We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian I have had”

Cloves Indian Cuisine
Ranked #25 of 100 Restaurants in Leek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cloves Indian Cuisine is a fine dining Indian Restaurant & Take Away based in Bottomhouse Village close to Leek & Ashbourne Town in Staffordshire. We have visitors/diners all across the UK as we are situated in Staffordshire's finest countryside locations near Buxton and the Peak District. We are also 10-15 minutes drive away from Alton Towers which attracts many other visitors that want to try out for an indian meal. Cloves Indian Cuisine offer the finest and rarest Indian dishes available in today's standards, yet authentic indian cuisine dishes to the local area of leek,close by villages and surroundings. We also offer unique special dishes, one-of-a-kind Tandoori Grills, the very best and exclusive drinks selections that can only be revealed when visiting the restaurant and for those who want to experience something new and interesting. Our service towards customers are second to none and we ensure that everyone has a unique and memorable experience from our staff members. They obtain great knowledge and experiences in the Indian Restaurant Trade. The provide a warm and friendly atmosphere that is fully appreciated and diners truly experience a very different, out-of-the-way countryside location, which makes it more of a special occasion! Diners visit us as guests, but stay with us as friends and family.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian I have had”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a long day at Alton towers, we found this on our way back to our holiday cottage and stopped for a takeaway. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were invited to look around the restaurant while we were waiting and it was beautiful and extremely clean. Nice to be able to see through to the kitchen. We had 6 curries, 3 rices, naan bread, poppadoms and chutneys, and a beer and a coke whilst waiting and the total was under £50. The food was the nicest I have ever had, the chicken was of high quality and very well cooked. Such a shame that I live 200 miles away as I would definately become a regular if I lived closer. Left a menu and recommendation at our holiday cottage so hopefully more people can experience this great food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aulisi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    28
    3
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a nice surprise”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we were looking for somewhere we hadn't tried before as a family member was visiting. so time to try Cloves(love the name). We weren't disappointed, Friendly helpful staff who were happy to tell us about their menu and future developments for the restaurant. Our choice of food was delicious and plenty of it too! We now use it as a take-away too. Wonderful, rich decoration and good seating while waiting for your table. I have no problem recommending Cloves to anyone and it's reasonably priced too. Will be going back regularly. my only small problem is that the outside just needs a little makeover...a little tidying around the car park with marked spaces and some nice flower filled tubs at the entrance would make a great 1st impression and please remove the gate as it impairs your view of traffic when leaving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to the mark”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A nearly 2 hour wait for our food even though we had booked. Fobed off by the staff who need some manners. The food was at best average and the indian restaurants in Leek are far superior and cheaper. We shan't be going again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomlinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly, flavoursome & fabulous”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Having read the reviews on this site, decided to sample a takeaway from Cloves early this evening en route back to our holiday accommodation close by. Many pleasingly different menu choices from the standard fayre in addition to the regular options you would expect to find. Prices reasonable (plus spend over £20 on takeaway orders and receive a 20% discount). We ordered 2 chicken main courses, a rice dish, a filled naan bread and a keema peas side dish-cost after discount was £20. Really friendly service from the guy running the restaurant. Nice location with rural views from dining area. Food super amd cooked fresh to order. (Hubby is half indian and knows good curry when he tastes it). We wish this business well and can recommend Cloves without hesitation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
1 review
“Good and consistent”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I live a few miles from the restaurant and have been several times over the last few months. I have always found the food to be very enjoyable and the staff are extremely polite and efficient. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloves Indian Cuisine also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
Leek, Staffordshire
 
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Been to Cloves Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing