We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silken Strand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hen Cloud Cottage(Upper Hulme)
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prospect House(Leek)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
48
26
17
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
26
17
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapascellar barboutique style hotelroll top bathstained glassrestaurant downstairslack of hot watervery helpful friendly staffbirthday partyfirst floorfour poster bedfew weekslarge bathroomlovely buildingfunction roomworth a visitstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 109 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding at The Ashes Venue close-by. When we turned up at midday our rooms were not ready so had to get ready in the bar area. We had not realised an early check-in is before 2pm... which we needed to book in advance.

We have a little baby who needed to sleep at 8pm ish, but there was a birthday party in the main bar area unti late, with kids running all over the place down the corridors... so it was noisy and difficult to get baby to sleep.

Room (7) was spacious and nice clean large shower room. But no luxuries like shampoo. The tea and coffee was very basic and kettle needed to be on floor in order to be plugged in because cable didn't reach the table!! Hotel definitely lacked something "extra" for the price tag of £95 per night.

Staff excellent and made up for it. But wasn't good value for money, we should have searched for a BandB, but just went with the wedding recommended list.

Room Tip: Ask for early check-in if arriving before 2pm
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesFrance74190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Silken_Strand, Owner at The Silken Strand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you had issues with your stay, but 2pm check in is standard at most hotels unless a request is made, our check out time is 11.am, this gives our staff only 3 hours to get all the rooms turned around for new guests, it was unfortunate that your room was the last one on the list, but the manager did actually divert the cleaning staff directly to your room as soon as you booked in so you were in your room way before 2pm. Soap, shampoo and body wash is available in all rooms, and I am surprised to hear that you say there was none. The manager was aware of children being noisy and did stop their antics, but part of a hotel's business is to hold parties and events, and indeed, we even host weddings, and most of the time noise is not an issue, but some noise at 8pm is mostly inevitable in a venue like ours, and we make sure party guests are moved into the cellar bar before 11pm so the bedrooms are not disturbed. I do not understand the 3 marks for cleanliness as this is one area that we check on personally and staff are reprimanded if they fall down on their duties. The cables on the kettles are an issue that we are trying to resolve, but regulations and old buildings do not always go together well. Keeping a 350 year old historic building in good repair is not cheap, and the pleasure most people derive from staying in such a well looked after building with good bedrooms, attentive staff, free movies every night of the week, is seen as that little bit extra you say is missing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went with three other friends for the secret cinema experience.

On arrival we were promptly met by the manager and bar staff. They were really friendly and attentive. The bar area was decorated in a boutique style which really suited the style of the building.

We ordered our cocktails and watched while the barmaid made them. The manager chatted with us while we waited. We say for a short time and enjoyed the intimate lounge area around the bar before being shown upstairs.

We went to the cinema area and the film began. The four of us were then served with nachos and popcorn. They were of a really good quality and freshly made. Really delicious.

After the film we went back to the bar area for coffees. Again the staff were really pleasant and reasonably prompt given the number of customers who were in the bar area at this time.

Overall, a great experience and excellent night out for the girls and me. However, the manager had mentioned other up and coming films which I think would be good for a date night with the husband!

I have read some reviews that mention dust and cleanliness issues. This was not the case during our visit. The whole venue was neat, tidy and dust free. Was great value for money and I will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haberdashery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with such character and uniqueness it doesn't quite compare to another hotel in this area. The rooms are 7 very different boutigue 4* luxuries with lushious roll tap baths and stunning 4 poster beds. I quite often stay here when working in Leek and always enjoy my stay. There are so many aspects to the building, with the scenic Tapas Bar in the cellar that feels like you really are in the South of Spain, all the way to the Hidden cinema on the first floor that shows its customers free movies and sports. The mattresses are very comfortable and rooms are always in very clean, good condition. The staff are especially friendly and attentive, giving you a lovely warm smile and welcome upon arrival at reception and offer to carry any luggage. The owner is a charming gentleman that has a very good group of people working for him and his passion for the hospitality industry really shows through with his highly considerate attitude. I believe the hotel could be charging more per night for its rooms so would say definitely good value for money whether your stay be on business or for a romantic treat.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 and 3 on the first floor have luxury baths. Room 5 has a four poster bed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieMay169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, the tapas restaurant is in the wine cellar! Staff are very happy and very attentiv although it was very quiet when we were there. Tapas is very tasty. The best Brownie I have ever tasted!!! Only downside is it's quite pricey, over £40 for tapas 4 2 and 2 drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank becky_bourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here on the way to a day at Aton Towers which is approx a 20 minute drive away. Leek itself is rather bleak but the owner of this hotel certainly has a good head for business.
The basement is a tapas bar, food excellent quality good atmosphere, great service, good prices.
The ground floor is a bar which is open to non residents at night, we had a drink there after dinner and it had a good atmosphere, busy but not intrusively noisy.
The first floor of the hotel is the simple reception desk and breakfast room with a fabulous view into the garden where there are chairs and tables under a pagoda which I imagine would be lovely on a hot summer day.
We stayed in room 7 which is a good size bedroom and bathroom and has a very comfortable bed, very clean room. Toiletries as mentioned on other reviews are sparse but I take my own anyway, there was no iron and board in the room bu one was provided immediately on request. We went to bed before the bar closed and weren't disturbed by any noise.
Essentially there is everything you need, dinner bed and breakfast in this hotel, the building is I think Georgian and it has been modernised so there are 2 themes within the hotel it has a purple entrance which is off putting but the stained glass windows at the top of the stairs are awesome.
The staff are very obliging and whilst the same staff obviously cover the hotel and bar and restaurant they manage it well, Aimee seemed to be in charge the night we stayed and she has excellent hosting skills and is clearly a great asset to the business.

Room Tip: take a room at the back, no noise from bar or main road
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jivedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews