We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rudyard Lake Steam Railway
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great Little Railway

Delightful little narrow gauge railway, suitable for all ages. Lovely little steam engines... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2018
WinstonB74
,
Leek, United Kingdom
Super little train

Lovely little train for kids and adults alike. Those who moan about ‘there’s no space on the... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2018
NorwichSarah
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 195 reviews
  
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
104
75
11
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
75
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam railway rudyard lake car park all ages main station lovely train ride run by volunteers return ticket trains depart day ticket an adult approx miles cafe on site couple of hours information centre small children engine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 194 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Delightful little narrow gauge railway, suitable for all ages. Lovely little steam engines (usually, though can be diesel hauled midweek.) Very pleasant journey following part of the trackbed of the old Churnet Valley Line from Leek to Macclesfield, first in a wooded cutting then at the side of the beautiful Rudyard Lake. A very rewarding experience, and a cup of tea/coffee and light refreshments available at the end of your journey. Lots of free parking available.

Thank WinstonB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Lovely little train for kids and adults alike.
Those who moan about ‘there’s no space on the train’ well no.....it’s not an never ending train! It’s first come, first serve....you get on and pay your fair, if there is no space, then you just simply wait for the next train or walk along side the track, it’s not far.
We had a great time toot tooting up and back, it’s like being a child all over again (we are in our 40s)
Well kept and tidy.
Car park gets busy but you can park along the road nearby.
Quaint and cute afternoon out.

Thank NorwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Went with the family on a nice sunny day. A place perfect with your family for a few hours. The train is a nice for the kids to enjoy

Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Really disappointed with the staff. We waited to purchase tickets, there was family in front of us getting on just fine, having their pushchairs advised to load - all nice and kind. When it was our turn to buy tickets (after already waiting for the train to arrive - fair enough, we had times and all) we got ignored. Literally had to walk after the guy trying to purchase the ticket. Finally got him to acknowledge us as he sat on the train. Asked if they had room/we could we get tickets. Got told there's no room and we could wait for another train (so basically almost another hour and we did not have that time to spare as we had an infant waiting by the lakeside with a relative and 2.5h is just too longa wait and that's what it would come up to). As I walked away, with a crying, disappointed child I've noticed two sets of two seats completely free and at least three free single seats throughout the whole train. I've even pointed out those seats, but the train driver was just not bothered and pulled out of the station. Thought it was all very rude and unfair. Really not impressed with being so rudely ignored and refused service. I will not try to get on that train ever again, so don't worry, you won't have to refuse us again. Hope it was all just 'i had a long day' kind of a misunderstanding but I felt like I was treated very rudely and got left with a crying child that got told there's no room on a train (that he very excitedly waited for) that clearly had spaces! Frankly, after being treated like that I had no intention of waiting. Even if you really didn't have any more spaces you could have gone about it all in a different, kinder way.
Thanks a lot for making my child cry!

1  Thank Paula Yuriko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Owner at Rudyard Lake Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. Our service operates on the basis of taking any seat that is available and paying the guard when they come to you - we don't allocate seats to our passengers. We have signage pointing this out but its possible you were not aware. We will check with our guards to make sure that unseated passengers are not waiting to but tickets instead of taking a seat on the train in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Never been before and we will not be going again. The Staff put their heart and sole into it and well done to them. We took the grandson aged 4. He is a steam train fanatic. However the train is so small and slow he lost interest just after we left the station. It does not go far either. We stopped and got off it at the dam and headed for the play area. Did not fine one! We have never known the Grandson so happy when we told him we were going home

Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon C, Owner at Rudyard Lake Steam Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

We are sorry you are disappointed at your visit. However I would like to point out we are clearly advertised as a miniature railway (of 10.25 inch gauge) on our website, on Facebook, and in all our leaflets. The speed of the train is appropriate for the gauge and within appropriate safety limits. As for distance we are 1.5 miles and again this is clearly shown on all our material and on our website. This gives a total return journey of around 45 minutes. Our carriages are narrow gauge scale and easily seat families together, fully covered from the elements. The area around the Dam is managed by Rudyard Lake and is not part of the railway, but I can assure you there is a play area adjacent to the visitor centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

The train took us along a path parallel to rudyard lake and stopped at various locations to let people off. all together it took about 10 mins to get from one side to the other. At the end of the track there is a walk around the lake. it will take you from the end of the track to an amazing pub leading you back round to the dam then back to the station. The station is run by volunteers, they keep the tracks running and active. The only thing is that the seats weren’t that comfortable otherwise it was fine.

1  Thank xXRosie_ivXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Really nice place to go for a walk, plenty of parking, if you miss the train you can just walk up for about half hour and get the train back. Decent toilets and a cafe on site. Beautiful views of the lake and the walk is shaded. Nearby Rook Inn does really good food

Thank morgie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

My great-nephew is 2 and loves trains. This is the place to go with a child that loves trains. It's not fast but it's so cool!

Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Run by volunteers who are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Enjoyable ride for families or anyone less able to walk around Rudyard Lake

Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

The ride is amazing and fun it runs from 11am till 5pm. It’s brill for a day out with the kids and there it’s lots to do there, their is a cafe, boats, and the train. If you go I wish you a wonderful trip.

Thank magicmanwithmagi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews