We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rugeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Rugeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked a Sunday lunch there when we did our first visit to see our son at uni, so I could make sure he got a least one meal that wasnt pasta or a pot noodle

Great meal, lovely food (good veggie choice for us, especially the non fish eaters)

Also great value, especially compared to "Southern" prices we usual pay

Will come again when next in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Owner at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. Sundays are one of our busiest days and we try to offer good value for money so that familys can get together and enjoy freshly prepared food.

Chris Hine Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
53
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had read the previous reviews and can only say, in our opinion, the one adverse comment may say more about the contributor than the Inn. We found the welcome to be be very warm and friendly and all staff could not do enough to make sure every thing was to your satisfaction. Our room was spotless and we really enjoyed the excellent evening meal. The bill clearly indicated what you were being charged, and I suspect everyone checks their bills where ever they go. Mistakes can be made and I wouldnt want other readers to feel that The Old Dun Cow was deliberatley trying to overcharge as this was not the impression we gained from our experience. Go and try for yourselves ..you will not regret it. We visited the Memorial Arboretum well worth a trip. Thanks for a nice stay if we are in the area we will certainly come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breadoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Owner at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. We try so hard to please people and its so nice when people take the trouble to let us and the world know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

While i agree withg many aspects of other reviews i do not feel that the experience stand out within the local area and the rag and burntwood is most likely a better bet.I would also suggest you check your bill as mine was 182 instead of 118, only 60 out which is unacceptable on any budget. This was made worse by just an apology from the Staff as i feel such an error deserved more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny1Staffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Owner at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit to us.
However having had the chance to correspond with you i understand that your complaint was only about the mistake we made with your bill. You say that the food and service were good. I can only apologise to you again for the error that we made with your bill, unfortunately sometimes these things happen. My daughter in law who is a partner in the business was very apologetic to you on the evening in question and we are putting procedures in place to try to ensure these things are kept to a minimum.

Chris Hine Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Although the location may not be great the inn is lovely. It's clean, the service is fab and nothing seems to much trouble. The room was lovely, spacious and clean.The locals are friendly and clearly think highly of the inn and its staff. The food is good quality and highly recommended. We would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Manager at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments its nice to know our efforts are appreciated.. We are all delighted that you enjoyed you stay and the food and we hope to see you again in the future.

The Team at Ye Olde Dun Cow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed one night so we could visit the National Memorial Arboretum Ye old dun cow was a lucky find the welcome from the owners could not have been better.The room was clean and fresh with nice comfortable bed. The bar was nice and frendly the beer was very good thanks Georgina. we were booked in for an evening meal it was fantastic. The full English breakfast set us up for the day. Thanks Chris&Sue

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Manager at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks Chris and Sue,
It was a pleasure to look after you both. Glad you enjoyed it. Come back again soon

Georgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was on a walking holiday recently and had booked Ye olde dun cow because I could not get anywhere in Abbots Bromley to stay, as this was my destination for the day. The owners could not have been more helpful by picking me up there after I had dropped my bag and walked on. Room was lovely with crisp white bed linen and the food was delicious. Would recommend this hotel to everyone and hope I have an occasion to go back. I am so glad I couldn't find a room in Abbots Bromley.! Thanks to Georgina and Christian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheenasturgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Owner at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sheena.
Many thanks for you review and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the food at Ye Olde Dun Cow. We always try to go the extra mile for our customers.

Chris Hine Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

when we arrived we were greeted with friendly faces and smiles.. shown to the cutest twin room.. with lovely white fluffy duvets.. and everything we needed for our two night stay. when settled we ate in the family run restaurant where the food was out of this world.. delicious.. amazing meal. The two mornings we were there breakfast was included.. and what a breakfast...home cooked full English..(Sausages very delicious!!!). With a nice pot of tea and cold orange juice... Marvellous!
Surrounding little village is beautiful and we went for a nice walk. Fab nights sleep in very comfy beds. If I go and visit friends in the area again I will definitely stay at Ye Olde dun Cow.. homely friendly and lovely food and service. Thank you.. From Gem and Natalie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hinecjp, Owner at Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words it gives us great satisfaction to know that people enjoyed there stay with us. We always try to go the extra mile. Its good to know that you enjoyed the food also. Kristian the chef proprietor is a very talented chef and only uses the finest ingredients.
Chris Hine Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugeley
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rugeley Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Rugeley
Travelodge Rugeley
#2 of 3 in Rugeley
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#6 of 10 in Rugeley
9 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn

Property: Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn
Address: 73 High Street | Colton, Rugeley WS15 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Rugeley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rugeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at the excellently situated Dun-Cow Inn in Colton, Staffordshire. This charismatic inn is home to not only a bed & breakfast, but a charming old English pub with an idyllic beer garden. Surrounded by green countryside, this inn boasts log fires and a relaxing atmosphere, where the comfort of the guests is the main concern. Whether you are visiting nearby Alton Towers or would enjoy walking in the beautiful Cannock Chase, Ye Olde Dun-Cow Inn offers a delightful atmosphere and the best in Staffordshire hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Dun Cow Hotel Rugeley
Ye Olde Dun Cow Inn Rugeley, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing