We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt so welcome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms Hotel - Eccleshall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eccleshall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms Hotel - Eccleshall
Ranked #1 of 4 Eccleshall B&B and Inns
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We felt so welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at The Kings Arms for a family birthday do as we had a barge trip booked on the Sunday from Norbury.
We had a lovely meal on the Saturday night in the Restaurant. There was 12 of us and nothing was a problem. Food was served on time and all our meals were spot on. The menu would suit even the most fussiest of eaters.
After dinner we retreated to the bar area and well.... we had an amazing night. At 21.30ish the owner got his guitar out and very casually and informally started belting out some fab classics and soon the whole pub had joined in. We really was made to feel so welcome and nothing was a problem for any of the staff! We will definately eat here again and we have found somewhere to spend Saturday nights most certainly!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnyegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant! I definitely recommend the home made burgers and I can't fault the staff who served us. With the roaring fires, friendly regulars and a superb menu means we will return again soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Took a party of 6 the week before Christmas. The owner was rude to us and his staff, the 'restaurant' is cold with cheap paper napkins. The carvery was good but when I asked if my child could have a little of all the 3 meats I was snapped at and told no as it doesn't pay! My child is only 5 so would only of had a very small amount. Will never, ever go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa S, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel - Eccleshall, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi there, thanks for your feedback and I'm very pleased to announce that as from January the Kings Arms is under new management.

We'd very much appreciate it if you came back and visited us again - we think you will be very happy with the Sunday carvery, the wholesome home cooked food and the friendly atmosphere, not to mention the two roaring fires.

We're traditional and proud of it at the Kings Arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

A great place to eat with friendly welcoming staff, an excellent menue choice and reasonable prices. The pub is set within a great ebnvrironment. All dishes looked great but the pies are second to none.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus-Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

There are plenty of pubs in Eccleshall considering the size of the town. We found The Kings is welcoming, great food, choice of good real ale (husband says!) and friendly bar staff. The barman played his guitar on the Saturday night which was a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank AlliePenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

WOW what a friendly atmosphere, stayed here for two nights and couldn't have been better looked after if I'd been at home. Proprietors and Bar Staff couldn't do enough to help, rooms immaculate and cleaned each day. Breakfast cooked to our wanting and they even went as far as going and buying the cereal that my daughter wanted that they didn't have in the kitchen. Would highly recommend The Kings Arms to anyone. Eccleshall is a friendly and welcoming village with many redeeming features.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamhciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Seeping with history and British charm, this cute little pub was a nice stop for a Sunday meal with visiting family. Very homely family run sort of place with a cheeky barman and attentive landlady. Barman even managed to flirt with my grandmother and make her blush. Food portions are massive and very well done! Only suggestion is to upgrade some of the decor and provide customers more information about the history of the place! Could be a great money earner with visiting tourists!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rove84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccleshall
5.0 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Stafford M6
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel - Eccleshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel - Eccleshall

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel - Eccleshall
Address: 17 Stafford Street, Eccleshall ST21 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Eccleshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eccleshall
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms, Eccleshall is a 16th century coaching inn full of character and a friendly team. Our home cooked food is full of flavour and our Sunday carvery is really something we boast about. You certainly won't go hungry!We offer bed and breakfast with 5 bedrooms for the weary traveller and have a separate function room if you would like to hold an event with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing