We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 18 Leek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a nearby wedding - very comfortable, good cooked breakfast with a few different options. The owner was really helpful recommending nearby walks etc - the surrounding countryside is beautiful, and he helped us find some amazing places. Perhaps a little pricey though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, its always nice to hear positive comments from our customers.

Kind Regards

Nick & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
37
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business for 3 nights in mid April. I was bitterly disappointed. Closed bar. Closed Restaurant. No real effort was made to make me feel welcome and only briefly saw other souls at breakfast. The lack of heat was similarly startling with radiators that must share a common candle. Decor pleasant but needs maintenance. This is essentially a B & B and should describe itself as such. It has the air of a failing business where the owners invested love and money several years ago but are now unmotivated.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CRM010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I am so disappointed that you didn't enjoy your newly decorated Farrow & Ball room with its beautifully comfortable new king size bed - this is my favourite room, especially when the church is lit up at night. I am also sorry that you did not get to sample our award winning restaurant restaurant, it is not open at the beginning of the week, however there are some lovely pubs and restaurants within minutes walk in the picturesque town of Leek, we are very lucky!
Best wishes for the future Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for one night but wished it could have been more. A beautiful B & B converted from what once was a convent and adjoined to a historic church. Lovely room. Comfortable with a nice, clean ensuite. Good breakfast and nice dining room. Would go back again. Only negative was it was a little pricey for what it was. We paid 89 pounds for one night.

Room Tip: Lovely little village to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glaushouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Best Wishes Emma and Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are always assured of top quality food and a warm welcome at Peak Weavers which is why we chose this venue whenever we have a special celebration. There is nowhere in the Leek area to compare with the quality of the food and the ambience of this lovely old building. The owners Nick and Emma do not compromise on any aspect - we have never had cause to complain about anything - fine dining, fine wines and excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soozy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words, it is wonderful to hear that that you have enjoyed your evening and that you rate us so highly. Best Wishes Nick and Em
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I am afraid our family nearly completely took over this place, taking 5 rooms for our 9 family members for a nearby family wedding.

Rooms were ready for our arrival and we were made to feel completely at home.

We were treated so well in a lovely historic building, with very comfortable rooms. We had a memorable dinner on Friday night with wide choice and excellent cooking, including for a further 3 invited guests. Emma cooked dinner, and, in spite of our "invasion", it was well served and without any fuss. Good choice of wines for a small establishment, too: well done !

The owners were very quick to please, made us tea on arrival, and operated the lounge bar manfully. They were also enlightening about the venue's history and, being local, the town itself.

We felt very relaxed and some of us would certainly return for a walking holiday in future - if my hip stands up, as the venue is in a central location for exploring then Peak Dsitrict. Leek is a much more interesting place than we expected.

We chose the Peak Weavers as a non-bland place to stay, compared to other faceless places. The Canadian members of our family enjoyed this booking immensely.

Well done Nick and Emma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We visited the restaurant to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary and had a lovely evening.The food cooked by Emma was first rate and the menu offered a good variety.
There are no other restaurants of this calibre with in a 25 mile radius of Leek so we would highly recomend a visit if you are visiting Leek or live locally.Also it would be advised to book early as it is not a large restaurant and they fill up quickly.
We look forward to our next visit for another special gourmet evening.
Well done Nick and Emma!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f0rty_niners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is such a wonderful place to go for a lovely meal in with a really nice atmosphere, We usually go there as a couple and always find the owner Nick very friendly and helpful. The tables have white tablecloths which gives the restaurant a real fine dining feel, there are candles on the table which they always remember to light (unlike some places). As someone who hates the bad and the inappropriate choice of music you get in so many places, I have to say Peak Weavers get it completely right, well chosen sophisticated background music at the right volume.

The food, which is prepared expertly by Nick's wife Emma, who is a trained chef, is always a real treat. The dishes are imaginative and the quality is excellent. We have been going to Peak Weavers since it opened and make a point of booking it for special occasions. Although it is great for intimate evenings, we have had large parties from our company there at Christmas and everyone enjoyed it.

There is a special birthday for my wife coming up and we've booked The Peak Weavers again.

Steve P

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concernedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leek
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rudyard
Hotel Rudyard
#2 of 2 in Leek
243 reviews
8.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
271 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Green Man Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
The Silken Strand Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Daintry
The Daintry
#3 of 18 in Leek
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Property: Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Address: King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1828 for a local mill owner the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant stands in its own grounds close to Leek town centre. It was sold by the Wardle family in the 1860’s and became the convent to the Catholic Church. For nearly 120 years it remained so until in 1978 it was converted to a Guest House and restaurant. The Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant takes its name from its close proximity to the Peak District and from the industry that shaped the town of Leek. Fine examples of weaver’s cottages can be seen on King Street, their third storey catching optimum hours of daylight to enable Leek’s women of yesteryear to work their looms from dawn to dusk. In 1999 husband and wife team, Nick and Emma Bettany, took over the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant and set about restoring the period property to its former glory. An ongoing policy of refurbishment has resulted in the bed and breakfast accommodation being graded at 4 Star by the English Tourism Council and the AA. The 40 cover restaurant, under Emma’s guidance, is a previous “Taste of Staffordshire” award winner and has subsequently been awarded an AA Rosette. In September of 2005 the Peak Weavers was judged runner up in Staffordshire Small Restaurant of the Year by a panel of RAC food inspectors. Also in 2005 Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant attained membership of the Peak District Cuisine initiative in recognition of its support for local producers, the first, and currently only restaurant in the Leek area to do so. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and also makes good use of local produce. For the business traveller wireless internet access is available throughout the Guest House and is included in the bed and breakfast tariff. The accommodation is completely smoke free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant Leek, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing