We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous birthday meal.”

Bull and Spectacles
Ranked #19 of 64 Restaurants in Rugeley
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rugeley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday meal.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We brought my dad here for his 70th birthday, as a group of eight. Our meals consisted of 4 mixed grills (huge!) with various 'tweaks' due to fussy eaters and allergies, two braised lamb shank meals, a curry, and a rump steak with the trimmings. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals without exception. The staff were very attentive and genuinely enjoyed providing a fantastic service. I can honestly say that this was one of the best meals out that I have had in a very long while. Thank you, and well done - we shall be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glenjarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lazy lunch”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went for a ride out over Rugely and decided to go through the little villages round Colton and that way.Ended upon the Uttoxeter Road and although stands on its own as the management say "in the sticks" came across this little pub/restaurant.The view out the back was amazing deer mingling with goats roaming around. First time we had cold lunch absolutely lovely so decided to go back again for hot lunch.Couldnt fault a thing and so much on plates .We have recommended to friends and will certainly be back again ourselves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best time here ever”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have visted the Bull and Spectacles for many years and we have never reviewed it before, shame on us, but to be truthful we wanted to keep this little gem to ourselves but after last Sunday`s wonderful lunch we felt totally selfish.
It is a wonderful country pub with beams, wood burning fires, lovely views and is next to a reindeer farm but the most wonderful thing is their Sunday lunch.
The lamb is their speciality and we have not tasted anything better. Large portions, fresh vegatables (all served seperatly), home cooked roast potatoes and lovely gravy just like Grandma would make.
The staff are so friendly and accomodating and our host Andrea works tirelessly in the kitchen and for whom nothing is to much trouble, if she can do it she will.
We can only visit this lovely pub about 4 times a year as we live to far away but I can assure you if were closer it would be the highlight of our week.
We cannot recommend this establishment enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aphrodite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good country pub food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We often drop in and have never had a bad meal. Owners are friendly, good with kids. Straight-forward pub food - if you want haut cuisine go elsewhere but if you want pub food it is good - (though not very good). Packed Sunday lunch so book but as it is a big place and runs essentially just as a food pub so you can always get a table at other times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food but no atmosphere”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited the bull and specs for our anniversary meal and the food was amazing. Massive portions and beautifully cooked! No complaints in that department.

The only thing was we were the only people in the whole if the pub .... Except the flys that were pestering us the entire time! We had to cover our food with napkins whilst eating. We respect that it is situated in the countryside near a reindeer farm but surely something could be done to get rid of the flys and maybe a bit of music played in the background could help with the atmosphere?

I hope this was just a one off and we will try this pub again because the food was gorgeous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florencenightingale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull and Spectacles also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Abbots Bromley, Rugeley
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Bull and Spectacles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing