We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location”
Review of Hotel Rudyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rudyard
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Rudyard Lake was voted the 3rd most romantic place in England and you can see why. This hotel is idealy placed to explore the local area. Friendly helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. If you are thinking of getting Wed it would be a very rustic romantic venue.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaccGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rudyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 256 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

This was our 50th anniversary dinner of North Staffs Sailing Club and I can say that it was the best venue so far. The room was superbly set out and the table decorations could not have been bettered. For the price the food was more than expected and the organization and service excelled. I could not think of a better location for a similar event. We will be returning next year and if the standard stays the same for many years to come.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatso43172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We held our annual presentation and awards evening at Hotel Rudyard and found the hotel management and staff to be very helpful from start to finish. The food was excellent and served with quiet efficiency. The staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.
We will certainly be using this hotel again for future events

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skf_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

i am a regular user of this hotel and especially of the fantastic carvary it has on offer. i return regulary as i have never found a carvary like it with over 9 vegetable options and unlimited home made yorkshire puddings, which i can assure you, are not "tasteless" as stated in another review on this site. i am appauled to see the bad comments on this site as this hotel is such a one off and beutifull place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staffsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

After reading some of the reviews on here I must admit I was a little worid, but it was the best weekend away that I've had in along time!
The hotel is set in the beautiful quaint village of Rudyard very close to the lakeside. Me and my partner stopped at the hotel for 2nights to get away from busy city life. On arrival the staff were all very welcoming and within no time at all we were checked in and relaxing with a drink i the bar area. The room was lovely good views of the garden area, comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and well equipt bathroom, everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We ate in the restaurant the first night and had our main meal from the carvery. I had beef and it was absolutely beautiful along with homade yorkshire puddings and a selection of nine vegetables! My patner had a selection of the three meats and enjoyed his meal equally. The second night we had our meal in the bar area and chose off the extensive bar menu. Very well priced and huge portions! During the daytimes we did various walks around the village and lake.
All in all we had a fantastic stay and we will definitely book to stay here again!
Many thanks to all the staff at the Rudyard Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura49Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Firstly i must say about all of the negative comments on here regarding the Hotel Rudyard.....what a load of RUBBISH!!!
My partner and i stay several times a year and have being doing for 14 years in total and have never had a bad experience.
The carvery is superb and we have never encounted tough meat or dry veg.
As for sloppy cauliflour cheese do ask yourself what cauliflour cheese is!!!!
The staff are always warming and friendly and always make us feel welcome and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
It is a shame that people only put bad cmments on here,dont be put off as this place is wonderful and i hope others will join me with positive comments which do the hotel justice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

A friend of mine rang me today about these reviews, and i have to say "what a load of rubbish". We had our wedding at the hotel in June of this year, what a fantastic day, the staff are friendly and helpful in everyway. As for the rooms all our guest's commented on what a plesent stay they had with not a single comment about anything.

Our wedding was everything we had wished for, the room looked fantastic the food was excellent and the staff looked after ourselves and our guests from start to finish. I would recommend anyone looking for a wedding venue to go along and see for yourselfs.

We still visit the hotel from time to time as our parents live local and visit the carvery for sunday lunch all the time, its one of the best in the area.

Thanks again ron and staff for making our day special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
7.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
11.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,201 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
326 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rudyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rudyard

Address: Lake Rd | Rudyard, Leek ST13 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leek
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rudyard 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rudyard's 300 seat restaurant not only provides quality drinks and delicious bar meals, it regularly hosts a mouthwatering carvery and special nights. The Carvery has a selection of 3 roasted joints of the day and all meat is sourced within a 10 mile radius of the hotel.Outside there's a large, sociable beer garden overlooking the lake, so visitors can relax with a drink and a lovely view.There is also a large car park, offering the ideal opportunity to enjoy the 5.6 mile walk around the lake before finishing with a delicious meal and drink. The Hotel can also provide the perfect setting for your memorable events - it has a light bright function room and cater for any special occasion. Whether it be for a wedding, christening or birthday, the room can sit up to 100 people, with 150 for a buffet reception.Whether you want a memorable venue, a cosy restaurant after a brisk walk, or simply a long weekend away form it all, Hotel Rudyard is your picture perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rudyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rudyard Hotel Leek
Hotel Rudyard Leek, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing