We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three real Queens could not have made us any more welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were given every corticy. The room was spacious clean and comfortable.
Meals were delicious, and all the staff could not be faulted for friendliness or attention to detail
Thank you all for a lovely stay
the Galloways

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is really appreciated by the whole team. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay & we really hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 460 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is an oasis in what is a drab working class town. It is the ideal base for exploring the countryside and the nearby places of interest.
The accomodation was comfortable. The menu was varied and the quality of food was excellent. They had made good use of the evening dining room which created an intermate atmosphere.Breakfast was good and served by friendly staff, in fact all the staff were a pleasure to speak to.
Rumour is that this hotel may be about to change ownership, so lets hope they keep their friendly image

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakesideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as a small independent hotel it really does mean a lot to us. We are looking to invest in the décor in the near future but all the staff will certainly stay the same, we are really proud of our team who all work hard to ensure each guest has a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a two night stay at the Three Queens we came home completely relaxed and with a big smile .I would like to give the staff a big thankyou for being kind and considerate and patient. when we arrived we were given a free upgrade to a suite which was excellent two teles his and hers sinks beautiful rooms.We had a lovely meal waited on by Lisa a very nice lady is very informative excellent in her profession.The town has a wonderful shopping centre and plenty of places to dine.A short drive out of town there are many places to visit to many to name.Altogether a lovely weekend .We
will be going back. Cant praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick007Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

It is really lovely to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us & that you had a relaxing time. Our team work hard to ensure each of guests leave happy & have a memorable stay with us, so I thank you for your kind words, it really is appreciated by all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a deal that included dinner on the first night of a two night bed and breakfast stay. The food was excellent and the breakfasts all freshly cooked. Kippers and smoked haddock were both on the breakfast menu along with the traditional fry - up or fruit platter. The staff were friendly and polite - my husband saw a dish on a specimen menu on the internet and asked about it. It was not available that night but they prepared it for him the following night - exceptional service!. The hotel is a little dated but the room we were in was clean and warm with a juczzi bath in the en suite. The bed was comfortable but the room was a little too warm for us.
Would definitely stay there again. I

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our team often go above & beyond to create a great customer experience when ever possible & its really lovely to hear its appreciated. We hope you will find the time to visit us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on a KGB deal for two nights.
Proved to be a brilliant deal as the rooms are really nice and comfortable, the two meals we had included in the price were al la carte and not far short of Michelin star quality !
Breakfast was amazing as after sitting down we never had to get up as everything was served to us ! Fruit juice, coffee, a fruit platter ( superbly presented ), and a beautifully cooked breakfast of you choice. I have not had as good service as this in a 5 star hotel ...how do they do it ?
Overall this is a brilliant place to stay and eat ... if you can get a deal you should not miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennisogara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Its not very often a little hotel in Burton gets compared to a Michelin starred establishment! You really have boosted our staff morale with your kind words, so we really do thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the trip. Great value deal included dinner on the first night at a hotel near the centre of burton.
The corridors look like they need updating. The room was comfortable but the bed a bit soft for us.
Breakfast is cooked fresh and is highly recommended. Much busier in the hotel on the Saturday night with people attending a wedding at the national brewery centre- which is well worth a visit as is the National Arboretum 6 miles away.
Directly across the road from the hotel is an old fashioned brew pub. Again worth a visit.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it really is appreciated by the whole team.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights recently. The hotel decor is dated decor but the place is clean.

The staff and the food, were brilliant. Tom and Tara in the restaurant, Megan in the bar and the ladies at breakfast, could not do enough for you. The food was excellent, fresh, tasty, great portions (thank you) and good value. Compliments to the chef as well.

I believe there is a lot of history from reading a previous review, it would be good for the hotel to show this.

Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurfyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia W, Manager at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it really is appreciated by us all.
We are currently working with some local historians in the hope that we can found out a little more about the hotel & we will certainly be featuring it a little more about it in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing