We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coopers visit”
Review of Coopers Tavern

Coopers Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Coopers visit”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you like real ales, a friendly crowd in the bar/house then go here. From the outside it does look like a house, as you go in go past the seating down a small corridor to the back room bar. Lots of Ales to try, its a traditional style which we loved on our trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    15
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Real Ale and Cider Heaven”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just about everyone we spoke to in Burton said that we had to go to the Coopers Tavern for a drink. It seems to be regarded as one of, if not the, best pub in Burton upon Trent. Having sampled this delightful place I can assure you they are not wrong.

From the fine selection of cask served and hand pumped real ale, to the ciders and English fruit wine they have on offer - there really is something for everyone to try. Combine this with a great selection of snacks and specialty pork pies and you are doing something wrong if you do not leave this place with a smile on your face.

With a bar area of approx 2ft there is some waiting to be served at times, but this does allow you to have a chat with the locals as you wait. This actually adds to the charm of the place in my opinion. A great pub that I will be certain to return to when travel allows.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite place in the entire world!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I love this place with all of my heart. It is my local but well worth a journey if it's not yours. Great music on Sunday afternoons, folk night on a Tuesday, a constantly changing selection of ales and ciders served from the quirkiest bar you'll ever come across and a diverse clientele.
Best. Pub. Ever.
Oh and have a pork pie, the little ones not the big ones.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Revolver77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This bar is superb for real ale lovers. Originally a head brewers house, eventually obtained a liqueur licence (1800). Each room is the house as was. It's a must try if in Burton.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Character”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great little character pub just across the road from the brewery. Nice, well kept beers which they can serve in large pitchers if you're particularly thirsty! They make a nice range of speciality pies at a reasonable price and there's always a great atmosphere here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coopers Tavern also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Coopers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing