We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castro's

Castro's
Ranked #18 of 97 Restaurants in Leek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you're looking for a nice Mexican locally this is the place to go. Beautiful food, lovely staff. Nice lay out, great choice of dishes. Not expensive, would recommend to anyone wanting to try something different locally. As venue is near a canal I agree they're an issue with insects and venue prob does have more than a few cobwebs, but that aside we love going.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bah1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    43
    22
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs a good clean!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Been going for years, food consistent. However venue in need of a good clean. Toilets are disgusting, dirty, cobwebs and spiders.. ceiling in restaurant is also covered in cobwebs, dead flies and spiders. Bottles in waiting area are dusty and are not in keeping with any rustic look. Hate to think what the kitchen is like if visable areas are so dirty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castrocheddleton, General Manager at Castro's, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am very sorry to hear you did not have a very good experience at Castro's, our customers are important to us so we thankyou for your feedback and take on board your comments.

Our restaurant and toilets are cleaned on a daily basis, and yes being by the canal we do have a daily battle with the spiders and their cobwebs.
However we can reassure you our kitchen cleaniness and hygiene is taken very seriously and we have been rated 5 out of 5 stars by 'rate my place', the food safety inspection report in staffordshire.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful local place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is our favourite place to eat locally, food is great quality, staff are friendly and service is speedy.
They are able to cater for my daughter with a severe peanut allergy and we wouldn't hesitate to reccomend this to anyone

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank amyrugbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castrocheddleton, General Manager at Castro's, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoy coming to us regularly and we are able to cater for your daughters' needs.
At castro's our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order, this enables us to be more flexible with the ingredients in our dishes. Our kitchen staff work hard to provide a prompt service still ensuring food is cooked properly and is presented with care. Our front of house staff strive to be attentive and courteous, and we are glad you found them to be friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends on your next visit, Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Have been coming to Castro's regularly over the years and in all that time have never once had a single disappointing meal. The staff are always so warm and friendly, and always get a good welcome from Jay the owner.

Lovely atmosphere and has been well decorated, love the comfy sofas in the lounge area where you can pick from the menu while you have a nice relaxing drink. The food itself it simply superb, portion sizes never disappoint and everything is so consistently well cooked. The nachos starter is not to be missed as is the havana stew, and you simply have to try the cheesecake which is to die for!

Make sure you check the specials board as there's always some treats on there, there's a chorizo burger on there sometimes that is well worth a try!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarioUK_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The food is exceptional. Great value if you go the early bird 6-7pm where you get 2 courses for £12 or 3 for £15. Highly recommend the steak and it would be rude not to have the cheesecake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castro's also viewed

 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Castro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing