We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Colton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colton House
Ranked #1 of 9 Rugeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Stayed here with my husband but sadly only for one night. The room we stayed in (Paul's) was extremely comfortable with a wonderful bathroom and some nice personal touches. eg a welcome note from Ron & Gay using our first names. This shows how much they care for their guests and the service is brilliant.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BirtyClitheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience at Colton House on trip advisor. Many guest have described us as a hidden gem so we are pleased you feel the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 431 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

Having attended a family wedding in Yorkshire, decided to take advantage on our return journey of doing a little ancestoral research around Alrewas locality and chose Colton House on the basis of its presenation on the net. We were thrilled that it lived up to its description in every way . Beautifully situated in a quiet and picturesque countryside. Our stay was a pleasure from the warm welcome from Mr & Mrs Lawrence and the sensative way they have enhanced the historical building. Can't wait to go back next year.
Ken & Liz Bates
Storrington
West Sussex

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batesosber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Thank you Ken & Liz for such a wonderful review it is much appreciated and pleased you shared your views on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed for one night in a very pleasant, clean, well furnished and equipped four poster room. The booking was efficient and the hosts welcoming on arrival. Breakfast was reasonable, one could argue that the portions were small but I suspect that they are trying to avoid waste and we could have had more if we had asked.
Two very welcoming pubs in the village. The nearby Greyhound Inn was great for a drink and we had a good meal at Ye Old Dun Cow (ten minute walk)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thesilentwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Thank for your review it is great that guests share there experience on line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Very disappointed, extremely unproffessional. At the time of enquiry and booking the owners were very polite. We get marreid in Dec 08 and i called for an idea of prices and availabilty for our guests, we asked for permission to put them on our wedding invites. Two weeks later we called to reserve a room for our photographer for £45, they asked for a 50% desposit which we gave immediately via credit card. One week later i received an email (not phone call) to say that there had been a price increases and they would be taking an additional £5 off our card. I replied stating how disappointed i was and requested a phone call of which i didn't receive (i got another email). He said that they don't give discounts!!! I have always been led to believe that a deposit secures both price and reservation. It was only £5 but it wasn't the point, how many other people did they or would they be emailing to increase their profit. For £5 it cost them all of our business as we text all guests to not use this con man. Fortunately we were within 30 days and requested a refund, it was just lucky i spotted the email as i don't usually check it. I would NOT recommend these people. This is a legitimate review, i have kept emails.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank belle3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q-Moneypenny, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2008

What this lady has said is a complete fabrication. Yes the bride did ring to enquire about prices for each of our rooms and yes she then rang a couple of weeks later to book a room for her photographer, and also said that she expected some of her other guests to stay. But from this point on her story is just so untrue it is unbelievable.
On the same day as she rang, (21st September 2008) after taking the agreed deposit and as the invoice was being made up it was noticed that the wedding (20th December) was after our annual price increase. We immediately (not one week later as she says, and we have the dated credit card slip and email showing dates and times) emailed the bride with the invoice attached, apologising for our mistake and asking if she still wanted to go ahead with the booking or cancel and have a full refund. We never said we would take an additional £5 off the card as she says and never did. She emailed back the same day (we also have this email) saying that they had included us on their day guests invites quoting the costs we had given. She asked us to ring or email to resolve the matter; because we felt that we wanted to talk to her in person and discuss the matter we rang her mobile which was not answered at that time, so we left a message. We never sent another email as she says.

On Monday 6th October her fiancée rang, we offered to write to all their guests enclosing a price matrix of the rooms with a letter apologising for the error. We confirmed this to the bride in an email the same day. On the evening of the 6th October the bride to be rang and demanded they have the room at the lower price or they would put something bad on the Internet and tell their guests not to stay with us. She also said she had not actually told her guest the prices as she had said in her email of 21st September so any other bookings did not matter.
We felt starting a relationship with blackmail and with some one who changes their story was not going to be good and therefore agreed a cancellation and a full refund; the refund was done on 7th October.

She clearly does check her emails frequently as the reply to our email was immediate. Also if she was to read our conditions on our website she would see we give a full refund up to 14 days not the 30days she says and we gave her this date in our email dated 6th October. We also give a full refund if we relet the room.

She also makes comments about who the place is suitable for etc but to our knowledge she has never seen the place and we know for a fact she has never been in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Only stayed one night at Colton House in a Superior Plus room and were very impressed. Everything was as detailed on the website which is a real bonus these days.Unfortunately we didn't get to sample the food (the breakfast smelt wonderful) but definitely will on our next stay.A real jewel of a find.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GloucesterKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Thank you for your review we are sorry you missed breakfast it is so important to us, you must have it at your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

was blown away by the hospitality was fantastic me and my wife stayed there on our wedding night and it was superb lovely rooms and amazing tub to soak the pain in your feet which after a long day was much appreciated ron helped to work our bath which had a problem when he could have left it the food was great and they served it around us would recommend it to anyone and we are going there for our one year anniversary

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 98walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Yours sounds a very special review and we thank you for it and look forward to celebrating your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

First time in a guest house as my job takes me away every month and always stay in hotels.
Was very surprised by the Colton, very comfortable, no phones in the rooms which I did not like at first but then thought it a good idea. Owners bit eccentric but lovely.
They need to do something with the breakfast room though and the breakfast also, both very dull.
The room I stayed had a dreadful bathroom all green and awful, had a carpet which was very very badly stained.
The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in any hotel and the mattress was very clean as was the bedding and pillows. (I always check everything).

I certainly hope to return but to a very different bathroom and decent TV.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColtonHouse, Owner at Colton House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

This is a strange review. We did not know that we had a green bathroom so we went to check and found the wall is painted green above the tiles and we believe it suits the room but the sanitary ware is not green in the summer room bathroom just look on our web site and it has a tiled floor. If you check other reviews they all praise the look of the breakfast room and look at the breakfast menu on the web site it is more extensive than most hotels with fruit, yogurts,cereal, eggs royal, eggs benedict, kippers,Mackeral, haddock,smoked salmon with much locally produced, as well as a full cooked breakfast. All TV's are flat screen and the smallest 32 inch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
6.6 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
770 reviews
20.1 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
13.5 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton House

Address: Colton House Bellamour Way | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range: $126 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colton House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Colton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton House Rugeley, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing