We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room, pub ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely room, pub ok.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at the Unicorn - we were in the rooms at the back and ours was really comfortable; a very peaceful nights rest and we really couldn't fault the stay. Great value and a great breakfast!!
A bit of a let down was the pub itself...it was a bit soulless and the decor just doesn't seem right to me - not what I expected and this is why I can't give a rating of 5. However, if it is a restful night you're looking for, definitely give this place a go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wman89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    6
    10
    8
See reviews for
12
32
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had been planning to go to The Unicorn since it had been taken over, but work etc had got in the way. However, we were able to go last week and it was a thoroughly enjoyable dinner.
Good pub classics on the menu and a realy good atmosphere in the bar with plenty of locals enjoying a pint or three of Bass.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Big thankyou to John and his staff for a great weekend. The boys loved your hospitality, good food and good beer...shame about the Rugby, but the two welsh contingent seemed happy!!!!. Breakfast excellent and no pressuer or rush. Sorry for the problems Friday night.....unbelievable in such a idylic little hamlet. I thinK pegasus21 stayed during the chageover of landlord, but John has a good business and is getting the pub back to its former glory...the best pub in Newton.
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff and atmosphere and good reasonably priced food.clean rooms well equipped and looking forward to returning.a handy location in an interesting area.loved the black pudding for breakfast and no pressure on vacating when leaving

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Sadly not the place it used to be but much better than Newton park down the road. It use robe owner managed now I think it's a small chain but they did a reasonable job overall. The pub has lost it's atmosphere but the rooms are good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently visited the Unicorn Newton Solney for New Years EVE 2012. We have previously visited the resturant/bar and had an exceptional experience, we were looking forward to the meal and atmosphere.However we were very sadly disappointed the menu has become typical bar food (a long way from the bistro balanced menu previously offered). Small things like the wine menu has been reduced to red or white...???? The bar was empty and the chef had to notify the waiter to even acknowledge we needed a drink on arrival. The meal itself was drab, boring and tasteless!!!

We left feeling highly disappointed at then having to pay the previous menu prices and having to queue quite a while for the priviledge ... (whilst the bar staff chatted randomly amongst themselves????)

We will NOT be revisiting the Unicorn any time soon... bring back old management PLEASE!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegasus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

stayed here for the weekend and it was very nice. Lovely little village, lovely little pub. We stayed in the cottage, we had rooms 5 and 6 (2 couples) our room, room 6 was huge, double bed, sofa bed and a pull out single bed so there is plenty of room for a family. The room was very clean and the bed comfy, Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We did not have an evening meal here but the menu looked great. The place has just been taken over by new management and she is lovely. Our first night was a little noisy as a staff party was going on but by 12.30 all had quietened (and we were assured that it was a one off). only criticism is that the smoking area for the pub is right next door to the cottage which causes an issue for non smokers to walk past and again the noise on the first night was a bit of an issue.

Room Tip: the rooms on the cottage are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.4 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.5 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
430 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Inn Newton Solney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing