We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had our wedding here on 5th November. It was perfect. The staff especially Nigel were brilliant. Tom the Toastmaster ensured that the day went smoothly & without a hitch. Everyone said was a fantastic day they had. I can see why weddings are a big hit here so be sure to check there's not a wedding on if you are wanting a quite drink in a relaxing bar!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a executive suite. The Garden room is perfect for the bride to be :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Cat S,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post such a wonderful review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.Weddings are a big part of our business especially at the weeknds and I have shared your positive comments with all relevant staff whom I know will take a great deal of encouragement and inspiration from your feedback.
Customer feedback is very important to us as we continue in our search for excellence and to provide outstanding hospitality to our customers.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked a nights stay at the Newton Park Hotel but had reservations after reading previous visitors comment.
We turned up and upgraded our room to the executive suite The Staffordshire Suite. Our welcome and service was great and general décor very good the great sweeping staircase and the stain glass window at the top are AWESOME.
Our suite had no mould or dirt it was clean and has fabulous view of the rear ornamental garden. Our bed was very comfortable except needed an extra pillow but not a problem. The bathroom size a little small awkward to use but no problem as we have no mobility restrictions.
This Hotel is great and is really worth the price we paid our cooked breakfast was just perfect in portion and did not leave us over full for the day ahead.
During our visit we heard about a wedding which was supposed to be on but were cancelled as the Bride had a health issue which suspended the wedding. The hotel offered to alter the date at short notice and no additional charge. (What Exceptional Service.)

Room Tip: Upgrade to get the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Darren H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
My team and I are glad to read that we provided "Tip Top Service" during your stay.This is very much fundmental to our business am I glad that you experienced our outstanding levels of hospitality.We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our daughter and son-in-law chose The Newton Park for their wedding ceremony,breakfast and evening reception on the 15th October 2011.They could not have chosen better,we had a wonderful day.The venue,accommodation and staff were perfect at every level,from the initial planning,to the moment we arrived to the time we left on Monday morning.The staff were efficient and unobtrusive,especially helpful were Nigel,the Manager,Jenny the Wedding Co-ordinator,and Tom Reddy the toast master who was such an assett to have there on the day,quietly organising and helping,so that we did not have to worry about anything.The food was divine and cooked to perfection,and the accommodation was very comfortable and clean for the guests staying at the hotel.Thinking back and after speaking to guests afterwards there is no aspect we would have changed.Its been great on such an important occassion to get the service from the hotel and day you very much hope for.If you are looking for a wedding venue I would highly recommend the Newton Park based on our experience......its a beautiful venue too and as we had fantastic weather we have some great pictures of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens at the rear are good.If you want a quieter room,check if there is a we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Bo1,

Thank you for posting such nice feedback on Tripadvisor about how much you enjoyed your daughters wedding here at our hotel.My team and I read Tripadvisor on a daily basis and it is great to read that all your family and guests experienced our high levels of hospitality and guest care.As a hospitality business we go to extra lengths to ensure that all our guests leave us with fond memories of our hotel from the moment of arrival all the way to departure.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had our wedding at the Newton Park on Saturday 8th October. It was amazing. It's a wonderful venue, stunning hotel and beautiful grounds. The staff worked so hard. The Wedding co-ordinaters jenny and michelle were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Nigel the restaurant manager was always on hand to make sure every ran smoothly - even down to putting rose petals on our bed, and making sure I had a glass of water as soon as I arrived. Tom the MC - again amazing! A really lovely man and he ran the day with military precision, my husband & I didn't have to worry about anything. All in all a fantastic day, fantastic day, and a fantastic venue. Don't beleive any of the negative comments you read about this place. It is fully character and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear little frank,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that your wedding day was "Fantastic" and that my team went that bit furter to make your day extra special. This is what we do day in day out and it is always encouraging when our guests tell us how good they enjoyed their experience of our hotel.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I recently attended a wedding and reception at this hotel and had an excellent time.The room was laid out very nicely over looking the large lawned garden.The registrar did a very good job of the ceremony and made every one feel at ease. All the food that was served was of a high standard and cooked to perfection.The toast master and staff were very friendly and also did a good job. I Can certainly recommend it for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear eric t,

Thank you for submitting your positive review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.
My team and I are so glad to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and that you can recommend our hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed 2 nights - Friday and Saturday. The hotel has great potential - lovely building in a great location. It does, however, require a little updating. Our room was fine, but the breakfast room, whilst a beautiful room, is in need of decoration. Both nights there were wedding receptions being held in the hotel, which may be an issue for some guests. It wasn't a problem for us, but it does dominate the hotel somewhat, so maybe best to check if you think this may be a problem. The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly the night porter who went out of his way to get information on local firework displays for us, and printed off several pages of details. The breakfast was good - we didn't come down until 11am, and whilst it wasn't quite cooked to order, it certainly hadn't been kept warm since 7am! Again, friendly, helpful staff. Like one of the other commentors, we did hear the bottles being tipped into the recycling bins in the morning, but to be honest I think to complain about this is a bit much. The hotel has to function, and the previous night's clearing up has to be done ready for the next day. In any case, 9 o'clock is not exactly the crack of dawn, and it was certainly much later than that on the Sunday morning. Overall, a nice hotel rather than an excellent hotel, but we only paid £50 for the Friday night (the Saturday night was a freebie from a raffle prize) so pretty good value, I reckon. Of course, they do make a bit of it up with the bar prices, but that's the same in any hotel these days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Lol Harrison,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to record your feedback on Tripadvisor.
As you correctly state, we are a busy wedding venue at weekends and I am glad to read that you found the hotel "lovely setting,friendly helpful staff".

I have noted your constructive comments in relation to the decor and we shall certainly bear these in mind during our next refurbishment.

Kind regards

Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The staff were great they went out of they way for us every day they even got me wheat free bread for my breakfast cant fault them at all food great room always well looked after love to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerBurton, General Manager at Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2011

Dear Melanie A,

Thank you for posting such a beautiful review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read that my team went that bit further to enhance your experience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Tom Keaveny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Solney
1.8 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
441 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
522 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
515 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park

Address: Newton Solney DE15 0SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newton Solney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Solney
Price Range: $61 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newton Park Hotel is an elegant 4 star Country House Hotel set on 8 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens on the edge of Burton - Upon - Trent and close to the main cities of Derby & Nottingham. The hotel is the perfect location for business or pleasure and offers a tranquil and serene setting in the conservation village of Newton Solney. The hotel is staffed 24 hours by a team of professionals whose mission is to provide outstanding levels of hospitality to our customers. Rest assured for whatever reason you choose to visit,we guarantee a warm and friendly welcome for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mecure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Hotel Newton Solney
Ramada Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Ramada
Ramada Hotel Newton Park
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park Newton Solney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing