We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Premier Inn for Donnington Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Premier Inn for Donnington Park”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in this Premier Inn for three nights and pre-paid for our breakfasts and evening meals using the Meal Deal option on their website. The staff upon arrival were very friendly and helpful and our room was lovely and comfortable. Premier Inn had supplied a large fan to cool the room because the weather was unusually hot! Our first evening meal was great and we both enjoyed it as we did the second evening, but the third was awful. The food was not up to the usual standard and the service was extremely slow even though the restaurant was very quiet. As we had spent to whole day at Donnington Park for the World Superbike Championships we were quite tired and just wanted to eat and then sleep. The slow service spoilt our day which was a shame and they ran out of quite a few options on the menu and we found this irritating as it was a Bank Holiday weekend.The breakfasts were pretty good for the first 2 mornings but the third one was awful. Very slow service and very burnt food. On the whole this Premier Inn was very good and although it's on a main road we couldn't hear traffic noise. We would stay in this Premier Inn again as it's a lovely place to use as a base. The beer garden and high decked veranda were gorgeous especially in the sun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments will be passed onto the team for recognition. We pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accomodation and I am delighted that your stay was just that. However, please accept my sincere apologies about the restaurant menu on your third night stay, I would suggest that any issues be addressed to the Duty Manager who will be happy to help. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    73
    39
    26
    14
See reviews for
90
65
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel good but steer clear of the attached resturant, we used it on the saturday night but they had 4 things unavailable off the menu and no draught pedigree. the food was okay when we chose the alternatives, but would not dine there again. The breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stupotmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we appreciate feedback of all kinds and your comments will be passed on to the team. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the unavailable items on the restaurant menu, I would suggest that any issues be taken up with the Duty Manager who will be happy to help. Thank you again and we hope this hasn't deterred you from stopping with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, having 2 rooms which allowed us to compare standards. One room (21) was very large while the other (20) was smaller, surprising to see how different they are. No issues with te amount of room in 20 – it was just a different shape, still plenty of room to move around. Rooms were clean and tidy, which is what you would hope for.

If you have ever stayed at a Premier Inn then you will know what to expect – large comfortable beds with a choice of pillows available from reception, bathroom with shower over bath, space for clothes, tv and in room tea / coffee facilities, plus a hairdryer. In other words, pretty much everything you need. I believe you can request an iron and ironing board from reception – don’t know if that’s charged for.

One minor niggle is the wifi – they offer 30 minutes free then expect to pay £3 for 24 hours of access. This is less than other hotels charge (I once got charged £12 for a day) but Premier Inns needs to revisit this – most people would now expect unlimited free wifi. It didn’t help that the signal was poor and kept falling off line.

Despite being on a busy main road the rooms are pleasantly quiet. You can open windows if you wish (restricted opening for safety) but it would be noisy. Most rooms are up a stairway and if you have a number of bags or small children this could be problematic as there are no lifts in this building.

Reception was friendly, and efficient, no complaints there. There is a generous check out tiime of midday, which is useful on a lazy weekend.

The TVs in the rooms are small and offer a range of Freeview channels – these could use an upgrade to a bigger model. Only other minor issue is the shower which proved to be highly variable – I think occupants of other rooms were all fighting each other for both pressure and temperature!

Food is available in the next door Stanhope Arms, part of the Table Table chain – see separate review of that.

One final word of warning – although you can park outside the hotel the main car park is opposite, and as mentioned above the road is very busy and could be dangerous especially for small children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_in_Legh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, we appreciate the feedback you have given. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer iron and ironing boards for guest usage free of charge, please do not hesitate to ask at reception if you require one. We are sorry to hear that the TV was outdated and hope this does not deter you from using Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here on 6th April for one night and was here as we usually use the Travelodge in Burton on Trent but it was booked up and more expensive on this occasion (unusually). The receptionist was welcoming and very efficient and went out of her way to help us. Our room was clean and warm, bright and comfortable and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. Water nice and hot in the bathroom with bright lighting. We had a lovely view of the fields but didn't really stay with this in mind. Breakfast was substantial and service fine. For an overnight stay it was great.

The rooms are mainly on the first floor and there are lots of doors and passages which is fun for a family but it was a bit tricky to negotiate for my elderly mother and there is no lift so bear that in mind if you are coming with a lot of luggage.

We had a meal at the Tabletable restaurant on the previous evening which was ok and pretty much like a 'chain' restaurant meal. Unfortunately I wouldn't have said it was 'good', just 'ok'.

Despite the last two points, I would certainly stay here again.


The rooms

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have anyone on the infirm side in your party as there are no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you were pleased with the friendliness of staff and the quality of the rooms. We are sorry to hear that the long corridors caused problems during your stay, please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly and we will do our best to accommodate your needs prior to arrival to ensure you get the best guest experience possible. We hope we can welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

An excellent hotel with a great selection of rooms which were suitable for families. Excellent bathrooms and good quality rooms. The welcome was warm and friendly and the premier inn staff were delightful. HOWEVER, bearing in mind we were a party of 11 I prebooked dinner for the evening of our arrival. However, it was appalling service - over an hour to have the main courses served and a further 35 minutes for dessert - in a party with children. The manager did not come over to explain. Did receive a 30% discount but quite frankly we would have preferred appropriate service. Staffing levels in the kitchen were inadequate. Also, the breakfast was not hot buffet as was expected and was cooked to order.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, all feedback is welcomed. We are delighted by your comment of being an excellent hotel and are happy to hear that you believe our room quality is good. We are sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your visit to the restaurant regarding bad serivce and waits. If you wish to discuss this incident further do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly. We hope it will not deter you from staying with Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night when my niece got married nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival, the room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. We didn't really have a view but as we arrived at 7pm and left at 9am that didn't really matter. The TV was a bit old and a small screen with not a brilliant quality picture but was watchable. I was disappointed to discover we only got 30 minutes free WiFi, I didn't want the pay the £3 for 24 hrs when I only really needed an hour or 2. Sounds stingy but when you are on a budget those little things count. The bed was comfy but rather bouncy which meant we had a rather restless night. Check out the next morning was quick and easy. All in all a nice place to stay with a good restaurant next door with very friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, your feedback is appreciated. Lenny Henry is right and we are delighted you received friendly and helpful service from staff and enjoyed the restaurant. We are sorry to hear that the bed was bouncy but we hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last Saturday evening as we were visiting family in the area. We arrived earlier than the check in time so we expected to wait until our room was available but we were given a room straight away without any problem. Being located on a main road we thought that there would be some traffic noise but to our surprise there was no noise at all. The bed and pillows were very comfortable as always. This is an ideal place for no nonsense overnight stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to review the Hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you got a friendly service and were able to check in early and are happy to hear that even though the Hotel location was next to a busy road you heard no noise during your night. We are sorry to hear that the bed was to bouncy for you which lead to a restless night. We hope this will not deter you from using our Hotel again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
449 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
491 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Address: 82 Ashby Road East, Burton upon Trent DE15 0PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lovely tranquil and historic surroundings, our Burton on Trent hotel puts so much within easy reach, including Burton on Trent town centre, Alton Towers and Ashby Castle. Explore the beating heart of industrial England at Barton Marina. Or have your heart in your mouth on the Oblivion ride at Alton Towers. Get the pulse racing at Donnington Park Download Festival. Then come back for hearty fare at our Table Table restaurant, and a lovely comfy bed in your room. Directions: Exit A42(J13), follow A511 towards Burton for approx. 7 miles. Hotel is on your left. From A38 follow signs for A511 towards Leicester. Hotel is between Burton and Ashby on right. Next to the Stanhope Arms Table Table. For Satnav postcode enter DE15 0PT. Transport and local information: Calke Abbey A42 J13 Burton Train Station 3 miles East Midlands airport 16 miles Doninton Park race track Alton Towers Twycross Zoo Tutbury Castle Conkers National Memorial Arboretum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East Hotel Burton Upon Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing