We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Celebrating family birthdays.”

Review of Overton Bank House

Overton Bank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overton Bank House
Dining Room - seats 16 Back Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Overton Bank House
Dining Room - seats 16
Back Sitting Room
Wedgwood Room
Kitchen
Garden
Front Sitting Room
Back Sitting Room - this room has big flat sreen TV, DVD/BlueRay player and Surround Sound
The Balcony Room
Log burning fire
Kitchen
India room
China room
En suite bathroom in Family Suite
Family Suite - parents room
Garden
Garden
Garden
Back sitting room
Family Suite - children's room
Aztec Room
4 Poster Room
Patio Area
Garden with Fire Pit
Part of Garden
Hot Tub available - but you need to hire in advance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PatrickRo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Celebrating family birthdays.”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Overton Bank House was the perfect venue for our weekend away.
We were celebrating several birthdays and anniversaries and were a family group of 14.

The house is furnished to a very high standard.
Also lots of tips and information about the area.
The kids loved the dressing up box!!

Kitchen fully equipped and more than adequate to meet the needs of a large party.
The additional "outhouse" with its beer/wine fridge was very useful.
The rear garden is absolutely lovely.

We would definitely recommend staying at OBH.
Also the booking process is very straight forward.
Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thanks you for your fabulous review. We're so pleased to hear that the whole family had a great time celebrating all your special occasions - and that you feel the house had everything you needed. Thanks again and for taking the time to leave this review - it's much appreciated !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for a friends get-together.”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Overton Bank house and it didn't let us down. The kids loved playing around the house and especially with the dressing up box! The house was cosy and warm all weekend (much appreciated after a couple of snowy walks). The kitchen is so well equipped and we love being able to sit everyone around one table for Sunday lunch.
This a great house for a family or friends get-together and hopefully we'll be back in 2018.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks for your lovely comments and we'll hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to the house next year. It's very gratifying to have guests coming back for 2nd or even 3rd visits! Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCH_09
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our second stay at OBH, that won't be our last!”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Trying to find a venue that caters for an extended (14) family Christmas including grandparents and 6 kids under 8, is not easy, but Overton Bank House does it with ease, and comfort. There is plenty of sitting area space, a wonderful dining area that genuinely can accommodate large numbers, a back garden that is perfect to let the kids out for a play, and bedrooms that allow you to be very comfortable and with enough separation that you don't feel like one sleepless child will cause the whole household to have a bad night!

The whole OBH experience is just easy: from the booking right through until departure, everything is thought of and taken care of, and any query is only a phone call / email away and promptly answered.

The owners are very kind and thoughtful and instead of the minimum, they really understand setting up a house like this for their guests. It would seem that they have approached preparing the house in a "now what would we want/need/have to have, if we were staying here a week" attitude and it shows: there are plenty of towels, blankets, appliances are modern and in excellent condition, and WiFi is easy to use and strong throughout the property.

The actual house is perfect and really does allow for self catering for large parties / families: we cooked Christmas dinner for 14 comfortably with enough pots, plates, glasses and cutlery to spare. And their Welcome Hamper is a personal and generous touch that just makes it feel like you are coming home.

You could say that the accommodation is excellent, the level of attention to detail is of a very high standard and it would be true. But, I would sum up OBH as "a truly wonderful place to stay that just works, with ease." It is our second stay and we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Thanks for your extensive review. We know that the Christmas week is a special one for families and it thrills us that you had such a good week. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrislavi...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect rental for a party of friends”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Group of 16, 8 adults and 8 children went here for a weekend. It is the most beautiful accommodation. But more than that the owners have thought of everything. Every little convenience to make your stay a home from home. A basket of basics and treats awaited us on arrival. Including pumpkins, as it was halloween. Every kitchen utensil and appliance is available. Even disposable bbqs to use under the outdoor canopy.
the place was spotlessly clean and the linen and towels fresh and laundered. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and well done to the owners for the time and effort and care they put into their guests enjoyment

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you for your fabulous review. We really strive to keep the property in tip top condition and to ensure that guests have a comfortable stay. So thanks again, much appreciated !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S
1 review
“Fantastic House & Gardens”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We planned a surprise 60th Birthday getaway for my husband with all the family plus 2 dogs. Overton Bank House ticked all our boxes and when we arrived it was more than we had ever expected. Large well decorated rooms, very clean, with everything you could ever think that you would need had been provided.
Situated in a beautiful town with a park across the road, a convenience store a 2 minute walk and a pub next door - which we never heard a peep out of - what more could you want?
As our stay was over the first weekend in November we didn't get to sit in the garden but there is so much room and a lovely large garden table and chairs to enjoy a summer BBQ - which is what we are planning for next year when we return.
Thanks very much to Gilly who was very helpful from start to finish. Well done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Spacious property
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you Julie for your very generous review, we couldn't have asked for better - and we'd love to have you back next summer so you can take advantage of our lovely hidden garden ! Thanks again from Gilly (on behalf of Steve and Barbara the owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den701
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

" WOW " had the most fantastic weekend in the superb house, you really could not wish for anything more it had everything. Great space & very clean and tastefully decorated and so convenient for the beautiful market town of leek. We hired a hot tub from a firm recommended by the booking lady and we weren't disappointed. Will recommend to everyone. Thank you OBH for a truly fantastic time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Brilliant! Thanks so much for your lovely comments about the house and about Leek! Our mission is to spread the word that Leek is a great destination with something for everyone ! Thanks again. Gilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Hi
Thank you for the fantastic review! It's great to hear and we really appreciate it ! Gilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing