We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Eccleshall
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

What a nice place to spend the evening. Good beer and a nice menu of pub food. We have been a few times and had some nice choices.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesNMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    2
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STAFFORD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Parked in there car park{having first got permission} and set off on a lovely walk,on returning to the car decided to call in to pub for coffee,which turned into lunch!!.Very enjoyable,good menu,full meals or baguettes and sandwiches and very reasonably priced.A lovely end to a good walk and highly recommeneded!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HJStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rewards at the end of a walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We parked the car in The Star car park and got the Jack Russel's leads on and set out for our trudge around the Copmere lake. It take us about 40 minutes to get to Walk Mill then another 20 minutes down the road to The Star and our reward. Just going in the door and feeling the warmth from the fire and settling in to a table with the dogs at our feet is almost reward enough. But there is more to come. The cheerful welcome the, food, the beer and the wine. This day Jim had a Guinness and I had a glass of Chardonnay while we looked at the lunch menu. Our walk had given us a great appetite and it wasn't hard to choose. We went for their famous Game Pie served with a variety of fresh vegetables. Time to load up the dogs and head for home and a nap! What a great way to spend the day. The best England has to offer right on our door step

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent old country pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Cozy, comfortable and a little old-fashioned; no electronic media of any kind and very little mobile phone coverage! Warm and friendly atmosphere -- the place is usually full of regulars, which is telling. Not roomy, so booking ahead is a good idea, particularly on weekends.

Beers and ales are a good mix of local favourites and familiar brands. Wine list shows some genuine concern for good wines at reasonable prices. The real attraction here is the food; it tends to standard pub faire -- lamb shanks, beef & stilton pie, etc -- but it is all fresh, hot and delectable! Not cheap, but portions are generous so overall value is good.

This place is a local favourite, and there are plenty of reasons why, starting with the excellent food!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimWordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

Eccleshall, Staffordshire
Eccleshall, Staffordshire
 
Eccleshall, Staffordshire
Eccleshall, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing