We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Sunday night”
Review of Ash Tree

Ash Tree
Ranked #53 of 64 Restaurants in Rugeley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Ash Tree is a Marston's two for one restaurant. We have a wide variety of meals on our special boards that change on a regular basis.
Armitage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet Sunday night”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I visited here in a party of 4 late on a sunday night. Having phoned up beforehand to check if they were still serving, we proceeded down with only 30minutes till the kitchen closed.

Upon arrival, we placed our order with only 5minutes to go. Although we arrived late and I expected a degree of rushed service, the meal was fantastic. Food was nice, although the onion ring platter tasted a little cheap. Our server was brilliant and even allowed us to order desserts a good 40 minutes after the kitchen was closed.

Good pub food at a fair 2-4-1 price. Would come again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jord_984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    97
    72
    71
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“you know what your getting..”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visit the ash tree regular as it is only up the road from me, food is basic and sometimes bland menu choice is the average pub grub offering although they do always have quite a few specials on.. Service is always good and there is always a smiling waitress décor is standard but what do you expect for the price you are paying you always get the cheaper meal free!! The beer garden is something that the pub can be proud of, plenty of space for children on the play park and beautiful view of the canal.. great for a quick cheap bite!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, good menu and good beer - but nothing outstanding”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

All round OK. Don't avoid it but don't go for anything special. Menu is extensive and the place really is OK. The beer is good but they don't do at all well with wine. Service is very patchy, can be good if they have enough staff on, who are usually pleasant one to one. The setting on the canal is interesting and the playground looks to keep the smaller children happy. I think the manager needs some training to help make things significantly better without having to do a great deal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful roast dinner”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having waited 40 minutes the roast dinner finally arrived. The beef was over done, the roast potatoes were burnt to a crisp, the vegetables were uneatable and the Garvey was simply water. Having asked the waitress for horseradish I got told that they only had mustard and shen she came back she had fotgotton my friends sacues. To be fair my friends meal was ok , but expensive for luke warm chips and scampi.

Helpful?
Thank Pippa488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"Two for One" deal makes it good value”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you go to The Ash Tree looking for typical Pub Food at reasonable prices then to a large extent you wont be disappointed. We visited with the entire clan for a family gathering so there were twelve of us in total - booking ahead is essential as the place was full.
The selection of food on offer is extensive with a wide range of "specials" in addition to the core menu and I would challenge anyone not to find something they would want to eat. The core prices are above average and at a level I would expect to pay at a gastro pub. However, when you take advantage of the 2 for 1 main meals offer the prices drop to a very reasonable level and there were no complaints with regard to portion sizes which were generous. We ordered a broad range of dishes including gammon, pies, cod, chicken & lasagne. All meals were served together, hot and were soon polished off.
The service was simple & efficient although at times lacked some attention meaning we needed to go over our order more than once. I am guessing the staff were very busy to the point of being rushed.
The place is clean and there is what looks like a good play area for the kids - this is a family pub so go expecting this and not a quiet romantic liaison!
All in all this place does very well what is suggests - hearty pub food at reasonable prices for all the family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pread26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ash Tree also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Ash Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing