We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Very Average Stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Letchwoth Hall Mercure, it was interesting to stay at this sister hotel. The building is a nice regency building, but nothing is done to enhance its features. It lacks atmosphere and at the height of a good summer the gardens had aneglected feel to them. The room was comfortable and clean, but overhot on the hottest day of the year. We dined in the hotel the first night, the food was ok but lacked any wow factor and was quite pricey for what was a bit middle of the road. Two of the staff, Emma on reception when we arrived and Richard in charge of dining on the first night and generally around were exceptional . The rest were ok but breakfast on the second day was disappointing...although the hotel was less than half full, there was no fresh fruit available40 mins before the end of service, and the buffet lacked bread, yoghurt milk on request. This was in part down to the staff member who gave a clear impression he would rather be elsewhere and in fact started to clear the buffet away 20 mins before the end of service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are apparently always hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was pleased to read that you found Emma on Reception and Richard in the Restaurant exceptional, they will take great encouragement from your comments. As a Grade 2 listed building we are unable to fit AC, which would make the rooms more comfortable on hot days, however, upon request we are always happy to supply fans to rooms. We have taken onboard from comments regarding service issues, without which we cannot improve.
Thank you once again for your feedback which is invaluable in helping us improve our service standards.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    107
    106
    47
    29
See reviews for
76
119
8
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A very nice hotel with very helpful staff especially Louise on reception who could not do enough for us. The rooms in the new part of the hotel are larger and more comfortable than the old part. The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast delicious and freshly cooked for you. The village is lovely so do have a stroll to the river whilst you are there and the locals in the village pub were great fun.

Room Tip: Choose the new part of the hotel - Room 203 has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was pleased to read that you found the staff very helpful especially Louise and I will pass your comments onto all the team. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Price :

managed to get pre-paid B&B rate for about £90 which is fairly decent value.

Accommodation :

It's a fairly tired ex-lord of the manor gaff, that is quite dark in decor, and is desperately needing significant remedial work to the interior and exterior. (rotten window frames, doors that won't shut properly.) Gardens are very pleasant.

Rooms advertised as A/C, not in ours. Standard double, very compact, with a micro bathroom and toilet, beds and pillows not bad.

Staff :

reception staff very good, although on departure I wasn't asked "if everything had been alright during our stay".

Waitress at dinner didn't have any sort of grasp of English, and when we asked for the Pork she responded with a loud "NO NO NO NO", with finger wagging. Would somebody please explain to her that the response is "I'm sorry sir but the Pork is off tonight".

Young girl on breakfast very pleasant.

Food :

Dinner was of generally good quality food, but served on cold plates, and the fillet whilst tasty was also nearly cold. Again, our waitress declined to ask if everything was okay, and noisily set about clanging the breakfast table settings into place at about nine o'clock.

Breakfast was good, eggs benedict very tasty.

So overall, no big issues, but I probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. As a grade 2 listed we are unable to fit AC and I am unaware of this being advertised anywhere. We have taken on board your comments regarding the service issues and will be retraining the team to improve these areas. Thank you once again for your feedback which is invaluable in helping us improve our service standards.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with work so its location was perfectly placed for my business needs.

The room I was given was on the very top floor of the hotel - there is no lift however I was offered help with my luggage.

The rooms while practical are a little on the tired side and would benefit from an update. We used the bar and restaurant on two occasions, food was ok, not overpriced but just seemed to lack some flavour.

Wifi in the hotel is ok but not blisteringly fast - you can just about hold a FaceTime conversation. The hotel offers free wifi which you have to log into each day and is quite a struggle to get connected to - they also offer a 'fast service' but you are expected to pay for this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry you had some trouble with our Wifi connection, I have asked our IT department to look into this. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we booked 2 rooms while visiting a local festival.
we were really pleased to have comfortable beds and quiet rooms.
the hotel staff are certainly friendly , and the wedding that took place didnt disturb us at all.
the gardens are beautifully maintained and the main areas well looked after.
the rooms were perhaps a little ageing but within that good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and you were not disturb by the wedding. I will pass on your comments to the team as they take encouragement from hearing such feedback. We hope it won't be too long before we welcome you back to the Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
415 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
477 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Property: Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing