We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rolleston on Dove
Post
Inbox
Search

“Excellent Lunch - Thank you”
Review of The Jinnie

The Jinnie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Jinnie Inn is a traditional village pub located in Rolleston on Dove, near Burton on Trent, Staffordshire. Our comfortable bar area features low timber beamed ceilings and a fantastic open fire in the chilly winter months. We pride ourselves in preparing all our dishes fresh on the premises. We never buy in 'ready meals' and therefore always happy to cook dishes to your individual taste where ever possible. At the bar you'll find our cask mark accredited ales along with a fine selection of wines. During the summer months you can relax in our fabulous beer garden and enjoy a taste of italy with our authentic wood fired italian pizza oven. To make a reservation give us a ring or pop in to see one of our friendly members of staff.​
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely impromtu lunch for 4 on Monday 21st. Sally and the team made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. One of our group has her own restaurant in Bury St. Edmunds and commented 'this chef can cook'.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DavidBPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jinnie, Owner at The Jinnie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi David,

Thank you for the 5 stars and kind words. We're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your meal. I will pass your comments on to all concerned.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon @ The Jinnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

Once the locals had got over strangers walking into there bar. (“This is a local shop, for local people, there's nothing for you here!”)

We found the pub very clean and cosy.

The bar staff was friendly and polite and the food was great and would definitely recommend a trip for lunch or dinner in the restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jinnie, Owner at The Jinnie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi,
Thanks for your review and 4 stars. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
We're glad you enjoyed your meal and liked The Jinnie.
We have lots of new visitors every week and everyone is welcome. It's unfortunate that you felt the way you did on arrival, as this is very unusual and I have to assume it was just a 'one off' as it is not a comment we have had before.
We hope to see you again soon, and once again thanks for the review.
Kind regards,
Simon @ The Jinnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch at the Jinnie earlier in the year which was excellent so decided to book for Xmas Day lunch. Booking was easy and preordered from a great selection of starters, mains and desserts.
Excellent communication with the Jinnie team and they helped when I needed to make some last minute changes accommodating us kindly.
We arrived early on Christmas Day to a busy pub with a fantastic atmosphere. We had a few pre drinks and found a cosy table to sit at.
We were then shown to lovely table in window for our Christmas Day feast on the 2nd sitting.
A huge thank for a great Christmas Day with Simon Sally and the team. The Xmas lunch was absolutely delicious. The service was attentive and not too fast or too slow. Just right. We all had such a fabulous time. We highly recommend The Jinnie and without doubt would eat again any day or Xmas Day.
Please pass on our thanks to everyone.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank rachelhB659SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jinnie, Owner at The Jinnie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for the great review and 5 stars!
We're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your visit on Christmas Day.
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon @ The Jinnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

I just wanted to say the NYE party at the Jinnie was a credit to the team that work and run it . The atmosphere was amazing, the entertainment superb, the food was fantastic and the staff were outstanding. Overall a truly memorable night. Thank you to the amazing Jinnie people

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jinnie, Owner at The Jinnie, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Hi Joe,

Thanks for the great review and 5 stars!

We're really glad that you and your guests had a good time and enjoyed the evening.

Everyone worked very hard and produced a great evening. One of my highlights was the Bagpipes at midnight, which I thought were amazing and something we will definitely do again!

We look forward to seeing you soon and thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind regards,

Simon @ The Jinnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

We live locally and go here reasonably frequently. Despite a limited menu (especially starters) the food is excellent quality and the staff are just lovely. It’s a nice cosy atmosphere and it feels homely. Somewhere you want to meet with friends for a nice tasty lunch!

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank U4570LFsaraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jinnie, Owner at The Jinnie, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Hi,

Thanks for the 5 star review! We're glad you like The Jinnie and appreciate you taking the time to leave a rating and comments. We have recently starting adding more items to our daily specials board in order to enlarge the menu.

We will also revise our menu in due course, in order to add additional dishes.

Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,

Simon @ The Jinnie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jinnie also viewed

Rolleston on Dove, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Jinnie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing