service!”

Ovilash Indian Restaurant.
Ranked #24 of 58 Restaurants in Stone
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to the Ovilash. As part of your healthier diet we offer a variety of dishes for you to choose from. We specialise in Indian and Bangladeshi cuisine and take pride in serving only the leanest of meats and freshly selected vegetables. All dishes are freshly prepared when you place an order. We have a great variety of dishes to suit your diet and all our staff are aware of allergy issues and different diets so please don't hesitate to ask if you require any assistance. Each dish will have its own distinctive flavour and aroma which will titillate your taste buds like no other. We aim to satisfy with our service and food. We welcome your health criticism to improve our dishes. We will be looking forward to provide you with our excellent service, very soon.
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The food was better than the service!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My Mum booked to go to the Ovilash as part of her birthday celebrations. She had been there before and had always had an excellent meal, with great food and a good atmosphere. This time, she had booked for a party of 24 as a large number of friends and family wished to join in the celebrations.

The restaurant phoned to confirm numbers on the afternoon of our booking. When we arrived, it turned out that although a large table had been prepared for our party, there were too few spaces for us all to fit around it! And also not enough room to fit extra tables/chairs at the end. As a result of this, some of our party had to sit in another section of the restaurant, which was a shame, as they missed out on being with the rest of the party and did not get to sit with my Mum, who they had come to spend the evening with!

In addition to this, the waiting staff were a tad rude and unhelpful. They were not too keen to sort out the seating issue, and did not seem too bothered about making our meal overly pleasant. They did as we asked when we requested drinks etc, but didn't appear too happy about it!

Despite these issues, the food was excellent. I tried one of the house specials that I had not had before and it was lovely, really well prepared and very tasty. Other people in the party also said that their food was top notch too.

I would definitely return here for the food, as I really enjoyed the meal itself. However, I'd think twice about going as more than a couple, as I'm not sure they can (or want to) handle it! The seating/service issues were such a shame as the food was great. I'm sure that most reading it would probably not book as part of such a large party, but this was my experience on my visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank modbexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovilash36, Manager at Ovilash Indian Restaurant., responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your pleasant review. We aim to consistently improve our food and service so that we can keep you satisfied with each and every visit. Please visit our website to see our exciting new offers. I shall be looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

SaF

Ovilash (Stone)

P.s sorry about the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always excellent value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ovilash is a great choice for a reasonably priced, high quality Indian meal. Thursday and Sunday are bargain nights where they offer three courses for £10 and there's a lot of choice within the £10 offer. If you go on another evening you will find all the favourites from Indian restaurant menus across the country, but it's worth checking out some of their speciality North Indian and Bangladeshi meals which may not be familiar. They also offer takeaway with a 10% reduction on normal prices, but not delivery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aztecarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovilash36, Manager at Ovilash Indian Restaurant., responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your pleasant review. We aim to consistently improve our food and service so that we can keep you satisfied with each and every visit. Please visit our website to see our exciting new offers. I shall be looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

SaF

Ovilash (Stone)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If only they could deliver to Scotland!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant while we were staying down in Stone to go to Alton Towers the following day. What a find this was! Exceptional food and service. Best indian food I've ever had. I had one of the chefs speciality curries called a Murghi Keema, it was SO GOOD!! Full of flavour and spices, I hope I can get one just like it back home! The chicken pakora and dips you get along side the poppadoms are also lovely! We had a starter, two main meals with two rice and nann and two alcohol drinks and it was about £32 all in, which is excellent!!
Very sad that this place isn't nearer home :(

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam31782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best curry in stone”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Been a regular to this restaurant for years. The food is always to a good standard, and they will adapt dishes to suit your test buds. My a mile best curry house in stone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naomi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovilash36, Manager at Ovilash Indian Restaurant., responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your pleasant review. We aim to consistently improve our food and service so that we can keep you satisfied with each and every visit. Please visit our website to see our exciting new offers. I shall be looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

SaF

Ovilash (Stone)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening out”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a meal here on Friday and the food was lovely. The house wine was very reasonable and there was a nice atmosphere. It was extremely busy but we did not have to wait too long and it was hot and tasty. The only downside was that our table was by the door and the polite wIters insisted on holding the door open for guests leaving. Consequently, we had a blast of cold air each time someone left! So ask for a table away from the door.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChardonnaySheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovilash36, Manager at Ovilash Indian Restaurant., responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your pleasant review. We aim to consistently improve our food and service so that we can keep you satisfied with each and every visit. Please visit our website to see our exciting new offers. I shall be looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

SaF

Ovilash (Stone)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ovilash Indian Restaurant. also viewed

Stone, Staffordshire
Stone, Staffordshire
 
Stone, Worcestershire
 

Been to Ovilash Indian Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing