We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review only - did not stay in the hotel area”
Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Restaurant review only - did not stay in the hotel area”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this at the time of eating. We are Visiting for a Sunday lunch for my grandmothers birthday. Upon arrival it was rather busy (3 large parties including ourselves). We sat down at 2:20pm and we finally started to recieve our starters at bang on 3:20pm! An hour from sitting down to getting our starters is unacceptable. We are being served by a young Eastern European girl who, so far, has failed to crack a smile which is bringing the mood down a bit. Once the starters came out, all but the soups had arrived and it took another ten minutes for those to come out! The main roast dinners came out fairly quickly which was better but we were quickly disappointed again. The meat was fine. But that's it. The Yorkshire was huge but burnt, I had to ask for gravy as the trickle I had been provided with was just depressing, my stuffing ball was crispy on the outside and cold mush on the inside, the veg on the table was cold and had obviously been sat for a while and the vegetarians option was covered with iceberg lettuce leaves which didn't quite constitute the advertised "side salad". Also watch out for your drinks. We had small Pepsi glasses of lemonade/Pepsi. These are classed as large and charged £2.50 each. Even while I write this the waitress still hasn't smiled either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keen_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
12
34
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, null, Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of September. We were made extremely welcome by the owners and all the staff, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a double en-suite room which was in a converted old cottage. Very quaint, comfortable and quiet.
There is plenty of parking for large parties.
Also there are several menus all of which are varied and reasonably priced (if it's not on the menu ask the chef anyway, if he can do it he will).
I would recommend anybody to stay here if they want reasonably priced quality, friendly, comfortable accommodation.
It's a bit of country paradise with stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes things are "Just meant to be". Out walking and fancied a pint so we called in at The Unicorn ( the other pub in the village wasn't open).
WOW, this is a gem!!! Looked at the menu and they did two courses for £7.95. We weren't going to eat but this sounded so good, although we did think that the potions would be small. How wrong could we be?
Excellent food, excellent service, amazing price. Think our walks may end somewhere near here on a regular basis.
HIGhLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Buxton108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights and both rooms we had were unclean. I had to clean cobwebs from under the beds and the shower head was filthy.The rooms smelled of smoke and the towels smelled unclean too. On a positive the beds were reasonably comfy and the breakfast was good quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Came after work for some wine and food! Wasnt disappointed! Greeted by two gorgeous,helpful & friendly bar staff. We had chilli and garlic bread and cheesy chips off the bar menu and it was lovely. The decor is modern and you can also sit outside..The wine was beautiful too! Will definitely come back again soon! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swadlincote
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having phoned on Sun 21 July to enquire if we could have breakfast there on Tues 23 July about 10am we were assured that would be fine,no problem
We duly turned up on Tues morning to find both doors to the building locked and no sign of anyone inside.
Despite knocking for several minutes no one appeared,where was everyone?
We had no alternative but to go elsewhere for our breakfast but the whole experience was made somewhat worse by the fact that there was a large sign on the footpath outside the pub saying breakfast available every day.!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 2krackpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Unicorn - we were in the rooms at the back and ours was really comfortable; a very peaceful nights rest and we really couldn't fault the stay. Great value and a great breakfast!!
A bit of a let down was the pub itself...it was a bit soulless and the decor just doesn't seem right to me - not what I expected and this is why I can't give a rating of 5. However, if it is a restful night you're looking for, definitely give this place a go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wman89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.4 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.5 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
455 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Inn Newton Solney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing