We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The greatest authentic Indian cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloves Indian Cuisine

Cloves Indian Cuisine
Ranked #23 of 97 Restaurants in Leek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian, Fusion, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cloves Indian Cuisine is a fine dining Indian Restaurant & Take Away based in Bottomhouse Village close to Leek & Ashbourne Town in Staffordshire. We have visitors/diners all across the UK as we are situated in Staffordshire's finest countryside locations near Buxton and the Peak District. We are also 10-15 minutes drive away from Alton Towers which attracts many other visitors that want to try out for an indian meal. Cloves Indian Cuisine offer the finest and rarest Indian dishes available in today's standards, yet authentic indian cuisine dishes to the local area of leek,close by villages and surroundings. We also offer unique special dishes, one-of-a-kind Tandoori Grills, the very best and exclusive drinks selections that can only be revealed when visiting the restaurant and for those who want to experience something new and interesting. Our service towards customers are second to none and we ensure that everyone has a unique and memorable experience from our staff members. They obtain great knowledge and experiences in the Indian Restaurant Trade. The provide a warm and friendly atmosphere that is fully appreciated and diners truly experience a very different, out-of-the-way countryside location, which makes it more of a special occasion! Diners visit us as guests, but stay with us as friends and family.
Ipstones
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The greatest authentic Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We eat here a lot. I have never felt like writing a revue about anything.
The service and staff are polite courteous and attentive.
We have had many take away meals as well as dining in. Each and every time the food is the best we have had. We travel 10 miles each way to get our hands on this food despite passing lots of curry houses on the way!
If you only try one thing from a recommendation this is it!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    3
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Phenomenal setting, phenomenal food, phenomenal service and phenomenal presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I can't quite think of an appropriate superlative to describe my experience at Cloves restaurant.

The setting was stunning, the service was incredible and the food... Well, I rarely pull out my phone to take a photo of my meal, but in this instance, it had to be done. Beautifully presented...

As soon as I get a free weekend, I'll be dining here again.

It feels like you're at home (but you live in breathtaking surroundings) and you're being waited on by exceptional members of staff.

Thank you, Cloves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MegaMatt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had been meaning to try cloves having driven past it many times camping in the area. My husband and I went Friday evening at approx 6.30 in the evening. After a lovely warm welcome we were shown to a nice table and given menus . We shared the mixed platter starter which was divine and both had a different curry along with rice and home made ( and they were) chips and keema nan. The quality of the food is excellent --we both thoroughly enjoyed our meals and can't wait to go again. Brilliant food in a lovely atmosphere with helpful friendly staff and spotlessly clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaspypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Indian Cuisine - a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were a family party of 10 visiting The Cloves during our recent half term holiday at Bottomhouse. We were fortunate enough to be staying just across the road from this restaurant so one of our party went across to speak to the owner and to enquire about booking. From its appearance we had formed the view that it was a pub - however, when our family member went across "for a pint" he was informed that it was in fact an Indian restaurant. The chap who was in the bar area was however happy to serve drinks and they had a chat and he suggestsaid that we book a table and come back. So we did! .
We booked a table for the Sunday evening and when we arrived we were the only people in the restaurant, as some diners were just leaving. However, this wasn't a problem and we didn't expect it to be busy due to it being a Sunday and the restaurant's location (you definitely need to drive if you aren't in the immediate locality).
The welcome was warm and friendly (as before) and we were shown to our table before drinks orders were taken and the menus handed out. The menu was, in my opinion, superb. There was so much choice and as an avid curry-eater(!) there were dishes on there that I hadn't tried or heard of.
All of our party had varying tastes in terms of the flavours that they liked and we perused the menu for some time. The waiters were friendly, not pushy at all and took our orders once we were ready.
Poppadums and pickles were ordered, starters arrived and we tucked in. Those of us eating starters agreed that they were delicious. The curries that followed for our main courses were equally delicious. Both myself and my husband agreed that it was probably the best Indian meal we had ever had.
Everything looked and tasted fresh. The presentation and the smell from the dishes was just lovely. The meat in the curries was tender and tasty.
This restaurant had Indian and English lagers available on draught -those of us that were drinking alcohol opted for the Cobra. It was a lovely cold pint!
We had children in our party who all ate their meals with enthusiasm too.
As a party we all agreed that the food and the service at this restaurant was fantastic. I'd love to go back and I would recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinacolada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Thank you for a lovely evening. We booked at the last minute for 16 people as we were let down by Qarma in leek as we booked there weeks ago. Clove staff were all very attentive making my 60 th birthday party excellent. Thank you

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Clivebutler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloves Indian Cuisine also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Cloves Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing