We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bolaka Spice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bolaka Spice
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've visited this place several times and we have had all types of food, mainly good, and service ranging from good to terrible. The welcome is always friendly and even when busy they will try their best to accommodate. We've been when they've been run off their feet with staff problems and had to leave without food, but mostly they are reliable. Although never outstanding this place has a consistent quality and a range of specials and special starters.. One problem I have is the presentation of the main dishes, with a large decorative tomato filling the serving dish. Attractive but just needless packing really, making the portions smaller than they appear. There is nothing much to make this place more appealing than other nearby restaurants except for the homely or friendly atmosphere. Seats by the door can be busy but in the main it is farily well proportioned yet not quite quaint or intimate. The owner is always on hand to advise and describe the food which is welcome. Drinks as in many curry places are average. On the whole, given the many nearby curry places to choose from, this one should not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    6
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited this restaurant on 3.11.12 for the third time. Never disappointed and the only Indian in Leek I go to now. Food very high quality and not oily or salty (like you get in a lot of Indian restaurants). Tried the top rated Indian restaurants in Leicester but this is better! Only one problem, they are in Leek, please move to Lutterworth! Price: excellent value

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Food not bad,but from entering the resturant we began to wish we had gone elsewhere,not at all wecoming, we had booked a table by phone and when we arrived were greeted with the words sit there at a table which was not set, other tables were set and no one sat there in the time we were there ,there was no freindly greeting like good evening sir/madam ,the manager and waiter were both surly the only freindly face was the young girl who cleared the table,my wife and I could not wait to leave,will not be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank everon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Now called Abdul Spice - mixed experiences”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've eaten here several times and sometimes it's very good but at other times the service and seating arrangements let it down - although the food is normally good. This week the drinks were the main problem. We ordered a pint of Cobra and a double gin and tonic - at a cost of £8.50. The gin and tonic came ready poured so we couldn't adjust how strong we wanted it and - even worse - we couldn't taste any gin in it. We asked the waitress and she took it away (no apology), returning it saying that they had only put a single gin in it (even though we clearly ordered a double) so she's now added another single (but still no apology). This time we could taste gin, but it still wasn't strong. If we go again (which is unlikely) we'll ask for the gin and the tonic to be seperate, so we can see that we're getting what we are paying quite a lot for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ngalton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“leek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

another good place t eat in a very small town, the portion size is huge. the staff tidy and presentable and always willing to help

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolaka Spice also viewed

Thorncliffe, Leek
Leek, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing