We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 18 Leek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a lovely warm welcome from the owner on a rainy day! Room was very clean and comfortable, with everything I needed for my stay. The hotel is easy walking distance from Leek with it's lovely old buildings and shops. Breakfast was really good - perfect fry up and accompaniments. The owners couldn't do enough for us and looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
38
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked Peak Weavers for one night.The hotel was small but spotlessly clean and the rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous, made to order so really fresh and hot. A welcome change from the usual lukewarm buffet type breakfasts at bigger more modern hotels. Although small, Peak Weavers provides everything you need for a pleasant stay, coffee/tea making facility, hair dryer, toiletries and clean fluffy towels. We even got a Peak Weavers chocolate which was a nice touch for a guest house. Would have no hesitation recommending.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here on Sat 10/8/2013 as my nephew was getting married in the area that day. We needed a family room as there was me, my husband & our 3 young children aged 4, 2 & 5 months; our family room was so lovely! Massive wardrobes, lovely big, clean bathroom with loads of fluffy towels & cute toiletries. Double bed & 2 single beds (we brought our own little cot for baby). So comfy. Loads of Tea, coffee, biscuits, chocolates. Loads of choice at breakfast, cereal, juice, full English breakfast & as my husband looked at the menu he couldn't decide between the full English or smoked salmon & scrambled eggs; he ordered the full English but the owner also brought him a small plate of the smoked salmon & scrambled eggs as well! Delicious-really good quality. Also, big car park. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SineadM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hulme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Thank you so much to everyone at Peak Weavers for hosting a fantastic evening celebration for my Dads 60th Birthday.
The food was outstanding... way above our expectations for the reasonable price we paid, every mouthful a delight with top quality ingredients including fabulous smoked salmon shipped all the way from the Outer Hebrides especially for our evening. The team of waiters and waitresses were professional, courteous and polished.
Nothing was too much trouble in the arrangements with Nick and Emma including them sourcing a particular real ale for us.
We also had family from out of the area stay in rooms for the weekend. They all commented on the high level of quality, service and surroundings coupled with friendliness and professionalism.
What a wonderful time we all had! Lucky us to be able to go regularly now to this restaurant with living locally!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights for a wedding in the area and found the hotel to be very well presented, very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was lovely and the owner Nick even provided a bacon sandwich to take up for one of the more hungover of our party who hadn't managed to make it out of bed. We did find our room slightly smaller than we would have liked and the standard double bed too small for a couple to sleep comfortably in for 2 nights running - we did talk to the owner about this and he was very understanding. On reflection this was one of the smallest double rooms I've stayed in but overall a nice stay, great shower and helpful owners. As it's an old building the rooms are different, some with a power shower, some with a bath, some with more space than others - worth having a chat with the owner when booking to see what would suit you best.

Room Tip: As it's an old building the rooms are slightly different, some with a power shower, some with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattofLondonTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the hotel for one night on our tour around the pottery district. We were met by the helpful owner, Nick, and offered a nice cup of tea and coffee in the lounge. We had a good nights sleep in very comfy beds - everything clean and delicate. And nice and quiet - even though its short distance from the center of town. The breakfast was delicious and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was a nice alternative to the traditional eggs and bacon. We had some very helpful suggestions and advice on what to see and were to go the next day. That gave us an unforgettable day at Chatsworth. So thank you for a pleasant stay - we will absolutely recommend your hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Peak Weavers for one night recently when we were in the area to visit our wedding venue. We received a pleasant welcome when we arrived, and were shown to our room which was very comfortable. It was spotlessly clean and cosy-feeling, and the bathroom was also very clean, and a decent size. We'd booked to have dinner, and had a drink before in the lounge area. Dinner was wonderful. I ate the best steak I have ever had! And the brownie meringue dessert was delicious. After dinner we retired to the lounge area, where we enjoyed a couple of whiskeys and a very pleasant chat with the owner. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area. It was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickieandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#2 of 2 in Leek
248 reviews
8.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
276 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#3 of 18 in Leek
78 reviews
2.7 mi away
Middle Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Property: Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Address: King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1828 for a local mill owner the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant stands in its own grounds close to Leek town centre. It was sold by the Wardle family in the 1860’s and became the convent to the Catholic Church. For nearly 120 years it remained so until in 1978 it was converted to a Guest House and restaurant. The Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant takes its name from its close proximity to the Peak District and from the industry that shaped the town of Leek. Fine examples of weaver’s cottages can be seen on King Street, their third storey catching optimum hours of daylight to enable Leek’s women of yesteryear to work their looms from dawn to dusk. In 1999 husband and wife team, Nick and Emma Bettany, took over the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant and set about restoring the period property to its former glory. An ongoing policy of refurbishment has resulted in the bed and breakfast accommodation being graded at 4 Star by the English Tourism Council and the AA. The 40 cover restaurant, under Emma’s guidance, is a previous “Taste of Staffordshire” award winner and has subsequently been awarded an AA Rosette. In September of 2005 the Peak Weavers was judged runner up in Staffordshire Small Restaurant of the Year by a panel of RAC food inspectors. Also in 2005 Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant attained membership of the Peak District Cuisine initiative in recognition of its support for local producers, the first, and currently only restaurant in the Leek area to do so. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and also makes good use of local produce. For the business traveller wireless internet access is available throughout the Guest House and is included in the bed and breakfast tariff. The accommodation is completely smoke free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant Leek, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing