We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent setting for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Invited to a friends wedding This was an excellent choice for this all day ceremony, grounds and hotel create a relaxed and happy atmosphere. Very professional and friendly staff, wedding breakfast and evening buffet very good .Stayed overnight, bedroom clean and comfortable.
Looking forward to another wedding at this hotel, any offers !!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey-Cope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. The team here take great encouragement from such reviews. If no one is forthcoming with another wedding invite why not come for a weekend break as there is lots to do in the area - the National Brewery Centre, Alton Towers, and much more! Thank you again for this great review and we hope it is not too long before you return.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 426 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wanted to say what a wonderful lunch we had today at the Newton Park. ALL staff very plesant and what a great chef he/she must be. The hotel is very clean & friendly would highly recommend a stay at the hotel or just a nice meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMMYDOGBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. I will ensure all the team read your comments as they take great encouragement hearing such reviews as they strive to make everyone's experience at the Hotel a good one. I hope it won't be long before you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our daughters wedding at this venue was fab, everyone enjoyed themselves, setting was beautiful with lovely weather. All staff were very attentive and Tom the toastmaster was so helpful. Could not fault the food, it was an amazing day, thank you Newton Park.

The Mitchell family

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you to the Mitchell family for taking the time and trouble to post this review. The team at the Newton Park are pleased to hear that you had a good day and hope it is not too long before they get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely wedding venue and hotel in beautiful surroundings. Lovely interior with oak panelling, stained glass windows with a very relaxed atmosphere.. The staff were attentive, polite and happy. Cannot fault the customer service or anything really. Food and drink on the expensive side but the food was certainly worth it. Overall good price for the comfortable room. Our room being at the back and was very quiet. The wedding was very well organised and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Definitely hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazzuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post this fantastic review. I have passed your feedback on to the team who will take great encouragement from this. I hope it is not too long before we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

my brother and his fiancee choose Newton park hotel as their wedding venue we as some of the wedding party stopped the night before, when we got there the hotel was in full swing with a other party and was very very full!! Our receptionist Louise was great nothing was too much trouble even though she was busy we didnt feel rushed and from the start was made to feel veery welcome!! we had a family deluxe suite and it didnt disapoint the beds were clean and comfortable everything was luvly. we got up the next moring and went for breakfast tammy (now sis in law) her mom and cousin was there we allwanted to sit together the waiting on staff moved tables so that could happen which was very thoughtful at breakfast there was eveerything you could want different fruit juices cereals danish pastries fresh and dried fruits with all different cooked breakfasts we could not fault this. i had asked at reception as we was having our daughters friend stopping in our room as he was part of the wedding but there wasnt a bed we got back up to the room after breakfast and there was a bed in there made up thank you louise for sorting this everything was great getting ready the bride to be was in the garden room so much space reception would phone and let us know when flowers, cake had arrived nothing was too much trouble.The wedding itself was fantastic Tom the toast master was wonderful so professional even down to a drink of water for the bride before the ceremony the grounds for the photos was amazing stunningly beautiful!! the food was excellent for the wedding breakfast i had the pate pork and lemon tart the presentation was second to none and just a picture on a plate this hotel didnt just make my brother and new wifes big day special but for all our friends and families it was simply amazing!! Louise on reception tom the toast master everyone that i cant name thank you we all cant wait to come back!! NEWTON PARK HOTEL is fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljbinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review, it is much appreciated by all the team who take great encouragement from such lovely compliments. I have passed on your thanks to Louise and Tom in particular and have shared your review with the whole team. I hope it will not be too long before we welcome you back to the Mercure Newton Park Hotel.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff even though when we arrived a wedding was taking place we were still given a warm welcome. Room was clean and well presented as was the bathroom with all the little touches that you get from mercure. When we asked the receptionist for local walks she printed some out for us which we thought was a nice touch. Breakfast was the usual standard but was suprised no one either showed us to a table or had a sign up saying to pick a table and a waiter/ waitress would be with you only a small thing but saves you standing around wondering what to do. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank blondie605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I was glad to hear you found the staff very friendly and efficient and received a warm welcome. I have passed your comments on regarding breakfast to my Food & Beverage Manager as this needs to be addressed. Thank you once again for this positive feedback which I will share with the team and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely
Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Helpful friendly staff, lovely setting but hotel room wasn't great. Booked via laterooms didn't expect anything palatial for the price but the room was tiny for two people (think its normally a single-ie one set of towels etc), shower was poor, most of room was clean (bed, shower etc) but some parts were quite dirty ie bathroom door. Clearly the main business is weddings and our tiny room was above the DJ. There seemed to be no sound insulation at all-conversations could be heard (including a lot of arguments!) well into the early hours. The hotel cant do anything about that but placing other guests away from the wedding would have been a considerate approach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on tripadvisor. I must apologise that you were given a room over the wedding. We do endeavour to put non wedding guests away from the wedding as much as possible; however, when the hotel is fully booked it can be a problem to achieve it fully. I am sorry that this impacted your stay. I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and I will pass this onto them as they take great encouragement from such comments.
Yours sincerely

Moira Banks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#2 of 2 in Newton Solney
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range: $57 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing