We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Prospect House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prospect House
Ranked #9 of 18 Leek B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights in September 2013. My parents had the very spacious room 1 with a wonderfully comfortable bed, and I stayed with my daughter in room 3, also a good size and opens onto a lovely courtyard. The owners are the most wonderful hosts and really went out of their way to make our stay very relaxing. Breakfast was excellent and always served with a smile, and a highchair (spotlessly clean, as was everything) was provided for my daughter. We were sorry to leave at the end of our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to come again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Room 3 very easy access for young children and pushchairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayjay810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights over the late May bank holiday. The room was delightful with an extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and we were wonderfully looked after. We were looking for somewhere to have dinner on the first evening and they rang round for us to find a pub serving dinner.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank timhbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We came here as a family following a late change to our post-Christmas plans, due to flooding elsewhere. After hours of searching for somewhere to stay I found the rooms we needed at Prospect House. It was damp and chilly outside during our stay, but Prospect House was warm, comfortable and very, very peaceful. Rooms were well equipped, the conversion of the old coach house making good use of the space available. The bathroom was on the small side but perfectly adequate; the bedrooms were spacious (especially 1 & 3, but do tread gently if in room 1 - our children below us in room 3 told us we were stomping!). Being in the depths of winter, it was lovely to have dvds available for use in each room, along with a good selection in the residents' lounge too. Breakfast was simply excellent. Prospect House was certainly an excellent place to stay...but what turned it into the perfect place was the owners. They were perfect hosts and an inspirational family. Look for Tillys-house on blogspot to see why. We felt quite sad to leave after our 3 night stay. We had never visited north Staffordshire before, but the thought of staying at Prospect House again would gladly take us back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding and are so pleased by our choice. A lovely warm friendly welcome, comfortable spacious room and a really lovely home cooked breakfast - highly recommended and we would not hesitate to come back. Thanks very much

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzeCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I usually try and stay at a Premier Inn on my travels, but two years back I stumbled upon this charming B&B and now on 20th & 21st July 2012 I had my fourth stay.
All rooms have LCD TV with Freeview, tea & coffee etc, all the comforts you would hope for and FREE wifi. The breakfast is by far the best in town bar none. In fact I would be prepared to bet that there is no finer cooked breakfast in Staffordshire. If you have the cash then I suggest you book an evening meal, because the owner of Prospect House is not a cook, he is in fact a French Trained Chef on par with Marco Pierre White and his friend Gordon Ramsay. I kid you not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scoutthedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I was born locally so know the area very well and have recently moved back to Stoke On Trent. I suppose I must have stayed here about 12 times over the last 10 or so years and just noticed that reviews are available for the property. It was ideal for visits to nearby Leek to see friends on my sorties from Essex, and I stayed here as recently as two weeks ago.

So what to say?.......Well the place is owned and run by Rolfe and Jackie. Two excellent hosts with a warm welcome always,and a friendly ear.
The accomodation itself is 5 self contained en suite rooms of varying occupancy in a converted coach house to the rear of the main house. I've always found these to be comfortable and spotlessly clean, with the usual kit including tv, trouser press, tea and coffe facilities and comfy beds. Two of the rooms are on the first floor with the rest on the ground floor. There is also a TV/Reading room with SKY/Books/Games etc.

There is also a small garden for sitting out, weather permitting

The brakfast room adjoins the main house with ample seating and Rolfe will knock you up a respectable full-english, plus there are other selections to suit varying tastes.

The area itself?...........................Eqidistant from Leek or the Potteries, about six miles each way and the bus stops right outside. There are also a couple of pubs within about a mile walk.

Of course, no stop here would be complete without visiting the wonderful Staffordshire Moorlands, and I would strongly recommend the Manifold Valley(My favourite place in the whole universe)/Wetton/Hartington and Buxton and the surrounding area.

There are at least half a dozen places to stay in the old mill town of Leek, but you will generally pay at least two or three times the rate of Prospect House and none of the accomodation or service will be better.

In closing..............All there is to say is that this is a great little B&B.........Hopefully back soon!

Room Tip: Number 4 ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Plateglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leek hotels
6.3 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Green Man Guesthouse
3.6 mi away
Middle Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#2 of 2 in Leek
269 reviews
3.6 mi away
Leek Camping Barns
Leek Camping Barns
#2 of 3 in Leek
5 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#3 of 18 in Leek
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect House

Address: 334 Cheadle Road | Cheddleton, Leek ST13 7BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Price Range: $80 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted coach-house originally built in 1838. All rooms have en-suite shower and toilet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Prospect House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospect House Leek, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing