We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend offer Unicorn Inn”
Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend offer Unicorn Inn”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very good value on the 2 for the price of 1 deal, room pleasant ,breakfast good quality and well cooked, pub steak meal great value. and a good choice of bar meals. nice helpful staff. In typical english village next to the old forge. On the main road but no problem as double glazed. good free car parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    7
    11
    8
See reviews for
12
33
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms are dirty. This is a fact. The bathroom had a blind that was hanging off it runners. The bedroom had cobwebs from the light fittings over the bed, that were themselves thick with dust. The carpet had not seen a vacuum prior to my arrival; it also gave off a smell of something rather unpleasant in places.

The sheets were clean though, as were the towels; although anything less than clean in these two departments and it’s leaving time.

Whilst I accept that it’s not the Ritz and nor is the price, there can never be any excuse for poor hygiene.

Food in the pub is acceptable and the beer fresh and well kept. A decent breakfast is served in the pub also.

Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnightGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed along with 4 other couple when attending a wedding at a local golf course. Arrived to a warm welcome and at what is a very well appointed country inn. Our room (6) was excellent and the staff were friendly throughout. Has a good breakfast to finish a very enjoyable stay. Superb value at £60.00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed her for two nights in room 6 what a delight it was lovely friendly pub in quiet village our room was clean and large which i think would take a king size bed as it was only a double and my partner is 6ft 6 but we snuggled up lol considering it in a small country village place it was busy each night so it must be good the food was outstanding I would stay again anytime thank Paul Becky and Rob the chef x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Don't stop in the other hotel in this village. You will be disappointed and pay for it.
This is a great pub with lovely food and all you need for a night away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend which was lovely. The food is great if not a little expensive as is the beer/wine but the staff make up for it. They were amazing. The room we had was very spacious and comfortable although could have used at least 4 more pillows for the bed and the mattress left something to be desired. All in all had a good weekend because it was what we made of it but wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Take extra pillows! Definitely book a table for your meals, the pub is quite small and gets very bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prettylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have eaten here on several occasions over the last year, most recently last december and it is always very good. The menu is really varied and they have special theme nights and are reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
0.4 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.5 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
419 reviews
4.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: Repton Road, Newton Solney DE15 0SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Inn Newton Solney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing