We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pub Lunch”
Review of The Roebuck

The Roebuck
Ranked #42 of 100 Restaurants in Leek
Price range: $9 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Part of the local Titanic Brewery, The Roebuck offers a range of 10 cask ales, 5 premium lagers, and a selection of wines over 2 bars. Food is locally sourced and all home made, and is served 7 days a week. Our menus are changed regularly offering contemporary British food and some pub classics! Our chefs carefully design each menu creating something unique to follow the seasons.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Lunch”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went in for a pub lunch with my family last month.

Had off the lunchtime menu, 1 fish, 2 gammon and a childrens pasta in sauce (which was bigger than the lunch meals!)

All of it was devoured very rapidly even my 18 month polished off all of his pasta!
Lovely food. Good atmosphere.
Will deffo be returning!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Roebuck_Leek, General Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for the review & look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    17
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leek
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Marvelous beer - mediocre food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The variety and selection of real ales is truly excellent but the choice of vegetarian options is very poor and greatly overpriced. I have eaten there on several occasions and regularly drink the beer and since opening the prices of the meals have steadily increased but reduced in quality and quantity. One recent veggie option was priced at £10.95 and consisted mainly of couscous - go to the So Thai down the road for an excellent vegetarian feast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Roebuck_Leek, General Manager at The Roebuck, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Steve,
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to The Roebuck. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed the selection of ales on offer, regarding the food, since your last visit the menu has been changed and improvements have been made towards the vegetarian options. We now offer "Tagliatelle pasta with tender stem broccoli and almond pesto" £7.95 & Mediterranean Vegetable Bake served on home made flat bread with hand cut chunky chips and salad" £8.50. We hope you do try The Roebuck again.

Regards
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Surprisingly good quality food in a bustling pub which offers 10 real ales and several premium lagers on draught.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clement P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A busy, outgoing pub which pleasant staff and a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff were pleasant, the pub constantly buy which is good for the money. Few loud drinkers on a friday night but nothinf out of the ordinary. Top quality food and located on a central street so easy to find, but alot of competition for all the pubs in the centre of leek!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank beth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very average.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A quaint old building, a former coaching in, this looks like a better pub than it actually is. The pub lunches were not the worst, but nothing more than bog standard pub food. And when we went to order the staff spent more time moaning about their colleagues than serving. We wouldn’t go back there, although Leek has plenty of places that look nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AwayFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck also viewed

 

Been to The Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing