We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Warm and Comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family and I recently celebrated my husbands 30th birthday at The Grill Room @ Three Queens Hotel and my husband and I stayed overnight in a standard double room. The room was large, spotlessly clean, and the bathroom was also very clean and had a large mirror across 1 wall, a shaver plug and hair dryer. The towels were warm and soft and I enjoyed a hot shower at check in. ((but unfortunatly I couldnt get any hot water the following morning)) The bed was HUGE and so comfortable and the TV had a great variety of recent films for a one off nominal fee. There was use of a trouser press, iron and ironing board on request, ample wardrobe space and a dressing table with mirror. The staff were friendly and helpful and I enjoyed being showed to my room (up quite a few stairs) and to the resteraunt and breakfast room on arrival by a very pleasent lady. I had a newspaper left outside my room when I woke up the following morning, and orange juice delivered to my room at requested time. Breakfast was served in good time and it was delicious!!! Unlimited tea, coffee and juice and a good variety of dishes to choose from. I would stay here again. (even though i live about 10 mins up the road!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ells2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 466 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We came as a group of 4 friends on a Groupon deal and have to say we had a super time. We both had lovely en-suite double rooms, our own with a 4 poster bed. The staff were outstanding & exceptionally welcoming, Paul in particular in the restaurant was great fun and kept us entertained all evening! The food was excellent and (as Groupon customers) spectacularly good value for money. Little extras like coffee and newspapers delivered to your room in the morning were lovely touches and it would be true to say that you could have absolutely anything you wanted for breakfast - our own choice being full english and our friends continental. Plenty to do locally, our choice being The National Memorial Arboretum. Our friends have already re-booked for late December and I am sure we will return too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here last week to visit national arboretum.What an excellent choice.From welcome to departure(all too short!) the hotel ticked all boxes what a guest should expect.
Room was perfect,clean and well stocked with little extras (built in ironing board,chocs,morning paper)
Breakfasts were almost worth the room rate alone. Fantastic omelette on second morning served by friendly and efficient staff.
WE WILL RETURN!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaggyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Other than having trouble finding the hotel, which was our fault, we enjoyed our night at Three Queens.
We had a suite, which was huge. It is spread over 2 floors, with bedroom and bathroom upstairs and living area downstairs. Room was clean and had everything we needed. It was very quiet, so we had a good night's sleep.
Had a drink in the bar before dinner which was enjoyable.
Ate in the restaurant for dinner. They were busy the night we were there, took a while to order and took a while to get our food. However the wait was worth it. Really good food and pretty good value for money.
Breakfast was good, freshly cooked, and was served quickly, which suited us as we needed to head off early.
Would recommend the Three Queens as a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoveCobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

As a New Zealander I think the Three Queens Hotel is very English. Stayed here three times since 2010. Great English breakfast (kippers in butter!). This hotel has style; the Victoria Suite is fabulous.

Room Tip: The Victoria Suite is large and beautiful and very good value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just got back from a Groupon weekend away with my friend. Everything about it was excellent. The staff were so friendly and happy to help whatever time of the day & evening. We loved the fact we were left a chocolate on our pillow each morning as well as the free hot drinks and choice of newspaper delivered to the door in the morning. In the deal, we received breakfast and a three course meal each evening which I have to say was fantastic both days. There was a great choice of food. The drinks we had in the evening to accompany our meals were well priced.
All in all, we had a really good weekend away and would definately go back again and recommend to friends and family:)
Sam Harris

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was recommended this hotel as one of three options - I chose this one as it was closest to the venue I was holding an event at (The National Brewery Centre). It turned out to be a lovely choice. On first impressions and from the website, it looks as if the hotel perhaps needs a bit of TLC in terms of a refurb, but on the other hand, its appearance fdoes add to the character.

The lady on reception was very friendly as we entered and showed us to our rooms. I was in the Mary Suite; I had only booked a standard room, so that was a nice surprise. The room was again very lovely with a four poster bed, quite 'oldy-worldy' but nice and clean.

We booked a table in the restaurant that evening; it was very quiet but the waiters were very nice and helpful and the food was surprisingly much better than I had expected. I went for the steak.
It was only quite a brief business trip visit, but I would definitely stay here again if I was ever in the area, for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oledebi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
83 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: $58 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing